Cam Shaft Position Sensor.

adam_ant_tt

Cam Shaft Position Sensor.

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 8th, 2005, 9:20 pm

i wanna get back a damn carborated engine screw all this sheit

anyway, where can i get one for a lancer 1.6i GLXi engine? (sohc)
d ting gone bad limitin d car at 5500rpm. i swap it with one from a rental car :oops: and it work perfect. now i getting like a random sputter when u try to take off from idle. i guessin is d same sensor....
so where i cud get one an waz d price? d mechanic say is 1700 at diamond :cry:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 9th, 2005, 10:20 am

Breds... Sounding like you haveta go in the bamboo!
And doh buy nuttin by Diamond Motors unless you desperate :D

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 9th, 2005, 4:26 pm

well d one from d rental car workin good :lol: ( :oops: shhhhh! :oops: )

just this lil sputter OCcasionally at take off. i wanna try recalibratin d computer maybe that mite help. if not then off to d bamboo :|

Rx

Postby Rx » May 9th, 2005, 4:26 pm

it's better if you buy this brand new rather than foreign used.......electrical parts are better of new

2 cents 8)

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 9th, 2005, 4:28 pm

^^true. quite true. but uh $1700 :?:

Rx

Postby Rx » May 9th, 2005, 4:35 pm

^^^^^ ah hear yuh :? :? :?

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » May 11th, 2005, 10:54 am

adam..... how did u realize that the cam shaft position sensor bad??
btw...where it located?
i have a similiar problem but it not that bad , but i can tell something not right.

who did the troubleshooting 4 u?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 11th, 2005, 11:49 am

cam shaft position sensor went bad a while ago, i Nut sure how d mechanic found out. i cah remember if it loged an error code. but he never put back the $1700 one, so i took an educated guess as to that was causing my sputter problem.

i go try an take some pics

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » May 12th, 2005, 9:46 am

u guess??
well let me know what went on cuz i may be having a similiar problem... but im guessin is my plug wires.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 12th, 2005, 10:04 am

ok original csps went bad. mechanic found out i doh knwo how. he got a couple thru linx with diamond motors guys, but NOT from the same part of the same engine. apparantly is a common little sensor. so we just try try try till one worked.
Originally we were getting a REEL bad sputter, at all rpm just random. jerked the car bad. so then it work good. when i discover the prob with the mis at 5500rpm, we try all kinda ting. plugs, plug wires, all kinda ting. eventually i remember that the sensor we put is NOT d rite one. swap with a good one and magically problem disappear.

then d engine start sputtering at IDLE alone. he check the boots on the plugs and realise one had a dig and fix it and that clear d prob.

now d car perfect.

tell meh exactly wah happening to your car, an i'd see if i could link it with something i went thru and give u my educated guess.
but i'd tell u from now, check on your plug boots and them gay coil packs.

he told me thermal shock could ah spoil de sensor originally. that could be true cuz back then i used to REEL wash d engine.... hot an all... so dat couldah kill d c.s.p.s.

bless

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » May 12th, 2005, 10:14 am

well there is a lil white spot at the bottum of 1 of my tube from a plug...so i believe current escaping there causing the lil sputter at random...only happening at low rpm. So i need a set to try and see what happens .
hope thats the only problem....so i want to sought that out first.

and the frig up ting is when i payed to run a diagnostic check on the car , it working perfect , no sputterin..so the mechanic can find anything wrong, so he suggest checking the wires and tubes and then i notice.

who's ur mechanic , seeing that he have some experience wit the common prob wit there engines , maybe i can visit him....

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 12th, 2005, 10:27 am

if they scan for a code it will only register one If you see the engine check lite come on. which in my case NEVER happened.

white "spot"? if this is a physical dig in the thing, it may be the problem.

d guy just put some good silicone on it, smoothen it out ('fill' the dig) and let that cure for 10 mins.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 12th, 2005, 10:38 am

jed check the shafts of the wire contacts those things develop hairline cracks from time to time... Also, watch the plug shaft inside, it should carry either a spring contacy or a "U" type contact. sometimes they loose tension. You could probably try to extend the spring or crimp the "U" contact and put a slight bit of grease on the contact and see how it goes.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 12th, 2005, 10:55 am

jed check the shafts of the wire contacts those things develop hairline cracks from time to time...

exactly what happened to mine.

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » May 12th, 2005, 11:57 am

seen.....makes sense i'll try it in my spare time.
btw..mine is the spring , so i'll try extending it and look 4 any fine cracks on the shaft.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 12th, 2005, 11:23 pm

i got a datacable for meh camfone and i'm surprised at d image quality. (for a camfone)
so tomor i'll take some pics of where teh c.s.p.s. is an show yuh :wink:

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 14th, 2005, 1:24 am

got some pics derre of d position of d sensor.:

ah hope yuh understand dhey

daz d 1.6 SOHC injected engine.
i surprised at the pic quality still on my cam fone :twisted:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 15th, 2005, 7:10 am

I remember a friend of mine having a problem with his lancer and it ended up being the car wasn't grounded properly, so it was causing him problems with coilpacks etc. I not saying that is the situation here but could be worth looking into. I think though you should try the coilpacks from another car and see. I somehow don't think the CPS since you replaced it would be the problem any longer

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » May 19th, 2005, 11:46 pm

just askin but did you wash this engine?
if you need that part order it from the states much cheaper.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 20th, 2005, 12:21 am

if who wash what engine? :?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 20th, 2005, 2:07 am

he means if your engine was washed at any point in time and if so the particulars i.e was it running etc. This could have caused(or is causing) a short in your electrical system

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » May 20th, 2005, 6:58 am

ahh ok....

i used to wash it ALOT... but my problem is fixed ( faulty cam shaft position sensor)

d mechanic tell me that they are easily damaged by thermal shock e.g. spraying it down when engine hot. so i a way it kinda related.

I still wash my engine, just not as much, and with more care ( wash it cold :oops: )