Re: Rebuilding a SR20 Automatic Transmission

Postby Ted_v2 » December 14th, 2011, 7:35 am

3stagevtec wrote:
xcalibur1 wrote:the guy from la romain is his name keith by chance

anyone have a contact?

or can post some recommends on good transmission guys..

his name is keith charles

does bess work if i must say so he redid over my moms transmission in her kia and it costed around 1500$ (car ran haaaaaaaaaard when he finished :mrgreen: )

he usually go away a couple times for the year to do courses and get his repair kits so hes pretty good

his place is by darren auto world in la romain/sando on that street its a blue and white building i think (it was so when i went there dunno about now)

he haz lifts and thing so you cant miss it

Postby 3stagevtec » December 15th, 2011, 12:00 am

^ thanks man! will go have a chat with him..

Back2Studio

Re:

Postby Back2Studio » February 5th, 2012, 11:52 am

Dave wrote:
at the end of the day it's still an automatic.

point being?

V2NR 3.0, bro don't spend the money to build a tranny for a gazillion horsepower if you are not going to make it.

For my needs, a stock sr20 engine making 125whp and then a 75hp shot of nos(NOS brand measures the power their jets make at the wheel) meant that i was therotically making 200whp which a stock SR tranny with an external cooler could handle.

I needed a rebuild so I rebuilt using a stock off the shelf SR rebuild kit but also utilised a reprogram kit to correct some inherent SR tranny problems as well as adding some integrity to the box.

As little as below 3k shifting in D I used to peel tyres, not good for my tyre life but I didn't care cause this is how I set up the car to work. The other issues is when you have a tranny shifting so vigourously, you always burst mounts so I needed to reinforce them which added vibration to an everyday driver which again didn't make a difference to me cause it was a purpose built vehicle I made.

At the end of the day, you need to decide what you want to do with the vehicle and do your build based on that and not a boast build.

Hey buddy how's it goin? With the exception of nitrous and a B14 my engine and transmission set up in my U14 Bluebird SSS is the identical twin of yours. My question for you is...what engine oil (grade and brand) and transmission oil did you use in this set up? Mine is a daily driver as well. I was reading that you got best times with Quaker state, then in other articles you recommended Amsoil 10w-30.

Regards

Postby Ted_v2 » February 5th, 2012, 1:50 pm

Umm dave who rebuilt ur tranny?

i have a ck2 lancer and the car tranny kinda going i guess

i wanted to rebuild it so that i can work it like a manual and drop in gears when i need it but still have the comfort like a tranny

was looking for a tiptronic but cant get one to fit the lancer oem with the 4g15

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2012, 11:53 pm

hmmn, i know about the transmission guy in pond street, with winston on the sign.

i was reading some forums online which showed that the 5 gear had some issues where they break or sumting quite easily.

Postby Dave » February 22nd, 2012, 9:33 am

The two people I trust would be Flash and Jai. Both have built trannys that race.

Flash did mine btw.

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 22nd, 2012, 4:39 pm

Where are Flash and Jai located Dave?

Postby Dave » February 23rd, 2012, 8:09 am

both are in aranguez lol

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 23rd, 2012, 1:00 pm

Jeeeez. Thanks..
Looking for a reputable mechanic in South to rebuild my B13 tranny. My mech quoted me $2200 inclusive of all necessary items. Just want to check around to get an idea if this is a good price. The tranny is coupled with a QG15de in a B12 btw, (if that is of any importance.)

Postby rollingstock » February 23rd, 2012, 1:20 pm

^ that's a good price for a rebuild inclusive of parts.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 26th, 2012, 7:53 pm

That's not a bad price..

Go talk to keith charles (from la romain) as well. he's pretty knowledgeable..

Postby sMASH » March 1st, 2012, 7:42 am

spam bot with latency issues when submitting??? any hoo....

post ur results when u finish

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 19th, 2012, 10:30 pm

Thanks rs and 3stage. I'm yet to speak to Keith Charles. In La Romaine everyday and still haven't figured out where he's located.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 21st, 2012, 9:54 am

NR8 wrote:Thanks rs and 3stage. I'm yet to speak to Keith Charles. In La Romaine everyday and still haven't figured out where he's located.

yuhnno where samaroos (the carnival place is located)

the street behind that drive inside there and you MUST see the place

blue below white top Building cant miss

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 23rd, 2012, 1:50 am

NR8 wrote:Jeeeez. Thanks..
Looking for a reputable mechanic in South to rebuild my B13 tranny. My mech quoted me $2200 inclusive of all necessary items. Just want to check around to get an idea if this is a good price. The tranny is coupled with a QG15de in a B12 btw, (if that is of any importance.)

