Need to get 4 Sportero rims sandblasted in preparation for painting

Rims are exactly these

who does it and what is the average cost

Contact Shawn @782-8594

Sanctifier

Re: Sand Blasting of Rims

Postby Sanctifier » February 6th, 2012, 9:15 pm

If blasting (great!) why not powder coat them instead of painting?
Much more expensive... but a better, much longer-lasting job by far.

And the powder coating company may be able to blast as well.

My $0.02¢

venum

Postby venum » February 6th, 2012, 10:08 pm

Uncle :!: long time no see

powder coating is real nice and gives a good finish

this is a DIY project that a buddy and I would be doing

I have a spare set of rims and the cost just to powder coat is the same as new set of new aftermarket rims

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2012, 12:29 pm

PM Team Loco
he sand blasted some vintage wire wheels for me a couple years back

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 7th, 2012, 3:26 pm

venum wrote:I have a spare set of rims and the cost just to powder coat is the same as new set of new aftermarket rims

Yuh kiddin'! Who gave you that quote? :shock:

I will soon have three sets of rims to powder-coat to match the white Evo 6 TME Enkeis... but at that rate 12 rims will cost the same as my rwd GSR!

I'll just have to buy a damn powder-coating kit, infra-red light & stand and try a "DIY" job. :evil:

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2012, 4:09 pm

venum, you sure?
panland used to have good rates

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2012, 7:40 pm

the price I got was $2400.00 by someone on the forum, can't remember who as I was checking several ppl

I have seen a decent set of 16" rims for $2800 in Debe

the paint that I need is $500.00

labour = free

it seems that quote was ridiculous,

thanx for the link on Panland Kevin

anywhere else :?:

Postby X2 » February 16th, 2012, 11:29 pm

You don't need to sandblast but it's the fastest way to strip paint off... even then, it can leave behind material that will still need to be moved by hand. You should only really need to blast when you want a perfect paintjob or to completely strip something quickly. A properly done strip, blast and powdercoat job can be expensive... and not everyone will 'do it right'. Most painters and powdercoaters will not blast or strip the product unless you specifically ask and then the cost goes up considerably.

If you do get it blasted, Sand blasting of the rim needs to be done at a low pressure, so you have to be careful who does the blasting. Too powerful and it will pock mark the aluminum. You can also look around to see if anyone glass bead blasts.

For a repaint on a budget, simply sand, clean, prime and paint... all of which you can do yourself at home with some sandpaper, water, paint and elbow grease.

Postby X2 » February 16th, 2012, 11:31 pm

Don't know if it's the same company but there was someone called Trinidad powdercoaters that used to advertise.... Panland is good, don't know about pricing of rims from either.

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2012, 11:53 pm

saw a sign today in aranguez advertising dry ice blasting
will try to get the number and post it

suppose to be better than sand as it does not leave marks in the rim

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 23rd, 2012, 3:53 pm

: : :

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 27th, 2012, 6:01 pm

X_Factor wrote:saw a sign today in aranguez advertising dry ice blasting... Will try to get the number and post it...
Can you check and post a name & number please?... Project Evo 6 TME RS2 'Clone' has started and I'm servicing some eqp't to do a rotisserie restoration & upgrade. (Stitch-welding, FoamSeal, Custom paint, "the works") ...All DIY!

We stripped this today. I want to blast tanks, frame & heater coil before trying my 1st DIY powder-coating "test-run"...

Image Image
STEP #1:- Sioux Combination Steam Cleaner & (Hot/Cold) High Pressure Washer Restoration.

My $0.02¢

Postby X_Factor » February 27th, 2012, 6:07 pm

checkin tmr, wasnt in the area last couple days

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 27th, 2012, 7:44 pm

^ ^ ^ If you find out in the morning, call me @ 684-4552 please.

Thanks.

