cabin (aircondition) air filter clean and or replacement

Tools required:
• phillips head screwdriver
• Paint brush with long bristles
• Mild liquid soap
• Water, hose with adjustable nozzle
• Air freshener spray

Let’s get started:
• First you need to get to the air filter it is under the dashboard on the passenger side of the car just behind the glove compartment

• Step1. You will have to remove the glove compartment to access the air filter. To do so first empty your glove compartment, next there are two hinges that are seated at the lower back of the inside of the glove compartment these pull out towards the inside of the glove compartment as you see in the illustration

• Step2.Now drop the glove compartment at an angle to remove it and to reveal the filter cover as seen here

• Step3.Next remover the filter cover (as highlighted above) to gain access to the filter. First remove the two screws located at the bottom of the cover as seen below

• Step4.Now at the middle top of the air filter cover there is an arrow pointing up place your hand on the middle of the cover as seen here and apply a little pressure while sliding the cover upwards

• Step5.When the cover is slid up release some pressure, it should pop forward a little for you to remove it to access the filter. The filter is the white rectangle with the Nissan print.

• Step6.Now push back slightly on the filter, lift it a little and pull it forward

• Step7.To clean the filter use a brush to remove the surface dirt don’t apply two much pressure as the fibers may burst, make sure to remove as much dust as you can with the brush especially between the spaces. A paint brush with long bristles may be best suited for this job.

• Step8.You can also wash out the filter with water, a hose with an adjustable nozzle and mild liquid soap or dishwashing liquid does a good job to loosen and remove the remaining dirt particles, don’t use too much water pressure, or it will burst the fiber material. Don’t bother with the cleaning process if you already have a new filter. Spraying a hint of air refreshener on the filter before replacing enhances the fragrance of your cabin.

• Step9.Finally to replace the filter retrace steps 6 trough 1.

pm me your email if you want it in PDF format, hope it was of some help[/img]

Postby Dave » October 19th, 2007, 8:31 am

good right up
if u wash reverse wash it, meaning let the water flow in the opposite direction of how it sucks the air
i used a lil liquid laundry detergent and cabin still has a washed clothes smell

i did this on a lancer and the element was very thin to start with so be very careful when washing it, not too much pressure

Dapper

Postby Dapper » October 19th, 2007, 9:11 am

Oh yea forgot to mention the reverse wash, good tip.

Soca Warrior

Postby Soca Warrior » October 23rd, 2007, 3:00 am

do you guys think it is the same steps for the foreign used almeras.......i gonna try it weekend when i have some time....

Postby Dave » October 23rd, 2007, 7:50 am

same procedure for the b15/n16

Samo

Postby Samo » October 23rd, 2007, 9:46 am

kool information..:)

yuh sellin that deck or wah :?:

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2007, 12:13 pm

same for a b14 also?

Empress

Postby Empress » October 23rd, 2007, 6:32 pm

^^ dont think the b14 carries a filter there??

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » October 23rd, 2007, 6:38 pm

wow great info there ,i gonna do that when i get home.

Dapper

Postby Dapper » October 24th, 2007, 3:48 am

Thanks for the encouragement guys. Correct me if I am wrong I think most vehicles a/c filters are located in generally the same area i.e. close to the glove compartment but the setup may be different and it may be a bit more challenging to reach the filter in different models and makes of vehicles.

C is for Cyc

Postby C is for Cyc » November 15th, 2007, 11:09 am

does this apply to d y11? also

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » November 15th, 2007, 7:25 pm

this is a really informative read people.well done

dunmor

Postby dunmor » November 15th, 2007, 8:06 pm

anyone know to clean the B14 filter?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 19th, 2008, 5:55 pm

now seeing this post. great post!

Postby UML » March 19th, 2008, 6:53 pm

REPOST :roll:

Soca Warrior wrote:do you guys think it is the same steps for the foreign used almeras.......i gonna try it weekend when i have some time....

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=171784

btw good step by step instructions :wink:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 19th, 2008, 7:47 pm

UML thread -> Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:03 pm

Dapper thread -> Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:13 am

now who reposted??

hmmm...

anyways both threads were informational, good work guys

Postby UML » March 19th, 2008, 8:41 pm

oh damn yeah

:pwned:

:oops:

+G0thiC_CitY+

Postby +G0thiC_CitY+ » April 3rd, 2008, 11:48 pm

C is for Cyc wrote:does this apply to d y11? also

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » August 22nd, 2008, 10:59 am

Gonna try this.....Good job Dapper keep it coming :mrgreen:

Dapper

Postby Dapper » August 26th, 2008, 3:54 pm

Thanx Kes will do.

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » August 27th, 2008, 8:31 am

fellas be careful when cleaning your filter cause i called the motorist to find out how much for a new one and the quoted $425...... That is reeaaaal money for a paper filter :shock:

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » September 29th, 2008, 12:26 am

anyone can tell me where the filter is on the P11 (air cabin Filter that is)?

ronny

Postby ronny » October 21st, 2008, 10:27 pm

Great post Dapper

D@rkChild

Postby D@rkChild » February 11th, 2009, 10:23 pm

bump back to the top for the y 11 crew

turbonator

Postby turbonator » February 14th, 2009, 5:01 pm

Dave wrote:same procedure for the b15/n16

But Dave the b15 one is ah different size from the n16/y11 one. And nobody have it :cry:

onlystunna

Re: DIY Wingroad WY11 ac filter clean/replace

Postby onlystunna » April 10th, 2011, 7:31 pm

anyone know where i can get a nissan almera air condition filter to buy? did some work on my air condition abt 2 months ago and i only realized today i no longer have a filter... have no idea where it gone, dotish air condition man must be forget to put it back.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 11th, 2011, 2:33 pm

Just check around... almost any parts place supposed to have it these days.

onlystunna

Postby onlystunna » April 12th, 2011, 6:18 pm

got one wit baking soda for $110! thanks

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 2nd, 2017, 4:26 am

my ac not blowing a powerful and not a cold but the strange thing is the line in the engine biting cold and when i driving come to a stop and switch off i hear water run off like someone open a tap and one set of water runs off. i change the ac filter, had the gas check. the man who check it say the evaporator want cleaning but idk...big light wingroad.