Nissan's SR20 VVL Neo vs Toyota's 20v

V2NR 3.0

Nissan's SR20 VVL Neo vs Toyota's 20v

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 16th, 2009, 10:36 am

Guys, coming out of this very good thread: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

Lets have a little discussion on the captured topic.

Nissan B-14 with SR20vvl Neo vs Toyota Corolla 101 with a 20v.

Both engines are stock for stock.

Technical contributions please

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » June 16th, 2009, 10:51 am

B14 shud win in my opinion ....that is obvious to any experienced racer or racing spectator.... the 2 cars would be around same weight , the 20v would put less power and torque to the ground and the sr would have a better midrange / lower band ,(and top end ) power band compared to the 20v. Booge i thought u is d tech guru since u always posting here , ent u supposed to know this...i hope this is NOT a chain up thread :roll:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 16th, 2009, 2:11 pm

B14 shud win in my opinion ....that is obvious to any experienced racer or racing spectator.... the 2 cars would be around same weight , the 20v would put less power and torque to the ground and the sr would have a better midrange / lower band ,(and top end ) power band compared to the 20v. Booge i thought u is d tech guru since u always posting here , ent u supposed to know this...i hope this is NOT a chain up thread

^^ Welcome to a good discussion. However there are significant differences between the two engines that can lead to a toss up on the 1/4 mile.

This is the engine i was referring too : 4A-GE (20-valve) which has the following specs: This engine produces 160 PS (158 hp/118 kW) at 7400 rpm with 162 N·m (119 ft·lbf) at 5200 rpm of torque.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » June 16th, 2009, 5:03 pm

The corolla 101 would surprise you with the 20v,....IMHO the 20v will give the sr a run for its $$$$.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 16th, 2009, 5:04 pm

booge wrote:
B14 shud win in my opinion ....that is obvious to any experienced racer or racing spectator.... the 2 cars would be around same weight , the 20v would put less power and torque to the ground and the sr would have a better midrange / lower band ,(and top end ) power band compared to the 20v. Booge i thought u is d tech guru since u always posting here , ent u supposed to know this...i hope this is NOT a chain up thread

^^ Welcome to a good discussion. However there are significant differences between the two engines that can lead to a toss up on the 1/4 mile.

This is the engine i was referring too : 4A-GE (20-valve) which has the following specs: This engine produces 160 PS (158 hp/118 kW) at 7400 rpm with 162 N·m (119 ft·lbf) at 5200 rpm of torque.

SR20VE 187 hp (139 kW) and 145 lb·ft (197 N·m) torque.

I guess the numbers speak for themselves. And as hayden28 said both cars are about equal in weight.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 16th, 2009, 5:05 pm

Only one way to know for sure :lol:

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » June 16th, 2009, 5:07 pm

^^^ :lol: true,...so this comparison havent been done on the track???

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 16th, 2009, 5:23 pm

A.M. Distributors wrote:^^^ :lol: true,...so this comparison havent been done on the track???

Interesting. Have this ever been done ?

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » June 16th, 2009, 5:31 pm

most likely I'm sure it has,...I never saw it done though. Check the guys who be @ cross etc.

Postby cinco » June 16th, 2009, 5:51 pm

what is the weight diff between the vehicles and the engines though

QG

Postby QG » June 16th, 2009, 8:33 pm

booge wrote:
A.M. Distributors wrote:^^^ :lol: true,...so this comparison havent been done on the track???

Interesting. Have this ever been done ?

PM Foss, he had the corolla wagon with the 4A-GE 20VALVE engine and he raced a lucino with a SR16VVL on the cross.

The lucino won.

But the SR20VVL has more torque and power together with a moderate weight B14.....that should take win.

The mechanism behind the VVL built into the SR20 is a perfection.

I am willing to bet on a SR20VVL in a Primera as well, that would whoop any 4AGE vehicle equipped.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 17th, 2009, 11:54 am

So I have kinda tested this out booge lol..