Postby cinco » February 28th, 2012, 7:57 pm

where in aranguez? i will pass and see if i get the number tomorrow

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2012, 8:31 pm

its somewhere around the place that fixes rims, on the left hand side heading in a southerly direction (comin from wicked wings to the roundabout...)
its a little sign marked "dry ice blasting" and a cell number below

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 28th, 2012, 9:57 pm

^ ^ ^ We went hunting today... It's 21st Century Cleaning on the right hand side (from Highway), behind
Maharaj Air-Conditioning compound.

Mrs. Khan, the C.E.O is one of the most interesting persons I've spoken to for quite awhile.
Their Service M'gr is coming to see the Steam Cleaner on Thursday to give a quotation.

I'm also getting a quote to dry-ice blast Project #1 - 4wd 1800 GSR (CM5A) shell as well. This will save time.

I won't have to install and test blasting eq'pt immediately, before prepping GSR for DIY body & paint job. I'll install eq'pt after Project #1 is on the road. That way we can start Project #2 - Evo 6RS2 "Restoration & Solodex Upgrade" even sooner.

I'll keep you posted...

UPDATE: The M'gr took the lid as a "test piece".
Quotations for Steam Cleaner... (and GSR shell) will be received on Tuesday (5-03-12) if their process works well...
Last edited by Sanctifier on March 8th, 2012, 6:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2012, 7:38 am

i like how men usin wicked wings as a location yes lol
keep us posted Sancti i have some parts i would be very interested in blasting

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 8th, 2012, 6:46 pm

^ ^ ^ UPDATE: Unfortunately, the final quotation was too high to be a practical alternative for me.
I'll check PanLand tomorrow. Failing which, this starts next week...
Sanctifier wrote:Image "Restore" the Arrow Refrigerated Air Dryer... Image Install to compressor at work...
Image build a temp "Plastic & PVC", cross-flow spray booth...
Image D.I.Y. Pressure-blast the Steam Cleaner frame & tanks...
Image buy a Powder-coating kit, powder & 6,000 watt Drying Lamp...
Image D.I.Y. Powder-coat the Steam Cleaner frame & tanks :!:

CAUTION: DO NOT ATTEMPT TO DO MEDIA-BLASTING WITHOUT ADEQUATE SAFETY GEAR :!:
And DON'T use beach sand/sharp sand to try to save a 'buck'... Silicosis is no joke! (Google it.)
Scarce $$$ stopped me from buying this eq'pt for too long... The time is about right, before I go broke... AGAIN! :roll:
Last edited by Sanctifier on March 8th, 2012, 8:00 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2012, 7:25 pm

pan land! right i know some guy did some springs i couldnt remember where
can you share a ballpark when you say too high?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 8th, 2012, 7:28 pm

^ ^ ^ Out of respect for that company's C.E.O.; just let's say that it was three times more than I could afford.

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2012, 9:46 pm

ok man

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 16th, 2012, 7:31 pm

^ ^ ^ PanLand... 'Nuff said! We carried both the Steam Cleaner & Refrigerated Air Dryer enclosure to PanLand today.

Yup, I got a reasonable quotation from PanLand's C.E.O. (cool fella) for Media-blasting (Black Diamond)
and Powder-coating both units.

We'll see how it goes... pix soon.

btw venum I got a reasonable estimate to media-blast and powder-coat my 18" rims too! 8)
Call for a quote. The saving in time and better long-term durability may be worth it to you.

Postby cinco » March 16th, 2012, 9:21 pm

ok directions to panland and contact # ?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 16th, 2012, 10:32 pm

PanLand... 623-1634... Eastern Main Road & Dorata St... opposite to Angostura.

Ask for Mr. Cooper - GM.

Postby cinco » March 18th, 2012, 12:40 am

ah thanks i work in the vicinity hmm

capstar

Postby capstar » July 10th, 2012, 5:44 pm

aidan

Postby aidan » July 5th, 2019, 1:01 am

Bumping old thread. Any new info on media blasting? Have 2 sets of wheels I'd like to refinish