ABS pump

Duplicolor

ABS pump

Postby Duplicolor » November 10th, 2008, 11:21 am

hey tuners
recently i've been hearing a grinding sound coming from the ABS pump also the light seems to never want to come off, can anyone tell me what may be the prob and can locate me to someone really good an reasonable to do a scan or what not

thanks

location in south or central

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 10th, 2008, 12:18 pm

brake pads are worn through
leak in the brake system
Worn or uneven brake linings or a damaged brake line

:? :?

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » November 10th, 2008, 1:20 pm

ok kool

as soon as the car is turned on or parked up idling you hear it

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 10th, 2008, 1:45 pm

Hmmm...
Masterserv... Cipero St.

Or it have a place in Marabella.. I believe it's Sookdeo .. something..

nick009

Postby nick009 » November 10th, 2008, 7:55 pm

how would worn brake pads cause the abs pump to mind a grinding noise?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 10th, 2008, 8:29 pm

friction

nick009

Postby nick009 » November 11th, 2008, 9:07 pm

??????????? care to elaborate on that

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » November 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm

some ppl need to only read in the tech forum and not post.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 11th, 2008, 10:51 pm

:lol: ^^X2

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 12th, 2008, 10:35 am

nick009 wrote:??????????? care to elaborate on that

Friction is when two objects rub or slide over one another. Friction slows motion down. It keeps objects from moving. Smooth surfaces make less friction. A rough surface makes more friction. Friction can cause problems. Too much friction can make heavy objects hard to move. Too much friction can also wear things down. Too little friction can also cause problems like on wet, slippery roads.

When you apply the brakes, the friction material in the pads will act as a damper and the nose will stop. This noise can also only be heard when you make a right or left-handed turn. So then when these pads are worn friction from metal-to-metal would cause a grinding sound...

You know.. if you know better maybe you should put it in the post rather that telling everyone that your panties are too tight... I am not always right and I am not afraid to say it..
This is Tech Stuff not Ole talk..so take your bs to there..

eitech

Postby eitech » November 12th, 2008, 10:53 am

Too Low pads wud make a grinding noise, but how does it make d abs pump make a grinding noise..can u correlate d two...unless u tryin to say dat low pads make d fluid level drop and thus les fluid to flow through pump..hence less lubrication on moving parts with pump..and volia..grinding noise... :!:..Duplicolor, u sure d noise is from ur abs pump? I thought dat pump only activates during ABS operation...

eitech

Postby eitech » November 12th, 2008, 11:07 am

Oleander wrote:
nick009 wrote:??????????? care to elaborate on that

You know.. if you know better maybe you should put it in the post rather that telling everyone that your panties are too tight... I am not always right and I am not afraid to say it..
This is Tech Stuff not Ole talk..so take your bs to there..

I've tried this "heroic" line b4..dis is trinituner..u gonna get ole tork in every forum...nice thought though

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » November 12th, 2008, 11:37 am

nick009

Postby nick009 » November 12th, 2008, 3:36 pm

eitech wrote:Too Low pads wud make a grinding noise, but how does it make d abs pump make a grinding noise..can u correlate d two...unless u tryin to say dat low pads make d fluid level drop and thus les fluid to flow through pump..hence less lubrication on moving parts with pump..and volia..grinding noise... :!:..Duplicolor, u sure d noise is from ur abs pump? I thought dat pump only activates during ABS operation...

well that what i was wondering so i was just trying to understand what he saying there by friction..no need to flex up lol because to me normal brake operation is friction so i dont understand how that affecting the abs pump

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » November 12th, 2008, 5:23 pm

^^ent

turbonator

Postby turbonator » November 15th, 2008, 4:22 pm

Under normal operation (when the ABS turns on when a wheel slips under braking) the pump does come on and make a noise. In my car (a b14) the sound the pump makes when it turns on is a sort of 'grinding' noise but this is normal. The only other time that the pump comes on is when the car reaches 6km/h for the first time after its switched on (ABS self-test feature), and even here the pump only comes on for a second or so. Ah doh think that worn pads will trigger the ABS pump :|.