Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

TechArt

Re: Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Postby TechArt » May 22nd, 2010, 11:46 am

Mobil 1 EP 15W50 WAS my alternative to Amsoil 20W50, but since the bastards have stopped making the 15W50 n my 2yrs worth of stock finally done. The task is to find bulk deal on either amsoil or schaffers oil+filters. Trinituner is a large community yet we all don't take advantage of the strength that we have in numbers, we need a GROUP BUY FORUM PPL.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 27th, 2010, 11:26 am

agreed, group buy

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 27th, 2010, 3:02 pm

on Shell Helix Ultra???

i jes pay $77.50 a quart in LdG, ne1 kno wey i cud get it cheapa next time?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 29th, 2010, 3:38 am

Shell Helix Ultra has always been ridiculously expensive everywhere.. Honestly its a great oil but I never been able to justify the cost over M1 or any of the other well respected synthetics...

If yourl were to group buy, I would say approach Total about some of the quartz 9000....
Try to convince them to bring in the 15w-40 if thats your thing and group buy it.. I mean, being sponsors of the website I have to think they would be more receptive than most of the other brands out there...

----
On a side note, over here in the US many consumers say they boycotting BP gas stations on account of the oil spill etc...
But the thing is, im sure half those drivers have Castrol oil in their engine and doh even realise its BP that owns it haha

Postby X_Factor » May 29th, 2010, 7:04 pm

anyone here uses synthetic blends?
if so what brand, v. rating and price?

i presently using shell 15w40 but thinking about trying something different and would like to know whats out there

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 29th, 2010, 7:14 pm

Not too many blends on the market to be honest..

I'd say the most popular would be Shell Helix Plus (blue bottle) which is what you are using
Then there is Castrol Syntec Blend.. best pricing used to be at PriceSmart but I havent been there or shopped for blend in years..

Other options would include Total Quartz 7000 which I am sure will be excellently priced and will offer superb quality.. This would be my recommendation

Another one to consider is Mobil Clean7500.. I don't see it around too much but it shouldn't be as expensive as shell or castrol if you find it..

On occasion I have seen Valvoline syn blend in trinidad but that would be scarce..

Also worth looking into is the pricing on NP Ultra and NP Ultra Tec.. While I don't use them personally I haven't heard any bad reviews on either and my mechanic swears by them..

Your best bet would be to price out the syn blends, see what sort of pricing its coming back as and then do a price compare to full syn and conventional... When you start pricing let me know how it goes and keep in mind that you can get a litre (actually more than a qt) of Full syn Total Quartz 9000 for $52 so if any blends come close to that in price... Definitely not worth it.. Use that value as a reference then

geodude

Postby geodude » May 29th, 2010, 7:26 pm

what about mineral oil what are the best brands and which is the best value for money.

its for the RX8 nah

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 30th, 2010, 3:13 pm

When it comes to mineral oil (I don't use it very often) id say the regular Pennzoil is a great choice.
Castrol GTX is also a popular oil to use as well....

As I said, i been off the conventional oil market for quite some time..

If you don't mind me asking, what is the reason that they don't recommend synthetic for rotary engines?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 30th, 2010, 7:13 pm

The rotary burns oil under normal operation.
Not sure exactly but
something about the additives in the syntec

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 30th, 2010, 8:23 pm

The rotary burns oil under normal operation.
Not sure exactly but
something about the additives in the syntec

yes...sorta.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on June 24th, 2010, 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 1st, 2010, 2:37 pm

i have a Mitsubishi L200
Engine: 4D56T (2.5l turbo)
Engine Oil: Mobil 1 Delvac 15-40w
Oil Price: $145 per gallon

Postby X_Factor » June 2nd, 2010, 4:13 pm

soo i can get Castrol 20W50 quarts for 39$ and gallons for 140.00 and full synthetic for 250$

Quaker 5w50 full synthetic 55 a quart
normal 20w50 for i think 28-30$ a quart (i cant remember)

purolator oil filters 20$ for 1
and armor all 10OZ 30$

hadda buy by the cases though..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 3rd, 2010, 12:47 am

X-factor.. Walk into Mathura's in st james.. I think castrol syn is cheaper off the shelf there than the case price that you quoting..

