how would u rate NP engine oils....

archangel2011

Re: how would u rate NP engine oils....

Postby archangel2011 » November 7th, 2017, 11:11 pm

Np oil is cheaper once u buy by the case. The gas synthetic works out about $560 for 4 gallons and diesel is about $660 for 4 gallons. I have been using the gas 10w30 about on year now in a y11,y12 and nze Corolla. I have used the full synthetic virgin oil because of the price in the 141 Corolla but i can't say yet because it's only a week now the oil was changed.

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » November 7th, 2017, 11:12 pm

Bought the np at kaljam in Monroe road

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 8th, 2017, 6:15 pm

archangel2011 wrote:Bought the np at kaljam in Monroe road

Yeah I checked him out .....I thought it was pretty expensive...always though np oil would have been a lot cheaper....Anyways. .I will go with the virgin brand and give it a go....price is good and it is one of the leading brands in Canada

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » November 8th, 2017, 7:18 pm

Np synthetic 10w30 and 5w40 oil works out about $140 a gallon. The virgin oil is $150 for a 5 liter gallon. They say is an introductory price. The np works good so will use whichever cheaper until the price goes up

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » November 9th, 2017, 8:30 am

archangel2011 wrote:Np synthetic 10w30 and 5w40 oil works out about $140 a gallon. The virgin oil is $150 for a 5 liter gallon. They say is an introductory price. The np works good so will use whichever cheaper until the price goes up

[itisalledged] NP synthetic is rebadged havoline [/itisalledged]

striver

Postby striver » November 9th, 2017, 8:41 am

I use np oil in all of my cars and diesel vehicles

No problems at all

However im very strick on 5000km oil changes

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 9th, 2017, 11:59 pm

archangel2011 wrote:Np synthetic 10w30 and 5w40 oil works out about $140 a gallon. The virgin oil is $150 for a 5 liter gallon. They say is an introductory price. The np works good so will use whichever cheaper until the price goes up

The np diesel ultratec is $250 per gallon...which to me is expensive for np

Postby eliteauto » November 10th, 2017, 4:39 am

Do you diesel oil buyers factor in the TBN number of the oils you're buying as a factor in purchasing?

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 18th, 2017, 3:57 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:

NP Ultra Tec is a full synthetic line of oils, FYI. Their regular Ultra mineral diesel oil costs just over half the price of the Ultra Tec.

Where did you get that price BTW?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 20th, 2017, 2:31 pm

NR8 wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:

NP Ultra Tec is a full synthetic line of oils, FYI. Their regular Ultra mineral diesel oil costs just over half the price of the Ultra Tec.

Where did you get that price BTW?

Munroe Road...@ Kaljams

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 26th, 2017, 12:40 pm

250 for no? Lol I'll pay the extra 35 for name...

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2017, 12:53 pm

racedriverpro wrote:250 for no? Lol I'll pay the extra 35 for name...

how much you normally pay for a case of voss blu?
might be able to link yuh.

trinimark

Postby trinimark » May 10th, 2021, 3:53 pm

NP motor oil got a bad name back in the mid-1980s with it's "Superlube" line of oil. That oil came out around the same time Japanese front-wheel drive cars hit our local market. The engines in those cars had exhaust manifolds fitted to the front, causing hot air to blow onto the engines which ran at higher temperatures. The higher temperatures caused the oil to breakdown and form sludge prematurely. As an apprentice mechanic in those days, I remember tearing down failed engines and seeing oil pump screens clogged with sludge. Other oils available on the local market at the time had similar problems, but not as pronounced as NP's. The Utra line is a big improvement and performs well in my opinion. I used to run Castrol in my Mazda 323, and the engine always had an annoying chatter. When I switched to the NP Ultra, the engine immediately became quieter and ran smoother. The color of the oil was no darker at oil changes than the Castrol either.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 11th, 2021, 10:43 am

My mechanic used to swear by regular Np ultra, once it was changed on time. He used it for years in his vehicles and they never had any kinda sluging issues at all. I haven't used ultra-tec personally, but i would say the Ultra and tec lines should be more than fine once you not trying to run some kinda extended drain interval yes

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 17th, 2021, 12:42 pm

also trinis are very negligent with maintenance.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 17th, 2021, 3:30 pm

In my experience, mechanics who seem to promote certain lubricants/ filter brands/ plugs etc usually stocking it so they push their inventory.

I wanted to try NP stuff for years, but I never had the heart to risk any of my vehicles, even mums old Suzuki. Maybe if ah come across ah old b14 selling with a spare head and block for 5-6k I'll experiment the life outta it...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 18th, 2021, 11:11 am

viedcht wrote:In my experience, mechanics who seem to promote certain lubricants/ filter brands/ plugs etc usually stocking it so they push their inventory.

I wanted to try NP stuff for years, but I never had the heart to risk any of my vehicles, even mums old Suzuki. Maybe if ah come across ah old b14 selling with a spare head and block for 5-6k I'll experiment the life outta it...

Allyuh fellas have some fancy mechanics bai. My mechanics never even have a quart of oil or a filter self to sell, they sending you on the road for everything haha. Real shed and mango tree vibes.

Anyhow, more to the point, once the NP oils have passed the API tests and received ratings then I would have confidence in them for regular oil change intervals
Ultra powermax and powertec are both API SL rated, which is perfect for any vehicle made before 2004 or 2005.

Ultra Tec has a SN rating, which is the same as any other modern high tech synthetic oil.......

The Diesel Tek has a CK-4 rating just like all the big brands etc.

Long time days I used to be oil stush, but now I focus a lot more on the oil change interval and just using any decent rated oil.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 28th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Tough purchase when other engine oils can be had for cheaper; from known brands

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » June 2nd, 2021, 8:58 am

NP fully synthetic oil running 1 month now ..sr20 neo.. engine is quieter and noticeably less heat ..will update when I change in a few months hopefully