White Smoking During Driving

TeamH2O

White Smoking During Driving

Postby TeamH2O » May 15th, 2005, 7:00 pm

What causes this? during driving, you see white smoke when you let off the gas pedal only. no signs of down performance tho, also its a turbo motor....no not mines

Computerman

Postby Computerman » May 15th, 2005, 7:21 pm

Did they have any additive or cleaner in the system? I know some ppl put 'Barrs' in the fueltank and that is non-combustable....exits the system as whiteish smoke. Probably some kinda oil getting into the system.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » May 15th, 2005, 7:34 pm

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » May 16th, 2005, 7:23 am

either uh engine burning oil or the seals in uh turbo shot...more or less is turbo seals

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 16th, 2005, 8:03 am

looks like turbo seal, but they say a PCV pipe might cause it?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 16th, 2005, 8:44 am

Isn't blue smoke suppose to be oil? I think the the coolant may be mixing somewhere.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 16th, 2005, 10:22 am

white smoke is blown headgasket,

TK!

Postby TK! » May 16th, 2005, 11:15 am

if is turbo seal u'll smell the oil burning

Postby janfar » May 16th, 2005, 12:23 pm

i had that already, get ready for this, a seal in my brake booster gone and every few miles a heavy cloud of white stiffeling smoke was emmitted from my exhaust. dont know how that could have happened.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 16th, 2005, 1:30 pm

well the temperatures are normal, no sign of overheating, coolant same as before, you can smell oil a little i think

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 17th, 2005, 7:40 am

*~TeamH2O~*, that really sounding like head gasket... That's oil burning... especially when you let go of the pedal? Went thru dat already... :shock:
Man that bringing back painful memories of the Lancer...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 17th, 2005, 9:09 am

damn, so fast a gasket would go? that gasket is new from toyota only like a month old total, i doubt its the gasket, turbo seals are them most likely cuz they are turbos that came with the engine, and tey never changed

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 17th, 2005, 9:10 am

*~TeamH2O~* wrote:well the temperatures are normal, no sign of overheating, coolant same as before, you can smell oil a little i think

Would'nt your engine have to overheat sufficiently for the headgasket to blow first?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 17th, 2005, 9:42 am

yea, but the engine temperatures always remained normal ever since new head gasket, so i dont think its that, definately turbo seals

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 18th, 2005, 1:47 pm

thought this want your car???

but anywho,,, if it is the turbo oil seals, it would be BIG clouds of smoke, not a little puff puff in time wiht the motor idleing,

i would take my car by a mechanic to get it compression tested and do a leak down test... that will tell you if it si rings. valve seals, or headgasket

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 18th, 2005, 2:29 pm

everything fixed, no more white smoke, did a long drive as well, no white smoke, drove it a lil hard, no white smoke, engine temperatures normal, idles smooooth....

ME LIKEY LOL(not my cressida,another car lol)

Xman

Postby Xman » May 18th, 2005, 3:56 pm

jus so jus so it fix or yuh do something???

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 18th, 2005, 6:04 pm

went by mechanic of course, i let the pro sort me out :)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 19th, 2005, 7:21 pm

so wtf was the problem man Team.....yuh wah we geh lorse like you oh what??? lol

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 19th, 2005, 10:51 pm

the air filter oil cleaner, my lil cuz just paste it on the oil breather just so which he not supposed to do, and when i seeing white smoke, i was like wha the firetruck, he say he clean the oil breather, i did'nt no, mechanic say who the ass paste all this oil in it without cleaning it??d oil leak into the engine and was burning off, cuz it was rel thin

honda4life

Postby honda4life » May 19th, 2005, 11:03 pm

damn dat was ah real mess
thank God it clear up

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 20th, 2005, 9:59 am

car wukkin even better for some reason LOL, who buying me car go be amazed when they get a test drive :twisted:

hehh

Postby hehh » May 21st, 2005, 10:09 pm

if anybody still on the white smoke talk, i get white smoke on some mornings when i now startin up for d day, mechanic say that woulda stop after i service it but i still gettin it off and on, any ideas on what to do or what it could be? and i dont have a turbo so is nothing with that

Computerman

Postby Computerman » May 22nd, 2005, 8:50 am

hehh I get the same thing, but not only on mornings. It happens every single time I start the car, even if the engine is warm. I suspect that it's just the rings need changing and I know that I'm burning oil (pressure tested) in two cylinders. But I don't see smoke when the car is moving only when I start.

If I cannot get the original complete short-block for the car I'll be hunting for a new (foreign used) engine & trannie. :(

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 22nd, 2005, 2:30 pm

white smoke upon start up ought to be normal.....I believe it to be whatever water were to condense within the exhaust piping from the previous run burning off......I am however subject to correction!

hehh

Postby hehh » May 22nd, 2005, 9:45 pm

thanks a lot... somehow i prefer ~˜VëgŲ˜~'s idea cuz that soundin a lot easier on my pocket!