Compressor muckin up!

halfbreed

Compressor muckin up!

Postby halfbreed » May 13th, 2005, 1:36 am

fellas, i havin a lil prob wit keepin de aircon goin. i gone tru two compressors in de last three months, changed condenser, dryer, evaporator with the last compressor change.

i really liked the last one as i was told it was from skyline nah an it used to rell perform, cycled on an off rell quick and wit a quiet "click", not the usual characteristic noise most of the nissan compressors give u.

i wanna know what the deal is, y i have to be changin these things so often an how can i avoid dis.

A31 cefiro

Iceman

Postby Iceman » May 13th, 2005, 7:28 am

Let me see if I can shed some light. Check:-

1. Wiring
2. Fans
3. Fuse
4. Alternator

One of these things either not working or working intermittently and causing extra strain on d compressor. Hope this helps.

Postby Hook » May 13th, 2005, 8:44 am

also if ur belt is tensioned too tight compressor bearings could take some licks

not adding enough oil can cost u ur compressor as well

when dem fellas installing, make sure dey put enough oil in de system (yes an a/c system uses oil AND gas in the lines..it's a special oil that's made to be innert to the refrigerant) the oil circulates with the gas and lubricates compressor and expansion valve...just to add to Iceman's checklist there

Iceman

Postby Iceman » May 18th, 2005, 11:12 am

:puppydogeyes: Now my compressor gone. WTF. :cry:

Update, actually one of the fans was not performing as it should, so the compressor was not working. Replaced the fan and service. Ah celebrating.
Last edited by Iceman on May 25th, 2005, 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » May 19th, 2005, 12:58 am

*Hook knocks on wood*

Postby Maserati » May 20th, 2005, 11:59 pm

how much a new compressor is go for?

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » May 22nd, 2005, 5:40 pm

a new compressor, ah doh know but in de bamboo is about $300. to $350 for mine which is an RB20 comp.

i checked everything an i prob just bad lucky with these fuggin foreign used krap. got navin to exchange one for me that i had bought recently from him an its performing real good. cold like ah Biatch in de firo now. :twisted: