Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Val

Postby Val » April 11th, 2010, 8:41 pm

gt4tified wrote:The engine is now re-built to produce 150% more power than from the factory, and I am currently deciding what oil to use. I have been advised to use 10w30 semi-synthetic or even mineral, if available to break-in and then a full synthetic of same grade or no heavier than 10w40 after break in.

I am currently considering three options for the running oil after break-in:

1. Castrol Syntec
2. Amsoil
3. Royal Purple

I'll let you guys know how it goes, in time to come. :wink:

Might be too late for you now, but just so you know, Royal Purple does have a specialised Engine Break-In Oil, available in quarts.

Postby tr1ad » April 11th, 2010, 11:00 pm

ah looking for np ultra tech......

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 11th, 2010, 11:38 pm

tr1ad wrote:ah looking for np ultra tech......

Last place I got the NP Ultra-Tec (5W-40) was by the Quik Shoppe by Rushworth Street in San F'do. They had it in the gallon bottle.

Postby X_Factor » April 11th, 2010, 11:42 pm

yuh know i could link distributor prices on quaker, NP and castrol
but we'd hav to buy by the cases to get that price!!

hot blue

Postby hot blue » April 12th, 2010, 10:49 pm

Ok guys check this one
2007 Toyota Yaris with 400,000 MILES on it !

I know the guy personally(a trini) and he used wal-mart super-tech synthetic oil, but recently switched to 0W-30 mobil1 synthetic cause that was the only 0W-30 he could find. He changes his oil every 5,000miles which equates to 2weeks for his driving. Toyota is offering him a new Yaris in exchange for his when hits half a million miles.

http://money.cnn.com/galleries/2010/autos/1004/gallery.ireport_mega_mile_cars/5.html

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » April 12th, 2010, 11:18 pm

i use RP
15w 40
160 a gal
from pyromaniak on the forum

The RP has the inside of my engine clean as a whistle but I've noticed it burns off a tad... well maybe because I've pushed it to nearly 10 000k.

Next oil change I'm goin to try Eneos 5w 40... read alot of good reviews about this oil. You can get it from Yakuza on the forum. :wink:

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » April 13th, 2010, 7:19 am

guys, I use the Castrol Hypron 15W40 Semi-Synthetic Diesel
@ 165/gal from Chuna's Auto Supplies in Felicity but I went
last week and the oil price went up to $215/gal. They said that
all Castrol oils went up. Has anyone else noticed this increase?

I usually run this for 7000k between changes but I'm thinking
of spending a little extra and get the Mobil 1 full synthetic that can
safely do 10,000k

Postby X_Factor » April 13th, 2010, 8:03 am

remember to do a filter change around the 5000k/3mths mark!!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 20th, 2010, 10:51 am

Mobil1 10w30 synthetic. Strictly every 3 months or 5,000 km, whichever comes first. Cheapest place so far is Courtesy Auto on Boundary Rd., El Socorro.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 20th, 2010, 11:38 am

Normally Total Quartz 9000 5w-40 Synthetic .. ~$210 for a 4 litre jug at Mathura's St James. About $53 per litre

------------------

Diesel:
Also my source for Castrol Hypuron 15w-40 for the Pajero.. I know price went up elsewhere but they still reasonable with it...

Used to use the Shell Rimula Super (Silver Bottle) for the Pajero, but it was coming about $15 less than the semi-syn Castrol so I figure time to upgrade...
Last edited by CD4Accord on May 15th, 2010, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » April 20th, 2010, 11:56 am

CD4Accord wrote:Normally Total Quartz 9000 5w-40 Synthetic .. ~$210 for a litre at Mathura's St James.

------------------

Diesel:
Also my source for Castrol Hypuron 15w-40 for the Pajero.. I know price went up elsewhere but they still reasonable with it...

Used to use the Shell Rimula Super (Silver Bottle) for the Pajero, but it was coming about $15 less than the semi-syn Castrol so I figure time to upgrade...

Where are you getting the Shell Rimula Super to buy?
& at what cost?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 20th, 2010, 12:28 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:The RP has the inside of my engine clean as a whistle but I've noticed it burns off a tad... well maybe because I've pushed it to nearly 10 000k.

i run my Shell Helix Ultra (full synth) to 10,000km easy wit no burnoff watsoeva... engine clean like WAW!

swift gti funatic wrote:Next oil change I'm goin to try Eneos 5w 40... read alot of good reviews about this oil. You can get it from Yakuza on the forum. :wink:

wher u hear dese good things bout Eneos? i kno a few ppl who interested but i wanna read it mihself...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 20th, 2010, 12:42 pm

I used to get the Shell Rimula from L+DG but they actually more expensive than the shops they distributing to....
So I was going to get it at Mathura's but while there decided to get the Hypuron instead..
If its one thing I can vouch for the Shell Rimula (Silver bottle) is that my pops VERY negligent about oil changes in the pajero, and I run it pretty hard.. Last time we took off the valve cover thing was shiny and clean inside.. Clearly it has a pretty good additive and detergent pack...