Im not sure if he is taking on work right now but if you are in Debe- David's Transmission Repairs from Ramai Trace.

647-6739

He has a lot of experience (over 15yrs) and also updates his skill each year, I think he was doing some upgrades to the garage so I cant say for sure if he taking on work right now but worth giving a call.

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 23rd, 2012, 10:18 am

Thanks much for the info sound boy & kurpal.

That's Papourie Road right sound boy? With Darren Car Sales on one end?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 23rd, 2012, 10:44 am

NR8 wrote:Thanks much for the info sound boy & kurpal.

That's Papourie Road right sound boy? With Darren Car Sales on one end?

nt sure about the name but yes darren on one end and a puja(sp) shop on the end

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 29th, 2012, 3:50 pm

Question

How much would a completely rebuilt automatic transmission (FWD SR20DE, non LSD), with Transgo Shift Kit and B&M super-cooler sell for?

Long story short...how much allyuh feel I could get for it?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 29th, 2012, 8:07 pm

Back2Studio wrote:Question

How much would a completely rebuilt automatic transmission (FWD SR20DE, non LSD), with Transgo Shift Kit and B&M super-cooler sell for?

where u got the shift kit to purchase?

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 30th, 2012, 6:06 am

Transgo

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » April 16th, 2012, 1:49 pm

Back2Studio wrote:Question

Anybody?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 9th, 2014, 2:33 pm

I was going to convert to Manual Transmission but after seeing this I have some hope.

Dave, can u PM be some details on the build please?

I will tell u what my new set up is like! :twisted:

Postby Dave » July 10th, 2014, 4:48 am

It basically is a reprogram kit for the valve body to correct some inherent sr tranny issues and then a full rebuild with some tweaks.
The next step would be some clutches from level 10 but then we are starting to see close to a 8k transmission build which few will justify but on a manual guys face will be priceless.

Postby turbosingh » July 14th, 2014, 11:10 am

If is Keith Charles from La Romaine,dont waste your time he rebuilt 2 trannies for some friends doing around 350whp an it only last around 9months.And the cost was like $10,000.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 17th, 2014, 1:33 pm

It's a place in aranguez.

Advent

Postby Advent » October 18th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Advent

Postby Advent » October 21st, 2014, 2:32 pm

Dave wrote:You seem to have me confused with someone else, I don't wear panties.

Picture this, a identical cars set up the same and the only essential difference was the transmission, one being a lsd gb with a s&s clutch and the other lsd auto with some minor tranny work.

On the qtr mile, the auto always ran quicker times because where the guy with the gb had to lift to shift, and auto guy didn't so he was always on tap for power and in this case was nos. Btw, this is an actual local scenario.

Also when I fied clutches, a clutch for the tranny was $200 and for the power being outputted was cheaper than a s&s clutch.

My tranny costed $3k to build.

At the end of the day, anyone whoever decides on a build for their vehicle would master the art of what they have, don't knock it if you never did it.

Dave I want to turbo my sr20 de and stay automatic what would I have to do for it to handle stock boost levels and not crap out and how much will it cost?

Advent

Postby Advent » October 21st, 2014, 2:33 pm

Dave wrote:You seem to have me confused with someone else, I don't wear panties.

Picture this, a identical cars set up the same and the only essential difference was the transmission, one being a lsd gb with a s&s clutch and the other lsd auto with some minor tranny work.

On the qtr mile, the auto always ran quicker times because where the guy with the gb had to lift to shift, and auto guy didn't so he was always on tap for power and in this case was nos. Btw, this is an actual local scenario.

Also when I fied clutches, a clutch for the tranny was $200 and for the power being outputted was cheaper than a s&s clutch.

At the end of the day, anyone whoever decides on a build for their vehicle would master the art of what they have, don't knock it if you never did it.

Dave I want to turbo my sr20 de and stay automatic what would I have to do for it to handle stock boost levels and not crap out and how much will it cost?

Advent

Postby Advent » October 21st, 2014, 2:33 pm

obstinate24

Postby obstinate24 » February 21st, 2018, 11:58 am

Does anyone know where i can buy a sr20de rwd tranny