Nissan's SR20 VVL Neo vs Toyota's 20v

skylineGTR55036018

Postby skylineGTR55036018 » June 22nd, 2009, 5:51 pm

vvl engine has way more HP and Torque that the 20v...

i'd go with the b14...

dats a nice pull though...

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » June 22nd, 2009, 11:04 pm

Horsepower dis torque dat... it's amazing that nobody taking into account gearing. bearing in mind the 20valve blacktop comes with a 6 speed close ratio gearbox. and the earlier version (non20v) vvls NEVER came manual only with Hyper cvt M6.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » June 23rd, 2009, 10:52 am

moti wrote:
moti wrote:which brings me to my question:

what kinda Hp we looking at here
the engine is stock though :oops:

somebody tell meh nah cause i not getting a stright answer from google or wiki :?

Chief like nobody aint taking u on... that pic looks like a 1st gen (1983-1987) rwd wide angle 4A-GE 16 valve it makes 112 hp (84 kW) at 6600 rpm and 131 N·m (97 lb·ft) of torque at 4800 rpm in the American version. Japanese version 130 hp (97 kW) dont know tq figures.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » June 23rd, 2009, 11:06 am

^^^Are those figures quoted in WHP or BHP?
Always luved that engine....

QG

Postby QG » June 24th, 2009, 10:37 am

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Horsepower dis torque dat... it's amazing that nobody taking into account gearing. bearing in mind the 20valve blacktop comes with a 6 speed close ratio gearbox. and the earlier version (non20v) vvls NEVER came manual only with Hyper cvt M6.

You made a strong point there...but Booge is talking about a manual vvl in a b14.
vvl will take win

legoRB

Postby legoRB » June 26th, 2009, 9:08 pm

The 20V is not a "drag"/ 1/4 mile engine, it's a high-revver more suited to circuit racing, to make it and effective 1/4 miler would require a lot of cash

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IFh-RYKalso

The video above shows a toyota starlet kp62 20V vs nissan sentra sr20ve....

legoRB

Postby legoRB » June 26th, 2009, 9:13 pm

^^^^^ this example of wat a 20v can do withsum $$$$ in it...........
stock on the other hand versus a sr20ve is anodah b-game.... :?:
thas one is a toss up.... :

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » June 27th, 2009, 7:57 pm

QG wrote:
Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Horsepower dis torque dat... it's amazing that nobody taking into account gearing. bearing in mind the 20valve blacktop comes with a 6 speed close ratio gearbox. and the earlier version (non20v) vvls NEVER came manual only with Hyper cvt M6.

You made a strong point there...but Booge is talking about a manual vvl in a b14.
vvl will take win

I found some data on the ratios of the respective manual trnsmissions.
P11 RS5F32A Ratios (gearbox that comes with SR20-DE)
1st 3.0625
2nd 1.8261
3rd 1.2857
4th 0.9750
5th 0.7556
final drive 4.3750

toyota c160 ratios (6speed that comes with blacktop20v)
1st 3.166
2nd 2.050
3rd 1.481
4th 1.166
5th 0.916
6th 0.725
final drive 4.529

Also a point to note is that the blacktop 20valve has a redline of 7800rpm and the sr20ve a 7200rpm redline.

QG

Postby QG » June 28th, 2009, 5:48 pm

sr20ve 7200 rpm according to specs.

I have personally seen VVLs making 8000rpm, 8500rpm and 9000rpm (this was automatic, using the 1, and 2 lever) and all on stock form. :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 28th, 2009, 6:28 pm

I have personally seen VVLs making 8000rpm, 8500rpm and 9000rpm (this was automatic, using the 1, and 2 lever) and all on stock form

Stock redline is 7200 rpm yuh say?

So therefore you're either saying that some owners aren't too bright (by overreving without blueprinting), or, the engine can hold its own against abuse?

MJ

Postby MJ » June 28th, 2009, 8:29 pm

if it's stock revving past the 7200rpm redline would make no sense since no more power will be made

QG

Postby QG » June 29th, 2009, 12:39 am

MJ wrote:if it's stock revving past the 7200rpm redline would make no sense since no more power will be made

You have a point.
But the ENGINE WAS ABLE TO REACH 160km/h in third gear (after rocking it from 2 to D-drive). Engine was real bawling, I thought he was gonna blow something on the highway.

Knight1, is not what I say, that's according to Nissan specs with 7200rpm being redline.
But knowing trini's, we always pushing things to the limit 8-)

Anton

Postby Anton » June 29th, 2009, 9:14 am

QG wrote:
Anton wrote:The 20v would collect some licks on the 1/4 from the sr20vvl, but will hold its own on longer stretches.
Fact, not Fiction.

LOL :) ...so does the VVL my friend

WRT to gearing. When i had the 20v ST in my AE92 i had it mated to a 3A gearbox. The ratios made for really fun driving. In 3rd gear the speedo would hit the end of the 180 kph journey with 4th and 5th still accelerating. The matchup with the neo in a Y10 is not fictional. I got cut arse in the 1/4 (the best it ever did was a 16.1) but the highway runs were always very competitive.

