B14 Transmission issues

turbonator

B14 Transmission issues

Postby turbonator » April 2nd, 2009, 1:28 pm

Hey tuners I need some advice on a problem I'm having with the transmission in my car (a b14). When the tranny is changing from first to second it jerks violently. This only happens from 1st to 2nd gear, all the other gears go in fine. The strange thing is that in the morning it changes smooth, but this only lasts for around 20-30mins from the first time that I drive it for the day. After that its back to normal :? The transmission fluid was changed recently so i doubt that's the problem.

So far it seems that the gear changes smooth when the transmission fluid is cold so I was thinking about installing a separate oil cooler for the transmission fluid :|

Any help would be appreciated :)

newto4x4

Postby newto4x4 » April 2nd, 2009, 3:25 pm

U checked the mount? has a similair prob and it was a mount.

R. Hertz33

Postby R. Hertz33 » April 2nd, 2009, 3:35 pm

i drive a b14 myself and had a similar problem. my problem was that it jerked VIOLENTLY from 1st into 2nd but it was all the time, not some-time-ish like yours.
The fix: a spring is broken insider your transmission which costs a measly 75$
however to change this they need to take down your tranny. i went by chaguanas auto supplies, where they did a really good job. was done about one year ago and no issues ever since. the cost of the fix was around 800 though.

Postby Rainman » April 2nd, 2009, 10:35 pm

i had this problem in a '89 mazda 323, problem was with the mount.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 2nd, 2009, 10:56 pm

newto4x4 wrote:U checked the mount? has a similair prob and it was a mount.

The mount is still good, also it was filled with polyurethane.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 2nd, 2009, 11:01 pm

R. Hertz33 wrote:i drive a b14 myself and had a similar problem. my problem was that it jerked VIOLENTLY from 1st into 2nd but it was all the time, not some-time-ish like yours.
The fix: a spring is broken insider your transmission which costs a measly 75$
however to change this they need to take down your tranny. i went by chaguanas auto supplies, where they did a really good job. was done about one year ago and no issues ever since. the cost of the fix was around 800 though.

Thanks for the info bro :) . I talked to someone else today and they told me the exact same thing. BTW did you get the spring by Chaguanas Auto Supplies also.

R. Hertz33

Postby R. Hertz33 » April 4th, 2009, 10:43 am

yup

Postby bushwakka » April 5th, 2009, 9:17 pm

^wayy...i learn sumn there...my parents b14 duz that as well and thought it was the engine mount alone.....after replacing the engine mount, it jerked less but didnt disappear altogether.....

wait na, 17 tech posts and a chronic? wtf goin on here

Postby buzz » April 6th, 2009, 3:22 am

but this only lasts for around 20-30mins from the first time that I drive it for the day.

if thats the case i doubt its a mount

i suspect early signs of transmission failure

seen a b14 with the same symptoms and eventually the transmission gave in

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 6th, 2009, 4:19 pm

buzz wrote:
but this only lasts for around 20-30mins from the first time that I drive it for the day.

if thats the case i doubt its a mount

i suspect early signs of transmission failure

seen a b14 with the same symptoms and eventually the transmission gave in

This did cross my mind.... Thanks for the info.

All i have to do now is decide if to just change the spring alone or the entire transmission :? It will be kinda dumb if i spend the $$ to change the spring and the transmission only lasts 1-2 mts after :|

R. Hertz33

Postby R. Hertz33 » April 8th, 2009, 4:57 pm

well the spring is cheap, and it should cost less than what i paid if you go by your own mechanic. but as for how long it lasts, well as i said mine was done about a year ago and no probs. i also know the cause that resulted in the breakage of my spring ( going in dex, mashing the brakes while keeping the gas full throttle all while in 1(automatic)) note that since i have fixed it, i have not repeated this senseless behaviour due to the extreme cost. IMO, the reason for spring failure would MORE THAN LIKELY be due to driving behaviour, therefore whether u changeout the tranmission or fix the spring, if u drive like that it gonna break.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » April 12th, 2009, 12:04 am

that spring gives away all the time in B13 and B14 .....reason vary due to driving style .....even i have in my B13 tranny and is there 2 years now......it is not going and damage the tranny ......most that will happen the left mount will have a shorter life span if yh does drive on the kickdown !!!!

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 12th, 2009, 8:57 pm

Well I changed the spring on friday, and damn :shock: it made a huge difference. Its working really good now. Anil Sooknanan on the forum did the job, thanks dude.

sean27

Postby sean27 » April 13th, 2009, 2:11 pm

dude where is he located. how much did it cost?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 13th, 2009, 3:03 pm

I'm from freeport

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 13th, 2009, 7:12 pm

:drinking: :drinking:
Last edited by Anil_Sooknanan on October 23rd, 2011, 7:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

konartis

Re: B14 Transmission issues

Postby konartis » October 16th, 2011, 7:19 pm

BuMp!!! for a 3yr old tread!! having this issue...whats the name of the spring if anyone can help!!

konartis

Postby konartis » October 17th, 2011, 6:09 pm

konartis wrote:BuMp!!! for a 3yr old tread!! having this issue...whats the name of the spring if anyone can help!!

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 20th, 2011, 9:31 pm

yea soldier is a spring in the valve body....cost around 3-4 hundred to fix depending on who u go by

konartis

Postby konartis » October 22nd, 2011, 6:36 pm

ok..thanks!

Postby BrotherHood » October 23rd, 2011, 1:46 am

Go by Jenton's Transmission Specialist in El Socorro. Lost there number with my old phone but check the directory.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 23rd, 2011, 6:45 pm

boi i from south, any ideas of someone down here?

Postby BrotherHood » October 24th, 2011, 11:14 pm

na bai, dunno anybody from south. sorry bruh.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » October 28th, 2011, 12:14 am

konartis wrote:BuMp!!! for a 3yr old tread!! having this issue...whats the name of the spring if anyone can help!!

As far as I remember its the return spring for the 1-2 accumulator piston. Just check Chaguanas Auto Supplies and tell them yuh looking for the spring that does break in the valve body in the b14 and they will know what yuh talking about. Don't forget when doing this you'll need the gasket set for the valve body also and the gasket for the transmission oil pan. Chaguanas Auto Supplies has all the gaskets. Word of warning, remember that the transmission casing is made of aluminum and the bolts are steel. The threads in the transmission are ridiculously easy to strip, make sure that no bolts are run up cross threaded and do not over tighten.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 29th, 2011, 7:43 pm

hey thanks for this info bro, wudnt believe that no one in south (parts place)knows what spring i'm talking about, lmao, will definitely check it out this week!

rdellmohd

Postby rdellmohd » December 2nd, 2013, 9:40 pm

i am havin this problem right now

360v

Postby 360v » May 22nd, 2014, 10:20 pm

I have that same problem..... I had the spring checked and it was fine. Anyone can help on this situation.

Postby BrotherHood » May 23rd, 2014, 12:31 am

^^ check the next suspect, the back mount.

ShortBoss100

Postby ShortBoss100 » February 18th, 2016, 5:54 am

I am having the same problem right now and its just tells u the transmission is going need to change the transmission better spen yuh money an fix the complet problem than to have to go back and spend more more money in 2 mths