A corolla with a 20V and my b14 with a sr20de have done this time and time again.. Level licks for the sr20de. More than a car length everytime.

But I am sure that a VVL is a different story so you are safe :twisted: :D

Postby A172 » June 18th, 2009, 11:59 am

lol@ mumford

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » June 18th, 2009, 1:57 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: they doh like to hear the cold hard facts A172. i fed up get mumford :lol: :lol: although if i were talking fiction u know it wud ah remain....

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » June 18th, 2009, 6:30 pm

VE FTMFW

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » June 19th, 2009, 4:25 pm

i really dont see the point in comparing a 1.6l 20 valve and a 2.0l sr20 vvl. efficiency is about hp per litre.
A more sutiable comparison would be the sr16-ve and the 20valve both having 1.6l displacement.
also what version of 20valve balcktop or silvertop?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 19th, 2009, 10:32 pm

^^^ Agreed. The black top

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » June 20th, 2009, 10:21 am

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:i really dont see the point in comparing a 1.6l 20 valve and a 2.0l sr20 vvl. efficiency is about hp per litre.
A more sutiable comparison would be the sr16-ve and the 20valve both having 1.6l displacement.

x2 :-D

vans

Postby vans » June 21st, 2009, 9:28 pm

i supppose to race a patner with a 20valve in he corolla under gearbox against a vrg with vvl neo under automatic

Anton

Postby Anton » June 22nd, 2009, 8:09 am

The 20v would collect some licks on the 1/4 from the sr20vvl, but will hold its own on longer stretches.
Fact, not Fiction.

Postby A172 » June 22nd, 2009, 9:05 am

so the 20v needs a lot more time and distance to make any noticeable power then?

kool :fadein:

moti

Postby moti » June 22nd, 2009, 9:34 am

which brings me to my question:

what kinda Hp we looking at here
the engine is stock though :oops:

vans

Postby vans » June 22nd, 2009, 9:41 am

in my situation i will get my arse buss??

Postby eliteauto » June 22nd, 2009, 10:19 am

The 20V is not a "drag"/ 1/4 mile engine, it's a high-revver more suited to circuit racing, to make it and effective 1/4 miler would require a lot of cash

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 22nd, 2009, 11:54 am

corollalover101 wrote:The 20V is not a "drag"/ 1/4 mile engine, it's a high-revver more suited to circuit racing, to make it and effective 1/4 miler would require a lot of cash

So are you saying that from Grand Bazaar to Golconda, the Toyota 20v would be in the lead?

vans

Postby vans » June 22nd, 2009, 12:04 pm

booge if you have a b14 vvl neo . my freind will be willing to race and we could settle once and for all

vvl vs 20v

QG

Postby QG » June 22nd, 2009, 1:05 pm

Anton wrote:The 20v would collect some licks on the 1/4 from the sr20vvl, but will hold its own on longer stretches.
Fact, not Fiction.

LOL :) ...so does the VVL my friend

Postby Hook » June 22nd, 2009, 1:18 pm

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:i really dont see the point in comparing a 1.6l 20 valve and a 2.0l sr20 vvl. efficiency is about hp per litre.

why did this thread even continue after this statement?

moti

Postby moti » June 22nd, 2009, 1:20 pm

moti wrote:which brings me to my question:

what kinda Hp we looking at here
the engine is stock though :oops:

somebody tell meh nah cause i not getting a stright answer from google or wiki :?

Postby eliteauto » June 22nd, 2009, 4:35 pm

booge wrote:
corollalover101 wrote:The 20V is not a "drag"/ 1/4 mile engine, it's a high-revver more suited to circuit racing, to make it and effective 1/4 miler would require a lot of cash

So are you saying that from Grand Bazaar to Golconda, the Toyota 20v would be in the lead?

my response was not in light of the SR20VVL since there are displacement issues, I was just stating my opinion of the engine given it's characteristics, as for who would be in the lead, there are many other factors to consider