Madman, that price is a STEAL for delvac 1 .. I may have to look into that when I use up my stash of Castrol Hypuron.. What oil filter you using on that engine? These days all i'm getting is sakura I find..

Finally, does the purolator PureOne oil filter sell in trinidad? I been bringing them down from the states over 2 years now and i'm wondering whats the delay of getting them in trinidad.. 99.9% efficiency!!

Postby X_Factor » June 4th, 2010, 10:09 am

^ i heard the pureOne filters while its good on filtration it slightly compromises on oil flow pressure..

btw, anyone here uses castrol synthetic blend from pricemart?...at 219 for 6 quarts thats great for ppl who have to change oil often

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 4th, 2010, 12:51 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Madman, that price is a STEAL for delvac 1 .. I may have to look into that when I use up my stash of Castrol Hypuron.. What oil filter you using on that engine? These days all i'm getting is sakura I find..

i am using the Sakura Oil Filter the Model Number is : C-1008

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 5th, 2010, 4:28 am

Well, yea it seems like its only Sakura I can find really... I mean, i sure its not a bad filter but I always love a good purolator when I can get it..

Concerning the pureone, people talk about possible flow restriction but I never had such issues and i using it on 3 different vehicles right now (one of which has a oil pressure gauge)..

Concerning the syntec blend at pricesmart thas a decent price to be honest, not sure you will beat that elsewhere... I haven't used castrol syn blend in years but when i did it was pricesmart self i got it..

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » June 24th, 2010, 3:42 pm

Redline (10W30, 20W50) - $66 /quart
Royal Purple (10W30, 15W40, 20W50)- $64 /quart
Royal Purple (10W30, 15W40)- $256 /gallon
Amsoil (10W30, 15W40, 20W50) - $74 /quart
Amsoil (10W30, 15W40, 20W50) - $290 /gallon

Available from me!
Princes Town!
Last edited by Big Z on August 28th, 2010, 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 11th, 2010, 9:43 pm

With the exception of rev-tech do alyuh know anywhere else to get Mobil Delvac 1 at those sort of prices? If not I may have to take a drive up there and stock up!

Also, good to see my beloved Total Quartz 9000 becoming more popular... Want to see more and more places selling it

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 22nd, 2010, 12:58 am

madman, you tief my head there with the whole mobil 1 delvac thing... I was hoping to get a MEGA deal on mobil delvac 1 for $145... not mobil delvac MX.. but as the saying goes, if its too good to be true then it isnt

On the flipside, picked up two gallons of Castrol Hypuron for $195 each at Mathura's

Also stocked up on 4l bottles of Total Quartz 9000 at roughly 184 each.. love the oil

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 23rd, 2010, 2:12 pm

Eneos 5W-40
Fine Tuned Performance Santa Rosa (Garth) - $70 a quart

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 24th, 2010, 3:23 pm

chris1388 wrote:Eneos 5W-40
Fine Tuned Performance Santa Rosa (Garth) - $70 a quart

ey ey! a ENEOS man!!! tell we how it werks...

also, Big Z, u doh hav Royal Purple in 5w40???

Big Z

Postby Big Z » July 24th, 2010, 8:28 pm

Big Z does not believe in 5W40, hence it will not be stocked.
Big Z also does not believe in 20W50, but customers insist on it, so they get it.
Big Z is ordering Royal Purple next week, so if you want a case of 5W40, you really should contact him ASAP for exact pricing, and leave your $100 down payment.
Big Z thinks that the 5W40 is, for all intents and purposes, the same as 10W40 and 15W40.
Big Z also KNOWS that the 15W40 is a superior oil (in Royal Purple) to the afore mentined 5W40, since it meets the CI-4 rating.

Big Z now asks, do you really want 5W40?

