Tire problems

mleewen

Tire problems

Postby mleewen » June 1st, 2005, 4:35 pm

Fellas i change rim size from 13s to 15s running 205/50/15 on a ae 110 corolla but the back touching with one person (no heavy weight).what causing that springs or what.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 1st, 2005, 5:07 pm

tyres too wide

mleewen

Postby mleewen » June 1st, 2005, 5:19 pm

a partner running the same for 3 yrs and no problem,but it only touching on one side

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » June 1st, 2005, 5:32 pm

same thing wit my bredren civic it only touching on one side
had to change some things on the back suspension i dunno the names. trailer arm something??

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 1st, 2005, 6:49 pm

one side could be a couple factors...anything from the tread on the tyres to the width, to the status of the shock absorber on the bad side, to the spring, to even how thecar is aligned. I was using 205 -50 R15 tyres and had rubbing (considering my shocks are bad and the left side worse) Rolled the fenders a bit....helped but still had rub. You should try experimenting with different sizes and see the result. I went to a 195 50 R15 and so far had no rubbing....also you may want to put some form of spring load rubbers on the side that's bad. This will help keep the spring from compressing too much.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 1st, 2005, 6:57 pm

J-MISHI-R,

I hear about "rolling the fenders" What is this exactly?

mleewen

Postby mleewen » June 1st, 2005, 6:58 pm

i install spring load rubbers so far no rubbing at all ,tires is brand new.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 1st, 2005, 7:17 pm

Corollaman wrote:J-MISHI-R,

I hear about "rolling the fenders" What is this exactly?

Corrolaman,

Most, if not all cars have a lip under the fenders, especially the rear. Unfortunately at the end of the day, we don't always use the stock tyre size (due to bigger rims, better traction etc.) so you end up with the tryes rubbing the fender ...most times the lip is the problem.

Rolling the fenders is simply either using some sort of lever to raise the lip into the fender so there's more space between the tyre and the fender wall.

Now the most basic method is to take a large pipe (or anything big and round) and fitting it between the lip and thewheel and using the tyre as leverage raise the lip. the car must be rolled back and forth to achieve this. Unfortunately paint can be damaged in this process so be careful. rolling also applies to someone cutting the lip off for extra clearance

plex

Postby plex » June 1st, 2005, 7:19 pm

try a different tire size, the width is what causing the problem..try 195/55/15..not sure if you could get 195/50/15..

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » June 1st, 2005, 9:11 pm

yup, u can get the 195/50's, they prob not as popular as the 205/50s but they are there. 8)

mleewen

Postby mleewen » June 2nd, 2005, 6:25 am

i will try that

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 2nd, 2005, 6:28 am

J-MISHI-R,

Thanks for the info there man.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 8:08 am

And we say it again... check out the tyre size calculators BEFORE changing your tyre and wheel sizes :roll:

But your 110 Corolla should not be rubbing eh! Have your suspension checked! Cause it will lead to more serious problems... Just my $0.02 :?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 2nd, 2005, 8:58 am

Other variables such as the offset of the wheel will also have an effect.
All that should be checked

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 9:43 am

^^ Good advice Jimbo... I think it is a suspension problem cause it only one one side? Or is it on the side that a person is sitting?
More info required :)

mleewen

Postby mleewen » June 2nd, 2005, 12:02 pm

It is just that side,could weak springs cause that

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 1:15 pm

plex306 wrote:try a different tire size, the width is what causing the problem..try 195/55/15..not sure if you could get 195/50/15..

U can get 195/50 15 series tyres from that expensive place in St. James... opposite the barracks. :D
But I sure Jack's have too.. and definitely Mileage Mack!

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 5th, 2005, 2:38 pm

y only on one side though

plex

Postby plex » June 5th, 2005, 3:56 pm

honda4life, this seems to be a common problem when go with larger wheels..

mleewen

Postby mleewen » June 5th, 2005, 8:04 pm

so what causes that??

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 5th, 2005, 9:13 pm

plex so only one side is affected?
i tawt the car is balanced hence both sides will be affected?

plex

Postby plex » June 6th, 2005, 6:32 pm

honda4life, well i not sure..but i known people who had this problem and they just left it..i feel this is something should be checked out..