Engine damper review.

ZORT

Engine damper review.

Postby ZORT » May 26th, 2005, 6:13 pm

What are you thought on the engine dampers. We been seeing them in a lot of magazines. Acts like a little shock between your engine and the chassis.

"The high quality WEAPON*R Engine Damper mounts in between your vehicle's engine block and firewall to effectively control horsepower and torque. Keep your motor supported as you slam through those gears while adding a nice show piece under the hood. Creates less stress to engine mounts, giving you more power to the wheel!"

What are you thoughts comments.

zort

Postby De Dragon » May 26th, 2005, 10:16 pm

Sounds like a good idea especially for rotaries cuz a basic principle of machinery is to have them run with as little axial and radial movement as possible. These movements cause vibration which gradually causes excess wear on your moving parts.

dry

Postby dry » May 26th, 2005, 10:42 pm

works very well, saves engine mounts. get it.

Postby Maserati » May 26th, 2005, 11:42 pm

umm n e pics? i have no idea how they look like

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 27th, 2005, 11:17 am

woulkd this make a difference on a stock car?

ZORT

Postby ZORT » May 27th, 2005, 2:01 pm

works very well, saves engine mounts. get it.

Dry tell me you have one. ?

dry

Postby dry » May 27th, 2005, 2:20 pm

ZORT wrote:Dry tell me you have one. ?

yup. had one quite a while now... more than a year.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 27th, 2005, 2:51 pm

how much that might cost? for same application, s13/sr20det

Raziel

Postby Raziel » May 31st, 2005, 9:40 am

*~TeamH2O~* wrote:how much that might cost? for same application, s13/sr20det

They typically are about US$80 ... check ebay

allan

Postby allan » June 4th, 2005, 5:40 pm

are those for only rear wheel drive vehicles

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 4th, 2005, 8:12 pm

that looks like a small shock, just like on a piece of meh mother exercise equipment, well look at trouble now :twisted: :twisted:

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » June 5th, 2005, 1:12 pm

Dry, does this transfer vibration to the chassis (like stiffer mounts), or does it tend toward absorbing the vibe entirely.

ZORT

Postby ZORT » June 6th, 2005, 5:40 pm

My guess it would absrobe the vibration hence the shock. So based on that you may need two for each side IMO or at least on the transmission side. Most of the one i am seeing are for the timing cover side.

zort

dry

Postby dry » June 6th, 2005, 5:46 pm

You only need one side. The inside absorbs both push and pull motions.

it's like this inside the tube:

O-[:::|:::====]-----\\

on the inside, from left "[" to right "]", there's a rubber bushing, a washer, another rubber bushing, and a teflon bushing to fill up the rest of the cylinder.

As the engine rocks, the washer, connected to the shaft, pushes or pulls on the rubber bushing on either side, and prevents further motion.

Depending on how you adjust it (the pre-loading), you can get a little extra vibration. You can adjust it so there's no vibration, but you might get a little extra play before it actually stops the engine rocking.
Last edited by dry on June 6th, 2005, 5:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

dry

Postby dry » June 6th, 2005, 5:49 pm

BTW, it works on FWD or RWD applications. All you need is a place to brace one end of the damper (on the chassis) and another to bolt on to the engine. It should ideally be between the direction of motion of the engine and the chassis, but you can make up a bracket and have it on the side.

It doesn't matter what side you put it on, because you get both pushing and pulling motions covered equally.

ZORT

Postby ZORT » June 6th, 2005, 5:57 pm

cool ting man.

Postby X2 » June 18th, 2005, 3:06 pm

Good readin !

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 18th, 2005, 3:20 pm

Ahhhhh good info there buddysah

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » June 18th, 2005, 8:38 pm

where can I locate this in trini. Need 1 urgently.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » June 19th, 2005, 9:54 pm

bump

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 19th, 2005, 10:11 pm

i hav the weapon r one....
seems to work well...cant go wrong considering the cost