Re: tyres

Postby rayj » October 7th, 2016, 10:45 am

Black Scorpion wrote:Singh's

Thanx guys

Re: RE: Re: tyres

Postby Dave » October 7th, 2016, 11:15 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:On the look out for new tires. Anyone can give pricing for these in 225/45/17?

Dunlop Direzza DZ102

Continental ExtremeContact DW

Sumitomo HTR Z3

Maxxis Z4S

Had 245/40/17 for sale a while ago. Literally still like brand new
Are u interested?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 7th, 2016, 12:07 pm

Dave wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:On the look out for new tires. Anyone can give pricing for these in 225/45/17?

Dunlop Direzza DZ102

Sumitomo HTR Z3

Maxxis Z4S

Are u interested?

I ended up getting 225/45/17 Sumitomo htr z3 about a week ago.

rayj

Postby rayj » October 9th, 2016, 6:51 am

Anyone ever heard of or used Kingrun tyres?
One dealer told me that they're a Pirelli product.
I heard Pirelli was bought over by the chinese, but can't find a link between them and Kingrun tyres.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » October 9th, 2016, 1:30 pm

Any truck men in here? Need some 7.50 LT 16 :oops:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 9th, 2016, 4:44 pm

^you can get that almost anywhere man,mostly highway thread though.That's what i'm currently running on my Defender

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 9th, 2016, 6:45 pm

rayj wrote:Anyone ever heard of or used Kingrun tyres?
One dealer told me that they're a Pirelli product.
I heard Pirelli was bought over by the chinese, but can't find a link between them and Kingrun tyres.

Sure man, just like Evergreen is made by Michelin.

Basically Michelins and Pirellis at 1/8 the cost. Dealer got your back.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » October 9th, 2016, 7:41 pm

Saw some place in cunupia selling "keter" and "doubleking" tyres. Anyone use these at all?

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » October 9th, 2016, 9:45 pm

ru$$ell wrote:^you can get that almost anywhere man,mostly highway thread though.That's what i'm currently running on my Defender

its for a 4 ton truck...whats the avg price?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 10th, 2016, 7:31 pm

cueball1990 wrote:Saw some place in cunupia selling "keter" and "doubleking" tyres. Anyone use these at all?

Thousands of cars running these cheap arse chinese tyres of all brands so its pointless to say they're a waste. Its almost all you can get and most people only see dollar signs for their wallet. If you drive sensibly then you should be fine.

Sometimes i feel like an idiot when i tell people about grip and hydroplaning and general safety when they proudly display their 4 for $1000 tyres and I get laughed at for my $600 each Dunlops and previous $900 Kumhos.

As i see it, if you thinking about chinese tyres, doh even ask for a review. Just do it. Seems to work well for most. Whats a brand name really.

Postby gastly369 » October 10th, 2016, 7:41 pm

From the time I hear "good cheap" Meh ears lock off any audible sounds from their mouths after

Postby X_Factor » October 10th, 2016, 8:01 pm

X_Factor wrote:anyone tried those keter tires? at less than 300 for a 15inch, i am considering it

i would rather buy a reputable brand f.used but the quality is poor as of recently and its like180-200 for a f.used
present pair struggling to make 5 mths with good alignment and tire pressure checked every 2wks

i gonna try the keter brand when they get the size in stock...for roughly 700.00 after balanced and installed
seems pretty good for a econobox nissan note

Re: RE: Re: tyres

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2016, 11:15 pm

A172 wrote:potenza S001 runflat
255/35/19 rear
225/45/19 front

this available local or nah?

still waiting on the tire experts here, seeing as dey clearly present

Postby skylinechild » October 11th, 2016, 12:10 am

need new tyres soon...considering these brands - in no specific order
1.firestone
2. maxxis
3. hankook
4.kumho

pros cons of each and what would u recommend and why

commute is from pos to central.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 11th, 2016, 12:42 am

Get the cheapest out of any brand you listed their as they should all be decent.... Except the kumho if it's a car tyre. Kumho car tyres I find ride pretty hard.
Non directional tyres allow more tyre rotating options. I usually press my thumb against the side wall to get a feel of how comfortable the tyre will be, with the softer side wall generally providing a more comfortable ride.

Postby X_Factor » October 11th, 2016, 7:12 am

bridgestone also have a few options
call kamus muffler in barataria, they stock the firestone and bridgestone
prices are pretty decent as well

Postby gastly369 » October 11th, 2016, 8:42 am

Had some good experience with the maxxis z3 tires

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » October 11th, 2016, 9:49 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
cueball1990 wrote:Saw some place in cunupia selling "keter" and "doubleking" tyres. Anyone use these at all?

Thousands of cars running these cheap arse chinese tyres of all brands so its pointless to say they're a waste. Its almost all you can get and most people only see dollar signs for their wallet. If you drive sensibly then you should be fine.

Sometimes i feel like an idiot when i tell people about grip and hydroplaning and general safety when they proudly display their 4 for $1000 tyres and I get laughed at for my $600 each Dunlops and previous $900 Kumhos.

As i see it, if you thinking about chinese tyres, doh even ask for a review. Just do it. Seems to work well for most. Whats a brand name really.

well i dont drive that much and im no speed racer so i guess i will give them a go. its just to save me some money till i can afford better

Postby Dave » October 11th, 2016, 9:50 am

Ohtsu is Falkens cheaper brand and the reviews are quite good also. Not sure if they made their way locally as yet

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 11th, 2016, 8:57 pm

My dad purchased some sumitomo tyres at 200$ for one(new) a while back... The scariest tyre I have ever driven on. I learnt everything there is to learn about driving on those tyres. Manual ABS, how to drive out of a skid with a fwd, get all your braking done before the corner. The scary thing is when it have all these drivers around you with the hardest rubber available and an emergency situation arises. You with decent tyres will stop... Everyone around you might use you for target practice. Tread depth does not equal grip
Ever green is not made by Michelin.
Not all tyres made by reputable brands are good.

