4G92 pinging?

screwbash

4G92 pinging?

Postby screwbash » September 23rd, 2011, 9:30 pm

I have a lancer CB3 with a 4G92 engine. What type of gasoilne should i be using? super of Premium. I hearing a kinda rackling when going up hills, change engine mounts, front ends and steering ends with same result. Could it be the gas i use and the noise is a knocking?
Also if I use the super with a bottle of octane boost would this help?

Re: what type of gasoline to use? super / Premium

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 23rd, 2011, 11:00 pm

hit the search button....this topic has been discussed before...

if u could afford the premium then by all means......

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » September 24th, 2011, 12:52 am

It sounds like your engine is experiencing pinging.
A proper injector service will address your concerns.

The 4G92 works fine on super.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 24th, 2011, 7:33 am

I had the injector cleaned by Ziad Mustapha using the QMI 3 step process. Guess they didnt do a good job then.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 24th, 2011, 10:23 am

That engine usually runs fine on Super.
Try a full tuneup first to see if this alleviates the issue.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 24th, 2011, 6:28 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Try a full tuneup first to see if this alleviates the issue.

Good point... I assumed this was done.
You know what they say about assuming...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 26th, 2011, 8:59 am

not sure what a full tuneup entails. I changed plugs,air filter, clean injectors,change oil,change steering ends,engine mounts, gas up ac, change belt that drives ac and power steering. Does the engine itself need a tuneup such as changing something inside the engine head or block such as pistons and other stuff? do they need a tune up? I gonna try the octane boost today and put in a cone filter similar to the one that k&n has to see if more air would stop the noise.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 26th, 2011, 9:22 am

You covered the basic tune up items there.
No need to change anything else.
What fuel are you using currently?
If you are using super, try using premium, and monitor to see if that resolves your problem.

It may be possible that your fuel filter is partially clogged or your fuel pressure regulator is failing or your fuel pump is failing.

Postby Hook » September 26th, 2011, 12:41 pm

*shrugs* I dunno about you guys, but I'd check ignition and cam timing FIRST before I go digging up in anything. As stated before by VexXx Dogg, those engines are supposed to run just fine on super. So unless any radical modifications were made to the engine, there's no reason to switch to a much more expensive fuel if you don't need it.

Among other things, pre-ignition or "pinging/"pinking" can be caused by ignition timing being too far advanced, either from setting the distributor incorrectly, OR incorrect engine timing.
It's the easiest thing to check before you begin to go through the drama of servicing injectors, decarbonizing engine and other hit-or-miss solutions.

Just set to TDC and make sure all the timing marks line up properly, then start up n' check ignition timing with a timing light and take it from there.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 26th, 2011, 2:49 pm

Change the location where you buy your gas.
Probably getting "bad gas" . lol

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 27th, 2011, 10:08 am

Update: I buy a bottle of Cylco octane boost from LDG. It said it increases octane by 30 points. Since i trow that in i aint hear much 'knocking'. I hearing it really slight now. That is about $40 for that bottle. I dont know if you guys with more knowledge in this than me could tell me what to check now since the higher octane gas lessen the knocking. I wanna change the fuel filter that is located inside the engine as I find when i stopping after a high speed such as coming up to a yellow/red light the car 'bucks' or 'jerks' a few time. It might be bad gas but I buy gas at the richmond street gas station in POS or the new NP gas station in san juan close to the triangle. Where can I get the gas filter for that car or can I use a substitute?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 27th, 2011, 10:38 am

I leaving this one to the fellas who not selling injection & induction services to answer.

Postby Hook » September 27th, 2011, 11:29 am

screwbash, all you're doing there is putting a plaster on it. An engine that's supposed to run fine on super (you didn't mention if it's modified, but we'll assume that it's stock in this case) shouldn't need an octane boost. It might hold you over for this tank, but what about the next, and the next? Excessive use of fuel additives such as octane boosters actually deposit a red substance on your plugs that IME can contribute to pre-ignition.

Do the small stuff first.

I still insist that you should get your mechanic to just give the engine a once-over and check your cam and ignition timing AND ensure that you're using plugs with the correct heat range for your engine. If I'm not mistaken, the non-MIVEC 4G92 uses a heat range 6 while the MIVEC version uses a heat range 7, but I can be corrected here. If when you pull your plugs, you realize you have a 5 in there, THAT might be your problem.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 27th, 2011, 12:21 pm

I buy some NGK plugs for $60 for the 4. You are corrrect the engine is stock with no mods. I will get the mec to check the can and ignition timing.

Postby Hook » September 27th, 2011, 1:39 pm

doh concern yuhself with how much they cost...5, 6 and 7 plugs of the same type could cost the same $60 for the four plugs, but make sure they're the correct heat range for your engine
(BTW, you STILL haven't said if it's SOHC, DOHC, or MIVEC 4G92)

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 28th, 2011, 10:48 am

I know for sure it is not a mivec. Not sure about the others. The car is a 1998 lancer wagon. Same shape as the libero. Fuel Injected and everything is original as the guy I got it from did buy that for he outside woman and them they done so it was parked up for about 3 years with very little use.

Postby Hook » September 28th, 2011, 11:18 am

looks like this?

thegtiman

Re: 4G92 pinging?

Postby thegtiman » September 28th, 2011, 3:38 pm

Removed.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 29th, 2011, 10:28 am

yes, that engine looks exactly like the one i have.

shaun_

Postby shaun_ » June 26th, 2016, 12:28 pm

Screwbash did you ever solve this problem?
I am having similar problem right now with my 4g93 sohc. (Looks identical to that engine in the picture)