Any oil, i reccomend Mathura's in St. James.. Yes sometimes it hard to park, presha to get thru, hot, and you have to fite up etc... But they really have the best oil prices...

To EVA Unit-01.. I really like Shell Helix Ultra, I just wish they could bring down the price a bit.. Otherwise, top class oil..

Postby X_Factor » April 20th, 2010, 1:35 pm

^ even the synthetic blend blue bottle oil from shell is dammn good!!

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » April 22nd, 2010, 3:58 pm

Toyota has the Castrol Hypuron 15W40
for about $185 a gallon
and thats on there 20% discount
don't know how long it will be for

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » April 25th, 2010, 10:41 pm

royal purple 15w-40 $65 a quart
Enterprise, Chaguanas-Real Time Imported Products

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 25th, 2010, 11:17 pm

Just remember we all being robbed with synthetic prices because what the importers, distributors and retailers dont want you to know is that..

Mineral oil has a 30% duty
Synthetic oil is DUTY FREE..... But they charge us double the cost of conventional oil, and pocket the extra 30% in profit...

Compare that to the US where a Gallon of castrol GTX is about $14 US but syn is about $23

Note... NOT twice the price...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 29th, 2010, 1:47 pm

Also, out of curiosity, have any of the top of the line products from the big name companies reached trinidad as yet...

Eg. Castrol Edge or Pennzoil Ultra?

I know M1 EP has been in Trinidad for ages, but what about the other two?

novastar1

Re: Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Postby novastar1 » May 12th, 2010, 1:16 pm

Royal Purple 20w-50
Sheriff, $70 per quart

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 12th, 2010, 2:35 pm

was using Royal Purple 20W-50 $58 per qt Rooke's Oil Field Supplies RP dealer San Fernando

now using Amsoil 20W-50 $75 per quart PT automotive el socorro south
bought a gallon cant remember how much but it slightly cheaper

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » May 14th, 2010, 12:27 am

CD4Accord mentioned the Total Quartz 9000 5w-40 Synthetic 5w-40 at $210 a litre. TYPO error...

Actually it's 5 litres in a bottle for that price. Which works out to $42 per litre which is a best value for synthetic oil.

Using this in my 3S-GE BEAMS Altezza and it's great. Was using Castrol Syntec before but I can say from experience the Total 9000 works so well in certain applications that European companies like Peugeot recommend oil change intervals at 30,000km with it or 20,000km with our climate.

With the savings I buy OEM oil filters and I'm better protected.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 14th, 2010, 1:30 am

SiR8081 wrote:was using Royal Purple 20W-50 $58 per qt Rooke's Oil Field Supplies RP dealer San Fernando

where are they located in Sando?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 14th, 2010, 11:36 am

M_tech, where are you still getting the 5L bottle? I used to get it when they first started importing but then they switched down to a 4L because they realised thats the market standard here..

If you know where has the 5L bottles im going to stock up....

On a side note, I now have two cars running the Total Quartz 9000 no issues and the fellas at Mathura's in st james agree with me that its a great oil...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 14th, 2010, 2:16 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:was using Royal Purple 20W-50 $58 per qt Rooke's Oil Field Supplies RP dealer San Fernando

Near the Mon-Repos roundabout/SBCS....on the street with Comfort Zone I believe?

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » May 15th, 2010, 10:12 pm

Mobil clean 5000, excellent for combating sludge and is good for 5000 miles (8000 km)

Postby X_Factor » May 18th, 2010, 1:48 pm

anyone knows thje current prices of Quaker full synthetic?

geodude

Postby geodude » May 19th, 2010, 8:07 pm

i using shell, the red one in meh GDI galant, i ent know the price cause meh mammy does buy oil for meh, i will ask she and tell allu later. used to use Castrol syn and castrol GTX but was told that for the age of the engine i should run a fuller body oil.

i think like 120 a gallon by Farook in Penal

for the trannie Quaker state. i think 60 a quart by Farook in Penal.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 19th, 2010, 9:26 pm

Knight1 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

Near the Mon-Repos roundabout/SBCS....on the street with Comfort Zone I believe?

correct, i called them today.. $66 a quart for PR.. i think the gallon was $240 or something close..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 20th, 2010, 12:11 am

Big man does buy their own oil.. not they mammy hahahaha

Nonetheless, how old is your engine/how many miles and what oil grade you running? Unless you leaking or burning, why subject your engine to that heavy crud...

PS. Talks in the US is that Quaker State Q Horsepower (full syn group 3) is the same as Pennzoil Platinum.. True or not PP is a superb oil for the price over here.. (about $20 US for 5 qt's)

geodude

Postby geodude » May 20th, 2010, 4:34 am

the engine was ten years old and doing like 200 k's, started smoking like 6 months ago so i switched to the shell,
eventually it didn't make much of a difference, the consumption was like a quart a week and if i made a high way run i would use like haft a quart, so eventually i changed the head and block, and a forgot and bought Shell, whenever i chage oil again i will go back to Castol synthetic,

Just to be clear the Quaker in my transmission not my engine