Braded steel brake lines

cdx2k1

Braded steel brake lines

Postby cdx2k1 » January 30th, 2005, 6:07 pm

Hi all.Would using braded steel brake lines increase braking performance?If so,then, by how much?

Toysport

Postby Toysport » January 30th, 2005, 9:10 pm

By itself no, but add some good brake pads and good fluid, and yes it will definitely improve your braking.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » January 30th, 2005, 10:48 pm

Well if you had soft expanded rubber lines to begin with.. then yes you will feel a difference because the flexing of the line will be gone, and the hydraulic pressure will be sent directly to the caliper or cylinder.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » January 31st, 2005, 8:47 am

How much the lines would cost for a 97 Accent?

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » January 31st, 2005, 1:33 pm

the average cost is about $150.00 for each line

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » January 31st, 2005, 4:54 pm

How many lines?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 31st, 2005, 5:00 pm

4? one to each caliper/drum

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » January 31st, 2005, 5:09 pm

fiveforward wrote:the average cost is about $150.00 for each line

where?

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » January 31st, 2005, 8:07 pm

Rear drums will usually use one rubber line from the body to the axle, then metal lines along the axle to each wheel cylinder. I don't know what the setup is on the accent though.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » January 31st, 2005, 8:14 pm

what type of fitting is it on the ends of the hoses

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » January 31st, 2005, 9:03 pm

^^If that question is directed to me then I don't know :( :oops:

Postby Dave » January 31st, 2005, 9:05 pm

high pressure fitting are used
the brake lines really work well
had them on for like 3yrs and no complaints at all, just praises for saving my neck a few times :lol:

TriniParts.com
Location: As of June 1st 2008, we NO LONGER RETAIL.We will strictly be involved in MARKETING & WHOLESALING

Postby TriniParts.com » January 31st, 2005, 9:35 pm

New GOODRIDGE Stainless Steel Brake Lines. Most applications starting at $820TT. PM me.

CHECK APPLICATION:
http://www.tirerack.com/brakes/goodridge/index.jsp

Mini

Postby Mini » January 31st, 2005, 10:45 pm

^^^ both Dave and I use Goodridge brake lines. I've had them on for the past month or so and him for 3 years.

I am using EBC Greenstuff pads all around, and completely flushed the system and replaced with OEM DOT 3 brake fluid. I am VERY pleased with the braking improvements on the car. No mattter how many times I brake hard, each time the pedal feel is the same. In my mind the braking distance of the car has been shortened also... but there's no way to tell for sure without knowing what it was before.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 1st, 2005, 1:40 am

Isnt dot3 a bit low? I always see performance cars on Dot4 or 5. I dont know the performance differences between them other than higher number represents higher boiling points, yes?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 1st, 2005, 2:26 am

Mini the EK-4 calls for DOT 4 brake fluid... how come you're using DOT 3?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 1st, 2005, 2:29 am

higher number represents higher boiling points, yes

8)

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » February 1st, 2005, 1:46 pm

this place going down gulf side...it think iz IBWIL
will post number later..

but i would recommend that if u doing this go in a scrap yard and get
some old brake lines to do over. Makes life simple

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 1st, 2005, 2:53 pm

Makes Death simple too, is brake lines pal.

Postby Hook » February 1st, 2005, 4:48 pm

^^^so true....bruddaman, I wouldn't look for brake lines in a scrap yard...u might as well find some old brake pads there while u at it and put them on ur ride one time

but the DOT rating on brake fluids have to do with the boiling point ("dry" as in "fresh out of the bottle" and "wet" as in "in use"..there's a percentage of water present "in use" but I cyah remember) as well as the chemical composition of the fluid

DOT 3 fluids are ether based and absorb water as if by magic (I sheit u not folks, by magic..u'd be surprised and scared shitless at the same time) which lowers the boiling point (sometimes by as much as 1/3 for a fluid boiling at ~400F contaminated with water that boils at ~200F)...not fun when yuh comin down Maracas hill!!!!!
let's just call it "water contamination magic" iite

when bled completely regularly (say annually maybe), u keep it performing just right

DOT4 fluids are ether based as well but treated to resist water absorption but once the "water comtamination magic" kicks in the boiling point drops off further and faster than DOT3 fluids do...so u hadda change it a bit more regularly
also the treatment doesn't bode well for seals and flex lines and fittings made for DOT3 fluid so don't use DOT4 if ur manufacturer says to use DOT3

DOT5 fluids are silicon based and resist "water contamination magic" so the boilig point is more stable..but it don't resist compression as well as DOT 3 or DOT4 fluids...thas pretty much all I know about DOT5 fluid

Mini

Postby Mini » February 1st, 2005, 11:18 pm

Mini the EK-4 calls for DOT 4 brake fluid

I read differently.

But back to the SS braided lines... best thing since slice bread

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 1st, 2005, 11:32 pm

Hmm thats strange, my Brake fluid reservoir says to use DOT 4...

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » February 2nd, 2005, 12:26 pm

all they use from the brake lines is the end fittings not the entire thing
That's what the old ones are for especially if you don't want to
park up your car. N e how for me it was more convienent.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 2nd, 2005, 8:35 pm

wat about lo tec in tagarigua?
didnt someone say they make the SS lines for u if u supply them wit your existing brake lines?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » February 3rd, 2005, 12:31 pm

^^^^^^^^any one have more info on this :?:

Jesu

Postby Jesu » March 23rd, 2005, 2:02 am

went there and they tell me they don't do it anymore

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 23rd, 2005, 10:55 am

I got teflon braided brake lines
it cost $624.00 for the set of four at Hi Tech on wrightson rd (just after powergen if heading east) the fellas did it in about 1.5 hrs so it was pretty fast work
but u have to carry all four of your original brake lines so they can reuse the ends i think that is what fivefoward was talkin about carrying old scrapyard lines

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 23rd, 2005, 11:46 am

Can you change the lines yourself if you have some mechanical skill

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » March 23rd, 2005, 12:05 pm

I'd like to tell you about my SS lines that I have on my car and the great improvement...however SOME PERSON ON THIS SITE sticking with regards to getting them for me since end of last year :evil:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 23rd, 2005, 3:48 pm

he ducking chile
quack quack

buh i now seeign i can make the lines in trinidad?? buh that not bad at all :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: