smelly exhaust as cat removed

banzai

smelly exhaust as cat removed

Postby banzai » June 1st, 2004, 1:58 pm

Fellas , since I removed my cat converter and upgraded the exhaust. The exhaust is more fumes, when I rev up i get a puff of smoke but tuned up last week and changed plugs oil trans fluid etc and plugs were textbook example of perfect burn.
Could the engine be running rich inspite of what the plugs say or could it be oil rings etc?????
Oh is ah Ltouring wagon

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 1st, 2004, 2:10 pm

sounds a bit on the rich side if you're not getting too much gunk on the plugs. if it was burning oil you would know for sure

banzai

Postby banzai » June 1st, 2004, 2:32 pm

so how do you adjust mixture on efi engines?...dem plugs was perfectly clean and tan colour doh

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 1st, 2004, 2:38 pm

you'd have to go into the computer to change the fuel/air ratio and that's only available on performance ECUs, so forget that idea, if the engine isn't throwing a code then you don't need to do it. Did you clean the injectors and check the air filter ?? and what type of fuel do you put in it ?

banzai

Postby banzai » June 1st, 2004, 2:49 pm

Ah blow out de air filter cause I waiting tuh buy de K&N later dis month after de diapers an milk nah, it was looking cleanish. Super unleaded in the tank with a bottle of Gunk treatment, didnt get the injectors service though , ah hear dat is much $$ and plenty people doh do it right? But I will see what happen after the K&N goes in

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 1st, 2004, 3:50 pm

try the injector cleaning and the filter change and that should solve the problem

Postby crazybalhead » June 1st, 2004, 3:51 pm

Doh study it, it is probably just water that has condensed in the pipe the night before.

If it is bluish then you might be burning a little oil. What kind of engine, mileage and oil do you use? How much top up between changes?

Any water disappearing from radiator?

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 1st, 2004, 3:53 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Doh study it, it is probably just water that has condensed in the pipe the night before.

If it is bluish then you might be burning a little oil. What kind of engine, mileage and oil do you use? How much top up between changes?

Any water disappearing from radiator?

even burning "a little oil" is a sign of trouble, besides de man say it smelling funkiascious

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » June 1st, 2004, 8:42 pm

banzai wrote:so how do you adjust mixture on efi engines?...dem plugs was perfectly clean and tan colour doh

Thats the correct color for normal operation

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 1st, 2004, 11:03 pm

as long as yuh cat out, expect funky smells.........actually should have a sweetish odour, buh doh go sniffing it too much.....it has now become quite toxic as the cat is gone!

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » June 1st, 2004, 11:16 pm

Use Premium Unleaded=higher octane

Check oxygen sensor

banzai

Postby banzai » June 2nd, 2004, 11:51 am

fus ting do lash mih rite...nothing was done to the car since last Feb, from then till now when I finally checked the oil it was down about 1 qt.
I was wondering about the possible rich burn evcen though plugs looking good.
I'll switch back to premium next fill up and with the new filter I'll see.....dis car have a oxygen sensor? is it dat plug on the Exhaust manifold?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » June 2nd, 2004, 12:49 pm

When u remove a cat, the underbody of the car is now "exposed" to more heat "rising" from the exhaust pipe where the cat used to be...don't worry, the smell will go away after awhile as the underbody is exposed to the heat.

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » June 2nd, 2004, 1:03 pm

Breds....check to see that yuh doh have too much oil in yuh engine....that will cause the smoke.

banzai

Postby banzai » June 2nd, 2004, 1:34 pm

When u remove a cat, the underbody of the car is now "exposed" to more heat "rising" from the exhaust pipe where the cat used to be...don't worry, the smell will go away after awhile as the underbody is exposed to the heat.

De fumes ah talking bout is smoky smelling exhaust fumes, just a very faint visible puff when revving up....oil level ok, plugs show good mixture...does anyone suggest a compression test or vacum test to check for oil leaks?

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 2nd, 2004, 2:56 pm

Vac test can't hurt

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 2nd, 2004, 7:01 pm

maybe you need to reset the ecu?????

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » June 2nd, 2004, 9:31 pm

yea i think you should Reset the ecu also.

banzai

Postby banzai » June 3rd, 2004, 9:54 am

yea i think you should Reset the ecu also.

Now I am lost , how is that done?. I was told that the ecu for this car is under the passenger seat carpet, Is that so? Also I only see a toyota diagnostic port in the engine compartment. Do these have OBD ports inside where you use a scanner tool?

Postby Dave » June 3rd, 2004, 9:56 am

all u need to do is remove -'ve battery cable and leave disconnected for a bit.
the port in the bonnet is for the scan tool to plug into and retrieve any codes that has been logged.

banzai

Postby banzai » June 3rd, 2004, 10:14 am

But that port is for a special toyota tool, the commercial scan tools for OBDII like auto xray etc don't work there...?? I know from a toyota site I can use a voltmeter on that port for some diagnostics though.
I think the ECU has been reset though as I had a dead battery which was removed for an afternoon.