17's on CK4 Lancer

gtiracer

17's on CK4 Lancer

Postby gtiracer » April 26th, 2005, 2:23 pm

really need a mitsubishi forum here.... :D but anyways...
i goin 17's on a lancer (17 x 7 offset 40) an a wonderin what tyre to go wit
the 205/40 and 215/40 fall within the 'safe' diameter difference but i was more lookin at 45 series due to the roads... question is, would 205/45 touch and would i need wheel spacers in dis setup :?:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 26th, 2005, 3:51 pm

205 should be ok. 215 wouild be overkill. You might have to roll your fenders so they won't rub

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » April 26th, 2005, 7:48 pm

yea... i runnin the 205/40 wit no problems

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 27th, 2005, 9:16 am

D 205/45 WILL WORK AS WELL
THE 215/40 WILL WORK

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » April 27th, 2005, 11:51 am

thks fellas.. thes not goin to affect d camber tho :?: :?: and btw, anyone kno where i cud get a good set of lowerin springs an wha price??

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » May 28th, 2005, 4:37 pm

If yuh running 17's , stick to the 205's but check all suspension parts first . Yuh could check automotive art in St James for the lowering springs , not sure of price , but ah hear that they reasonable

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 28th, 2005, 5:55 pm

In my CM5A (CK2) shell 215-45 x 17" rubbed the wheel arches.
If I were you, I'd stick to 205-45 x 17".
Stay away from "40-series x 17" tyres on our roads. I bought 4 when I couldn't get "45's".
Every one had sidewall damage after less than 4 months. One pothole bent a couple rims too. Also the ride was as harsh as hell.
"45's" have a little more compliance, and smoother "ride" with almost the same "turn-in" and adhesion. Also pot-holes have less "bending" effect on my rims.

BTW why 17" with CK4 :?: Won't that give much slower acceleration :?:

My $0.01½¢ :D

GameOver

Postby GameOver » May 28th, 2005, 6:36 pm

automotive art in St James

Moved to El Socorro Rd!!!!!!

dragzster

Postby dragzster » May 28th, 2005, 7:38 pm

from 13" to 17"? i hope u do the "other" necessary applications that would make it a worthy investment. Enjoy ur ride quality after and best of luck with our pot-hole infested roads.

plex

Postby plex » May 29th, 2005, 5:25 am

if you running 40 series just take your time. after all the pots holes is something to watch out for..

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » May 29th, 2005, 10:03 am

i running 205/40/17 on my car with 7.5" wide rims no problems
just make sure the rim has an offset between 38-40

i also have installed b&g springs which i aquired from mr. fixables (622-4220 / 684-6683)

remember with plus sizing yuh rims its additional strain on your brakes so your stopping distance will increase, i helped that with upgrading disc pads, installing rear disc brakes, and replacing the rubber brake lines with stainless steel braded lines

Jian

Postby Jian » May 29th, 2005, 9:12 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:just make sure the rim has an offset between 38-40

Would an offset of 35 work on a 7" wide rim?

Also, what you mean by upgrading Disc Pads? What Disc Pads are you using now? I use the Daishin on my Lancer and I startin to think Daishit :evil:

plex

Postby plex » May 29th, 2005, 9:43 pm

Jian, what is your offset for your car? it is important to get the correct rim with the right offset.

my car offset is 15-20mm. 8)

dragzster

Postby dragzster » May 30th, 2005, 12:35 am

Also, what you mean by upgrading Disc Pads? What Disc Pads are you using now? I use the Daishin on my Lancer and I startin to think Daishit

you are correct when you say Daishit. Upgrade to better performing pads rather than the stock oem pads. Get EBC, they produce more consistent fade resistant stops than normal oems but putting 17s on a normal ck4 lancer means a 4" difference and i doubt by simply upgrading to EBC pads the pressure would be resolved. He may need rear discs also. gtiracer can get the rear disc setup found on those roro mivec lancers.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 30th, 2005, 2:17 pm

17's on a lancer? Hmm... Oh well! To each his own...

Remember as well: the unsprung weight of your car increases a bit with bigger wheels and tyres. That's why braking becomes a problem...

Also, see the wheel size calculator (located on this forum) to help you as well...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... e05472aab0

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » May 30th, 2005, 3:27 pm

my bad ppl, but thanks still...
it is actually a RORO CK4 Mivec whose original wheels are 195/55 15... i do intend to go with lowering springs and eventually SS Brake lines as well..

plex

Postby plex » May 30th, 2005, 4:07 pm

gtiracer, all that will work..

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 30th, 2005, 9:47 pm

Does the MIVEC Lancers come with bigger Brake rotors than the regular ones?

Jian

Postby Jian » May 31st, 2005, 12:08 am

bleedingfreak, 17s on a Lancer is da Shiznit. I also waitin on B&G Springs from Mr Fixables (Kirk). That should hopefully improve cornering even more. Went by Garvins Performance Shop last week to see their springs, but like he close till friday this week.

Also the Mivec I think is 4 Wheel Disc Brakes. Not sure if the rotors are bigger themselves.

Also....would'nt putting 17s on a Lancer actually RAISE the height of the car a little?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 31st, 2005, 7:15 am

^^^ Follow the thread!
Check out the tire size calculators available online:
http://www.1010tires.com/TireSizeCalculator.asp
http://www.net-comber.com/tirecalc.html

Jian

Postby Jian » May 31st, 2005, 2:50 pm

^^^ Thanks 8)

I missed that link earlier :oops:

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » June 1st, 2005, 1:01 am

i hear that increasing the size of the rim and tyre setup damages suspension parts like the ends and stuff...what alyuh think?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 1st, 2005, 7:17 am

^^ It can be true... Because of the increased vibration and shock that the parts experience as the ride gets harder...

Just like how you feel the ride is actually harder, the car feels it 10 times worse! :D

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » June 1st, 2005, 11:18 pm

alright cool...i guess i safe with my 14" :mrgreen:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 1:13 pm

^^ I went up one inch to 15" - which is the normal wheel size for the BZ-R Trueno/Levins anyway... :D So I on 195/55 VR 15s

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 2nd, 2005, 4:19 pm

I RUNNING D MIVEC REAR DISC ON MY CAR WITH EBC PADS AND IT STOPS ME WITH MY HEAVY ARSE LEXANI'S AS FOR THE SUSPENSION , WITH PROPER MAINTENANCE U WILL NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEM, I RUNNING 17'S AH LONG WHILE NOW, AND I DO CORNER VERY VERY HARD

plex

Postby plex » June 2nd, 2005, 6:53 pm

Type-Racer wrote:i hear that increasing the size of the rim and tyre setup damages suspension parts like the ends and stuff...what alyuh think?

i am not sure about that, i run 17" on my Pug and so far nothing i have change so far.the only wear tear you may get is if you lower the car and not using the right suspension kit for the car.. But i have to agree when u go with larger and heavier wheels brakes upgrade should be consider, now i am not talking about big brakes kit, just better disc pads, rotors etc..

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 3rd, 2005, 3:06 am

^^ I aint too sure either... it's just that the tyres are the first line when it comes to ride quality, regardless of what suspension u running, etc

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » June 3rd, 2005, 3:13 pm

aight kool 8)