vg 30 turbo on a ca18det? makes sense or nonsense

crash dummy

vg 30 turbo on a ca18det? makes sense or nonsense

Postby crash dummy » May 9th, 2005, 8:25 pm

with the compression ratio being 8.5:1 on a ca18det...
will the exhaust gases spool a vg30 turbo effectively or will it start to make power at too late in the rev range?
this turbo on a high compression engine spools quite decent... not shabby at all...
anyone kno approx when this turbo should start to spool? someone told me around 4000 rpm's which is much to late for what i want.. looking for something around 2500-3000 spool for the latest....

or should i just go with the t25 from the SR 20? :?: :( :( :?
or should i try to build a hybrid from the vg? with the ca backing?? so many questions... no answers.... :cry:
ca19 where u?? :(

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 9th, 2005, 8:28 pm

If I not mistaken... VG30 turbo is a T3? Not a bolt-on, the SR T25 is a minor upgrade... if you get a T28 ballbearing from S14, S15 it will be a nice bolt-on upgrade. Of course that may all be hogwash... I not too knowledgable on the topic.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » May 10th, 2005, 1:37 am

yes it is a t3.... the t25 and t28 from the sr are both bolt on upgrades for the CA18DET.... but a manifold can be built for the t3 to work on the ca18.. i am not asking if it is possible.. it is if it makes sense...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 10th, 2005, 10:41 am

i PM'd your answer son

yes it makes sense.. depending on the T3 it will make more power than all the SR T25/28 turbos.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » May 10th, 2005, 10:49 am

CA19 wrote:i PM'd your answer son

Thank u daddy... :lol:
lol.... ey one other q.... any idea around what rpm would it start spooling?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 10th, 2005, 11:25 am

should make full boost by 3500rpm once the turbo is still in good condition

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » May 10th, 2005, 3:00 pm

dummy how much did you pay for the turbo??

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 10th, 2005, 3:55 pm

check this out son

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayI ... gory=33742

upgrade your T3 to a T3/TO4B for 200 $US

and rebuild kits for T3's are easy to get, you could have a nice T3/T04B for about $400 US that can make 400HP (cheaper and better than any T25/T28)

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » May 13th, 2005, 8:58 am

fafrumlosin wrote:dummy how much did you pay for the turbo??

$300... 8)
bess condition... no shaft play....no soot in the pipes etc....
only thing is no warranty... but i not really worried about that...

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » May 13th, 2005, 10:59 am

WEY hoss where boi i lookin for a turbo right now boi...link meh nah

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » May 17th, 2005, 10:11 am

lol.. what kind? pm me nah...