BTW i do not condone street racing in any form. Spirited driving under reasonably controlled circumstances is a different kettle of fish.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 29th, 2009, 12:17 pm

On the power band, i shift just before 7200rpm to maximise power. My engine is pushed to its limits.

Gear 3 - Im crossing 160km

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » June 30th, 2009, 9:46 am

QG wrote:sr20ve 7200 rpm according to specs.

I have personally seen VVLs making 8000rpm, 8500rpm and 9000rpm (this was automatic, using the 1, and 2 lever) and all on stock form. :lol:

What ecu were the said cars runnin? cause on a stock VE ecu there is a fuel cut at 7200RPM

And booge u real lucky to even know what speed u goin man. I usually have to guesstimate by the amount of vehicles i passin. Glad to see u enjoyin the VVL. When the MSS comin?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 30th, 2009, 12:44 pm

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
QG wrote:sr20ve 7200 rpm according to specs.

What ecu were the said cars runnin? cause on a stock VE ecu there is a fuel cut at 7200RPM

And booge u real lucky to even know what speed u goin man. I usually have to guesstimate by the amount of vehicles i passin. Glad to see u enjoyin the VVL. When the MSS comin?

MSS is in the country. Just need to hook up.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 30th, 2009, 9:54 pm

^^So I'm curious......why go from an SR20DET (based on another thread you posted), to an N/A VVL?

I'm sure a properly modded DET might be more "confident" against an N/A 20V?(Or am I wrong?)

Postby A172 » June 30th, 2009, 10:29 pm

Knight1 wrote:^^So I'm curious......why go from an SR20DET (based on another thread you posted), to an N/A VVL?

:popcorn:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 30th, 2009, 10:40 pm

^^Ok....I guess I should retract my post then :shock:

A172 and a popcorn icon cyah be a good ting in dis kinda ched............ :shock: :shock:
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on June 30th, 2009, 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » June 30th, 2009, 10:44 pm

nah nah....leff it :lol: :lol: :lol:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 30th, 2009, 11:33 pm

Knight1 wrote:^^So I'm curious......why go from an SR20DET (based on another thread you posted), to an N/A VVL? I'm sure a properly modded DET might be more "confident" against an N/A 20V?(Or am I wrong?)

Well, there has been a change in priorities. House, land, education etc. The mtce related costs on a turbo engine are quite high and could be put to better use especially in these times. Later on, i would definitely be starting a new project, but thats after some goals are achieved.

The VVL option gives me the best of all worlds > performance, duarability, and dependability. :arrow:

Postby A172 » June 30th, 2009, 11:38 pm

righhhhhhhhht :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 1st, 2009, 6:24 am

The mtce related costs on a turbo engine are quite high

Really? I've never really found that to be more than a myth.

Oh well.....to each his own. 8)

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » July 1st, 2009, 9:25 am

booge. all you have to do is check Anil an he go handle yuh[/b]

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 1st, 2009, 9:38 am

^^^ Yes. Im checking him Saturday. This is the last thing which falls under the "wiring" up off the car.

A172 : Organise what you have for me - is it possible you can get Mobil 15 50?

Postby A172 » July 1st, 2009, 10:08 am

you now checking me for that? :lol:

nah I think 5w 50 is what I cud get my hands on up here.....lemme know.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » July 1st, 2009, 10:35 am

booge just a lil warnin when u get it wired up dont try messin with it too much (unless you can read japanese) cause it can be a pain navigating through the various menus and sub-menus trying to get it to work how you want it.
The MSS can monitor up to 3 paramaters (RPM, TPS, boost, Speed, Temp) and all you really want it to monitor is RPM alone and switch cams based on that

Postby Razkal » July 1st, 2009, 12:51 pm

Anton wrote:
QG wrote:
Anton wrote:The 20v would collect some licks on the 1/4 from the sr20vvl, but will hold its own on longer stretches.
Fact, not Fiction.

LOL :) ...so does the VVL my friend

WRT to gearing. When i had the 20v ST in my AE92 i had it mated to a 3A gearbox. The ratios made for really fun driving. In 3rd gear the speedo would hit the end of the 180 kph journey with 4th and 5th still accelerating. The matchup with the neo in a Y10 is not fictional. I got cut arse in the 1/4 (the best it ever did was a 16.1) but the highway runs were always very competitive.

BTW i do not condone street racing in any form. Spirited driving under reasonably controlled circumstances is a different kettle of fish.

Cosign, anton's ae92 was the most fun 20V powered car i've been in, the 3A box's gearing made for some seriously awesome driving :D

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 1st, 2009, 2:43 pm

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:booge just a lil warnin when u get it wired up dont try messin with it too much (unless you can read japanese) cause it can be a pain navigating through the various menus and sub-menus trying to get it to work how you want it.
The MSS can monitor up to 3 paramaters (RPM, TPS, boost, Speed, Temp) and all you really want it to monitor is RPM alone and switch cams based on that

Thanks for the info.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 1st, 2009, 2:44 pm

A172 wrote:you now checking me for that? :lol:

nah I think 5w 50 is what I cud get my hands on up here.....lemme know.

Well didnt think you have to check someone if they have something for you ? - For a couple bucks less or more - can you purchase the 15 50 mobil. Im switching back to Mobil