Seriously, go with the 15W40. Thanks for your indulgence :D

EDIT: Schaeffer does not make a 15W40 in the Supreme 9000 line. They do have a 5W40, for which I have stock. It also meets CJ-4 rating, meaning its a good oil.
Last edited by Big Z on July 24th, 2010, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 24th, 2010, 8:42 pm

Big Z wrote:Big Z also KNOWS that the 15W40 is a superior oil (in Royal Purple) to the aforementioned 5W40, since it meets the CI-4 rating.

can't find specs 2 prove dis... u hav RP oil filter 4 a CS3A Lancer?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » July 24th, 2010, 8:54 pm

Its in the Royal Purple catalog.
No stock on Royal Purple oil filters. If you want a case (should be 12), I ordering RP next week. Like Monday morning.
Walk with the $100 down payment ASAP. Anything after I order will be more expensive.
Seeing that I am the Trinidad DISTRIBUTOR for Luberfiner, it does put me in a quandary...
Should I also retail Royal Purple and K&N oil filters? Hmm...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » July 25th, 2010, 6:29 am

Big Z

Thanks for the stock of oil man
Even though you don't believe in 20W-50,
Will buy from you again

and Eva-01
the 2 ratings are (relative) viscosity at 0 and 200 Farenheit
You start your car when it's snowing outside? Why are you so bent on 0W?
btw with your high rev aggressive driving your thinner oil can make your oil pressure drop
and what kind of filter are you using now?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » July 25th, 2010, 8:13 am

Youre welcome. I appreciate your business!

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 25th, 2010, 3:21 pm

novastar1 wrote:and Eva-01
the 2 ratings are (relative) viscosity at 0 and 200 Farenheit
i kno :roll:
novastar1 wrote:You start your car when it's snowing outside? Why are you so bent on 0W?
cf. viewtopic.php?f=2&t=324586
novastar1 wrote:btw with your high rev aggressive driving your thinner oil can make your oil pressure drop
and what kind of filter are you using now?
OEM Mitsu

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 25th, 2010, 10:35 pm

If you really interested in 5w-40 I been running it in Total Quartz 9000 for over a year now... Loving it on the two vehicles used in so far...

I guess its all a matter of price and what you are willing to pay.. I know that most synthetics in Trinidad and ripping us off with prices so I buy what I consider to be an honestly priced product...

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 26th, 2010, 8:10 am

well, i kno DM switched 2 d Total Quartz afta Shell, & dey'r using d 5w40 in all d Lancers now but i've neva tried it (stuck 2 d Helix Ultra). i tink dey hav a decent price on it as well, somwey around $65 a quart (not sure if dat's d price still)

been tryin 2 get som feedback from a user, as i haven't gotten my hands on any data for the brand... wot exactly do you love about it???

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 26th, 2010, 8:32 am

Well, considering that I havent spent the money to do a UOA on it, I can only speak from non-scientifically measured benefits...

Here we go... Firstly, reputable brand.. I have some French family from up the islands and they always singing ELF/Total praises even before it was available to us in Trinidad....

Price... Last Total Quartz 9000 I purchased actually cost me somewhere in the region on $44 a qt... At $20 less than the competition I consider it a steal, even if its "just" group III

Experience with it... Once again purely subjective but I felt and heard no difference after switching from Moibil1 to the TQ9000... To me this is a compliment as I still rate Mobil1 as one of the benchmarks of the industry...

Finally, we took off my head last year may or so and found far more sludge than I ever expected to see... At this point I changed pcv valve and grommet and began doing "short" oil change intervals on the accord, something like 4k-5k changes in conjuction with Purolator PureOne filters...
A year later I pop the head and (once again also subjective) but my mech and I were amazed by how much sludge was gone... He estimated it at something like 70% better than a year before, which I consider quite impressive, especially when you remember I didnt use any oil treatment or flushing oil etc...

Finally, I just love the bottle design with the extendable spout which you can use to pour.. Excellent when you just want a little bit of oil from the 4liter bottle... Prevents spillage without a funnel...

In the end, I am not affiliated with the company, but I just love the idea that I get a top quality oil for a good price...
As far as i'm concerned, most other brands are ripping you all off considering a comparison of prices in the US to here, considering the only difference between their prices and ours should be freight and VAT (no customs duty on synthetics!)
I know this statement is going to upset half the people here, but if they want to pay ~$65 a qt, that's fine with me, but i'll keep my $20 from each qt purchased..
Imagine that, I use synthetic as well but save almost $80 per oil change... It adds up over the years, especially when having to change oil on 3 different vehicles..

Final reason, Total has some wicked ads hahahahha (even though I was using it before they began showing the ads in T+T)