rear light question??

fafrumlosin

rear light question??

Postby fafrumlosin » June 9th, 2005, 11:46 am

ok i am having a debate with a worker about this...if you take the light/lens from a vehicle an put it in...bleach for two weeks will or can it change colour??say turn into a clear light??? i say no he insist otherwise an says he has seen it done :lol: :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 9th, 2005, 12:25 pm

Depending on the lens you can wipe off the colour on the inside with acetone, but no,I don't think bleach would work :lol:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 1:28 pm

bleach weakens the plastic and the sun will finish crack it up ..melt it etc....forget the bleach!

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 9th, 2005, 1:40 pm

fafrumlosin.....u looking for a cheap way to get clear lights? :lol:

Jian

Postby Jian » June 9th, 2005, 2:49 pm

^^^lol, i was actually thinkin off SCRAPIN off de orange in my side indicators to get dem clear :oops:

If dat even possible at least..... bobbys in d bamboo have clear indicators $150 for the pair though. Dont see why i shoudnt be able to change the exiisting orange plastic to white.....

Somebody shed some light here...... is this possible? :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 9th, 2005, 7:10 pm

^ I take it you meen side markers, nah, think you better off buying the clear ones, they also have a better "crystal" look , if you into that.
An alternative is to put full orange indicators, the ones up front. This would be japan spec and also has a tendancy to make the car look newer asthetically. Thas just my opinion.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 8:30 pm

local lancers have clear indicator housing in front.
roro lancers most have it orange.
personally i find it kills from the cars appearance with the orange housing.

plex

Postby plex » June 9th, 2005, 8:45 pm

do not use the bleach u will make matters worse..

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » June 10th, 2005, 6:44 am

honda4life wrote:fafrumlosin.....u looking for a cheap way to get clear lights? :lol:

nah girl i am not of that.... ah just bet the man nah an he keep sayin it can be done so i want to prove him wrong

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 10th, 2005, 11:22 am

or hor
how much u bet btw? :D

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 10th, 2005, 3:34 pm

on most cars the actual plastic is that color so no it will not work, i dont know of any cars that just uses a decal or paint to give the light its color. its like putting a sprite bottle in bleach.... its gonna stay green!

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 11th, 2005, 2:00 am

^^ POINT!

plex

Postby plex » June 11th, 2005, 5:46 am

if you cannot get it clear, why not get them smoked..

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » June 13th, 2005, 7:27 am

honda4life wrote:or hor

girl i actually bet him my car :lol: :lol: but the beyotch back out :lol: :lol: :lol:
this is exactly what i said jim its only common sense

Anton

Postby Anton » June 13th, 2005, 8:08 am

I think they might get brittle and friable if left in the bleach too long.

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 13th, 2005, 11:48 am

fafrumlosin wrote:
honda4life wrote:or hor

girl i actually bet him my car :lol: :lol: but the beyotch back out :lol: :lol: :lol:
this is exactly what i said jim its only common sense

damnnnn
u were really sure of the answer huh

sheenz

Postby sheenz » June 13th, 2005, 2:38 pm

Jimbo wrote:on most cars the actual plastic is that color so no it will not work, i dont know of any cars that just uses a decal or paint to give the light its color. its like putting a sprite bottle in bleach.... its gonna stay green!

true!!!..i found out from someone! :oops:
the plastic might juz satrt to carck up in the sun after..but the colour won't change

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » June 13th, 2005, 3:01 pm

yeah a lil young boy in the office has his eyes on my GSR but as i told him wit the lights it has been tested an failed so i bet him his entire salary for the month against the car :lol: :lol: plus he said some fella up by him with a CIVIC did this well ah laugh even more knowing well that the man pull ah fast one on him it really goes to show you can dazzle people with bul$hit :lol: :lol: :lol:

sheenz

Postby sheenz » June 13th, 2005, 3:43 pm

lol...
yuh take the man salary hoss?
yuh real badd.....
and aint no way that fella wt the civic really get thru wt that..he proberly try thou...
chain up!!!

Elvizz

Postby Elvizz » June 13th, 2005, 3:50 pm

n e body know bout acura el ?????????

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 13th, 2005, 3:53 pm

1.6 EL yes shares the same outer tails as the 96-98 Civic except no yellow indicator section, just clear, it looks very clean when put on the back of a 96-98 civic