Advice wanted for choosing gauges.

ImranZack

Advice wanted for choosing gauges.

Postby ImranZack » June 20th, 2009, 11:29 am

Good day tuners,

I would like some advice on the brand of gauges to purchase.

The type of gauges (all 52mm electrical full sweep) to be installed is listed below
1) Oil pressure gauge
2)Air fuel ratio gauge with a wide band O2 sensor
3)either vacuum or coolant temp gauge.

I am considering going with prosport gauges but I don't know how accurate and durable these gauges are.
The other option is autometer but I don't like the look of it as much as the prosport look.

Can anyone experienced with gauges or using these gauges please help with giving some feedback.

Also suggestions to other brands are welcome

Thanks
Imran

eitech

Postby eitech » June 20th, 2009, 11:44 am

i using prosport (tach and volt) over a year now with no probs..and they look real cool too...autometer is a good brand as well.

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » June 20th, 2009, 6:23 pm

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 20th, 2009, 7:08 pm

prosport = waste of time & money in my book
Autometer and call it a day. :P

Postby Rooki3 » June 20th, 2009, 9:26 pm

Prosport guages are great & they are well priced, but if you lookin for durability, good looks & great reviews, then you should definitely invest in some DEFI's, the only thing is they are a bit expensive :wink:

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2009, 10:06 pm

Autometer for durability/accuracy. Prosport for basic gauge and bling.

Postby gt4tified » June 20th, 2009, 10:35 pm

What De Dragon et al said.

Postby Maserati » June 20th, 2009, 11:02 pm

many options all depends on your budget
options would be from:
HKS
Greddy
Stri
Apexi
Blitz
Defi
Autometer as stated above

now for a proper wideband go with one from like
AEM
or
Innovate

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 20th, 2009, 11:42 pm

^^^to add to that list of gauges "Stack".....its now owned by autometer, but they keep their manufacturing separate so its still good british engineering.

and i agree about the wideband AEM or Innovate.....AEM is more common i think......

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » June 21st, 2009, 3:51 am

they look like cheap nasty junk to me

who in their rigth mind would want to leave their engines vital statistics to cheap guages

Postby Rooki3 » June 21st, 2009, 9:07 am

sigma-turbo,

greetings from Trinidad, now hush yuh kant, the sigma you drivin
look like cheap nasty junk to me

this is a tech forum, and dont knock the man hustle, prosport has been a lifesaver for those who cant afford to buy overpriced guages like Autometer :mrgreen:

RoadWarrior, thank for affordable prices pal :wink:

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » June 21st, 2009, 10:05 am

if you want quality...go with autometer...it's better and besides there are different series in autometer like: phantom, cobalt which offer different styles to suit your liking.

I'm telling you it's better to spend your money good cuz if u happen to raise boost or so in the future the pro sport may not read properly

ever heard of the saying measure twice and cut once?......well autometer is the way.

by the way make sure and get a boost gauge..it's mandatory

skylineGTR55036018

Postby skylineGTR55036018 » June 22nd, 2009, 6:01 pm

go with autometer.. they specialize with dat stuff.. they're really gud quality.. i have sum prosport n glowshift gauges n im about 2 sell dm 2 get autometer...

pretty much jus get gauges of good quality.. u dont wanna have 2 spend more money 2 replace the 1st set.

live67

Postby live67 » June 24th, 2009, 1:45 pm

Basic question:

Who does installation of autometer (or any brand/type) gauges?

Contact information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

live67

Postby live67 » June 24th, 2009, 2:01 pm

Basic question:

Who does installation of autometer (or any brand/type) gauges?

Contact information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Postby Rooki3 » June 24th, 2009, 2:05 pm

Any Auto-electrician should be able to do it

air wick

Postby air wick » June 24th, 2009, 2:20 pm

Postby wagonrunner » June 24th, 2009, 2:37 pm

Travis wrote:http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/
which ones do you have?

air wick

Postby air wick » June 24th, 2009, 2:51 pm

i have the 7 color tinted

oil pressure
volt
a/f ratio

i choose these since i wasn't getting the color to match my dash lights with the other brands.

i bought them on amazon.com

Tired Accord

Re: Advice wanted for choosing gauges.

Postby Tired Accord » June 25th, 2009, 3:26 am

ImranZack wrote:Good day tuners,

I would like some advice on the brand of gauges to purchase.

The type of gauges (all 52mm electrical full sweep) to be installed is listed below
1) Oil pressure gauge
2)Air fuel ratio gauge with a wide band O2 sensor
3)either vacuum or coolant temp gauge.

I am considering going with prosport gauges but I don't know how accurate and durable these gauges are.
The other option is autometer but I don't like the look of it as much as the prosport look.

Can anyone experienced with gauges or using these gauges please help with giving some feedback.

Also suggestions to other brands are welcome

Thanks
Imran

^^Cuz, please take this as constructive criticism - no offense meant. This was discussed in previous posts some time ago. First off - why are you installing these particular gauges?
1) Oil pressure is generally good - but more so if you have a tuned/modified car, or do like dex or so with your car, or if your engine is known for oil (pump) problems.
2) A/F with wideband - needed ONLY IF doing tuning. As them other boys said - go with AEM or Innovative. I know the AEM is about $2500 though :shock: A normal A/F ratio gauge is a waste of time. It only tells you rich or lean, and this varies constantly throughout the RPM band - so how do you know if you're good or bad?
3) Why vacuum OR coolant temp? Which one is more important for your car? I can't see the need for a vacuum gauge except that it looks cool when you mash, and the needle swings around to 0....Coolant temp is good, if your stock dash temp gauge is faulty.

I ain't trying to bash you down - but if you into modifying, tuning, etc., then invest in reputed brands. Or if you just looking to have the inside of your car "light up nice in de night"....well you could probably go with a less expensive brand.
Bless.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » June 25th, 2009, 1:55 pm

autometer

Postby wagonrunner » June 25th, 2009, 4:40 pm

Travis wrote:i have the 7 color tinted

oil pressure
volt
a/f ratio

i choose these since i wasn't getting the color to match my dash lights with the other brands.

i bought them on amazon.com

i have the tach w/ shift from them a while now. think it went in right after the conversion.
but why through amazon, it's so much cheaper from their site.

air wick

Postby air wick » June 25th, 2009, 6:55 pm

it was cheaper on amazon

Postby wagonrunner » June 25th, 2009, 9:43 pm

Travis wrote:it was cheaper on amazon

:shock: wow. cool.

dregz

Postby dregz » June 27th, 2009, 10:04 am

yow, when yuh make yuh choice ensure that the gauges u intend to install looking good in your car. :D

yellow

Postby yellow » June 28th, 2009, 9:21 am

What is your priorty looks or functionality ?
If price is not an issue use auto guage by AutoMeter :!:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 28th, 2009, 2:30 pm

Tired Accord i disagree about the vacuum gauge..........have a read here:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=97834

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » June 28th, 2009, 7:25 pm

cacasplat3 Great info there from the archives! (Copy and paste) I did have some of that in mind, but the thing is - the interpretation of the readings is what one need to be schooled up on. :idea:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 1st, 2009, 9:48 am

Ive used a variety of gauges - Prosport, autogauge etc. I can tell you from practical experience that Autometer is the Best by Test

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » July 1st, 2009, 10:20 am

Rooki3 wrote:sigma-turbo,

greetings from Trinidad, now hush yuh kant, the sigma you drivin
look like cheap nasty junk to me

RoadWarrior, thank for affordable prices pal :wink:

anyone care to translate?