Lancer advice

DreadNaught

Lancer advice

Postby DreadNaught » May 27th, 2005, 11:21 am

I have a Lancer (CK2) the windows are wind-up windows but i want to put in some power windows.
Anybody have any advice as in where to go?
how much it will cost?
will de doors themself have to change?
Any info that will help at all lemme know nah

Oh yeah and how much it will cost to change the engine from a 1.3 to a 1.6 or something..

ah lil clueless here.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 27th, 2005, 1:47 pm

sell d car an buy ah nex one...might be easier ...but if you dont want to go that way, yuh may have to buy 4 doors=$1600.00 ish and an engine yuh talking computer harness etc. the hole ting go run yuh bout ah 5 or 6 gran!
I would go with 1st option :)

venum

Postby venum » May 27th, 2005, 3:15 pm

selling the car to buy a next one not sounding like a bad choice.

I have a 1999 CK2 roro Lancer myself.

1. To change the windows to power windows:

The doors should be able to fit the power winders without having to change the door itself.

To get the actuators alone you might encounter some difficulty, so you might end up having to buy 4 new doors. Dunno where you can get the actuators.

Then you have to consider the wiring.
I am not sure whether your car has the wiring already installed or if you have to put it in yourself. Some Japanese cars have the wires already installed even if they are not used.

Then you have to power the actuators. Consider this cuz it would have implications on several things such as your battery and alternator, you might have to change your battery, esp since your engine is a 1.3. Those power windows will require mre power from your car now.

2. Changing the engine to a 1.6

You can get a engine for a decent price like redsleeper mentioned.

Consider if you want a MIVEC engine, whether your transmission will handle it. You might want to change the tranny too.

If not a MIVEC then a normal 1.5L 4G15 (DOHC) 16V CK2 engine might be a good, or a 1.6L 4G92 (SOHC) 16V CK4 engine option might be cool.

the local CK4's came with the 4G92.

hope this was of help.

fire_bol2

Postby fire_bol2 » May 27th, 2005, 3:27 pm

nice advice

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 31st, 2005, 8:15 am

plenty advice.....your choice!All depends on the $$$$$$$ flow! 8)