Tyres that I avoid
Sumitomo t4
Bridgestone dueler 840
Roadstone cp661
Chinese tyres that have no history in any sport/motorsport

Postby X_Factor » October 11th, 2016, 10:49 pm

thats one of the problems we have, we spend 3-500 on a tire but expect performance of a re11 or ventus v12 ect
i know when i purchase the tire for 3-500.00 i expect a basic econo tire with no big grippy performance so i will just drive accordingly

which leads to the other fact, why buy a sports car or modded car and then bawling to spend 5-6k on a decent set of tires?
but when you spin out, cant get traction etc on the 500 and under tire...the tire is crap...
smh

Postby skylinechild » October 11th, 2016, 11:01 pm

kamakazi wrote:Get the cheapest out of any brand you listed their as they should all be decent.... Except the kumho if it's a car tyre. Kumho car tyres I find ride pretty hard.
Non directional tyres allow more tyre rotating options. I usually press my thumb against the side wall to get a feel of how comfortable the tyre will be, with the softer side wall generally providing a more comfortable ride.

noted - its for my car.... i' tend to stay away from the cheapest models from any brand as they may not be able to handle what i go through sometimes.

kumho is supposed to be a good tyre from what ive heard....

X_Factor wrote:bridgestone also have a few options

kamus location in chaguanas stocks firestone and kumho....plus thats where i get my discount from. but good looking out.

gastly369 wrote:Had some good experience with the maxxis z3 tires

currently have on Maxxis MA-z4 :lol:

X_Factor wrote:thats one of the problems we have, we spend 3-500 on a tire but expect performance of a re11 or ventus v12 ect
i know when i purchase the tire for 3-500.00 i expect a basic econo tire with no big grippy performance so i will just drive accordingly

which leads to the other fact, why buy a sports car or modded car and then bawling to spend 5-6k on a decent set of tires?
but when you spin out, cant get traction etc on the 500 and under tire...the tire is crap...
smh

hankook Ventus self is what i was considering...weighing my option of those against the maxxis.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 14th, 2016, 5:39 pm

I bought two sets of those keter tires for my two vehicles. Tires wear pretty quietly. Not noisy and expels water very good.

For my two economy cars they work perfect, going in one year for one set and a couple months for the other.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 14th, 2016, 5:52 pm

If one foot stopping distance is the difference between life and death...I will be glad that i gave myself a chance at life...

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 14th, 2016, 10:05 pm

skylinechild wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Get the cheapest out of any brand you listed their as they should all be decent.... Except the kumho if it's a car tyre. Kumho car tyres I find ride pretty hard.

noted - its for my car.... i' tend to stay away from the cheapest models from any brand as they may not be able to handle what i go through sometimes.

kumho is supposed to be a good tyre from what ive heard....

X_Factor wrote:bridgestone also have a few options

kamus location in chaguanas stocks firestone and kumho....plus thats where i get my discount from. but good looking out.

gastly369 wrote:Had some good experience with the maxxis z3 tires

currently have on Maxxis MA-z4 :lol:

X_Factor wrote:thats one of the problems we have, we spend 3-500 on a tire but expect performance of a re11 or ventus v12 ect

smh

hankook Ventus self is what i was considering...weighing my option of those against the maxxis.

You found hankook ventus v12 evos locally? If so where?

Postby X_Factor » October 14th, 2016, 10:19 pm

that was along time ago
doubt they still have them
hankook store emr after tunapuna

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 15th, 2016, 7:20 am

Jn!66 1v
/

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: tyres

Postby racedriverpro » November 9th, 2016, 6:42 pm

Dave wrote:

Dunlop Direzza DZ102

Sumitomo HTR Z3

Maxxis Z4S

Are u interested?

Anyone? Need to get at best price. Have to be get tyres before schedule.

Nissan12

Postby Nissan12 » November 9th, 2016, 8:15 pm

kamakazi wrote:My dad purchased some sumitomo tyres at 200$ for one(new) a while back... The scariest tyre I have ever driven on. I learnt everything there is to learn about driving on those tyres. Manual ABS, how to drive out of a skid with a fwd, get all your braking done before the corner. The scary thing is when it have all these drivers around you with the hardest rubber available and an emergency situation arises. You with decent tyres will stop... Everyone around you might use you for target practice. Tread depth does not equal grip
Ever green is not made by Michelin.
Not all tyres made by reputable brands are good.

Tyres that I avoid
Sumitomo t4
Bridgestone dueler 840
Roadstone cp661
Chinese tyres that have no history in any sport/motorsport

Kamikazi hit it on the head here... I agonize over tyres in my car because it's the four patches between life and death and yet when I stop at a traffic light and look at any of the other cars tyres around me, it's 90% Chinese. I can stop to maybe save another guy/gal life and they will kill me because they can't? Look ting...

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » November 11th, 2016, 5:02 pm

EU Tyre Labelling https://www.kwik-fit.com/tyres/informat ... -labelling
Gives a good indication of performance in the wet, noise and fuel economy.

Some tyre tests.....
http://www.evo.co.uk/features/18309/the ... -tyre-test
https://www.motormag.com.au/events/tyre-test