Best battery to buy.

Re: Best battery to buy.

Postby rollingstock » November 19th, 2015, 11:29 pm

I have an optima yellow top going in 6 years soon, made in Mexico. Still performing like the day I bought it.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 20th, 2015, 9:56 am

Using a Bosch 3 yrs+ so far no problems

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 21st, 2015, 8:28 pm

rollingstock wrote:I have an optima yellow top going in 6 years soon, made in Mexico. Still performing like the day I bought it.

Thats great. The one I bought lasted abt 18mths. The positive pole was corroded from the inside out until it broke off.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby rollingstock » November 21st, 2015, 9:03 pm

Bootleg?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 21st, 2015, 9:11 pm

rollingstock wrote:Bootleg?

Bought from an electronic store in San Juan.....

shweng

Postby shweng » November 21st, 2015, 9:12 pm

Price?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 22nd, 2015, 9:00 am

$1450 iirc

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » November 25th, 2015, 9:24 am

Bought this on Monday, really really heavy.

Last edited by G-DUB on November 25th, 2015, 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 25th, 2015, 9:48 am

Cause we all know that weight is proportional to quality.

Postby BrotherHood » November 25th, 2015, 10:03 am

G-DUB wrote:Bought this on Monday, really really heavy.

So are you saying that because it is heavy it is really good? Never heard of Alphacell. Give us a review when you can.

Big Z wrote:Cause we all know that weight is proportional to quality.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 25th, 2015, 12:45 pm

rollingstock wrote:Bootleg?

i bought one from a guy who had a full crate behind his house, no packaging noting, just a label and a eco something sticker on it which could be removed. I believe he bought it as a used items to brakes some tax or something

it was selling for 600$ for a yellow top (about 35 remaining) and another chinese branded cell tower battery. Almost 80amps for 800$

that battery going on about 3 cars, 5 years. Daily used, very abused audio system

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » November 25th, 2015, 3:05 pm

I edited my post above, the pic I posted was the 3.5hp battery. The one i bought is the 4.0hp.
I never said it was better, all I said that it was really heavy. I think it weighs abt 75lbs and the specs on it indicates that it is equivalent to two yellow top optimas.
Anyhow I have a question. Why do dry cell batteries weigh more than conventional lead acid batteries?

Postby rollingstock » November 25th, 2015, 3:52 pm

Unicorn fart infused virgin lead.

Those lead don't fall for the just the tip trick at all.

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 26th, 2015, 8:52 am

Battery rated in HP?

Postby MG Man » November 26th, 2015, 9:43 am

G-DUB wrote:I edited my post above, the pic I posted was the 3.5hp battery. The one i bought is the 4.0hp.
I never said it was better, all I said that it was really heavy. I think it weighs abt 75lbs and the specs on it indicates that it is equivalent to two yellow top optimas.
Anyhow I have a question. Why do dry cell batteries weigh more than conventional lead acid batteries?

dry cell???
which battery on the market is dry cell?

Postby BrotherHood » November 26th, 2015, 10:11 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Battery rated in HP?

This.

Additionally and just for the sake of saying it, the XS power is the heaviest battery I have ever had to deal with, and mine is average size. Team2low2Flow can probably give exact weight of the D5100R

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » November 30th, 2015, 3:32 pm

The D5100R weigh 39.6 pounds..

Rated 3100 amps...

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » December 13th, 2015, 11:45 pm

I haven't had to buy a new battery in 3 years. Xtrail GT, Wingroad Rider, AD wagon and Subie Impreza.
Not a cent spent.
Nor will I have to spend on a new battery ever again.

The comment on battery regeneration via these EU awards:
http://www.ipica-project.eu/content/ipi ... s-selected
is about my invention.

I am just looking for a retail partner at this time, my workshop is chock-a-block with regenerated and re-rated auto batteries.

FREE $tY!E

Postby FREE $tY!E » December 14th, 2015, 12:02 am

How long does d mac battery last for

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » December 16th, 2015, 10:01 pm

FREE $tY!E wrote:How long does d mac battery last for

Ok, To run a child's Barbie car...mebbe 10 years.

A motorbike...mebbe 8 years.

Your PC UPS - 10 yrs

A night light...a very, very, very long time.

Does the OP see what's missing in his question :?:

Postby Country_Bookie » December 28th, 2015, 7:34 pm

Anybody buy a mac battery within the last couple years? looking to get one for a nze. how long do these batteries typically last?

Sent from my SM-G530H using Tapatalk

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 29th, 2015, 2:36 am

What can I say. ...Most people who were retailers for mac not carrying it anymore. The problem now is you have to come in for regular checks of your charging system for warranty purposes and since the retailers have dwindled the only people to check it is the dealer next to food basket in chaguanas. If that isn't out of your way you can give them a try. I on the other hand decided not to go through that and just purchased a rocket as they are more within my range.

foxmileroba

Postby foxmileroba » February 28th, 2016, 9:42 am

Thanks for the info

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 13th, 2017, 10:15 am

I saw Pricesmart in POS have Optima red top batteries now. $1,400 or so. Cranking amps was 740.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 26th, 2017, 8:33 am

my experience wih batteries and observation with customers' vehicles:

bosch- lasts 12-15 mths( they used to last 3-4 years when fresh on the market, no longer though)

odyssey- two years solid performance in my car, after which it would discharge if I didnt use the car for two days.

Mac- I recently noticed a customer with crazy sulfation, asked about it and they said that was a new warranty replacement unit for the same problem. First replacement happened after 6 months

optima(yellow)- two separate customers recounted they lasted 6 mths

optima(blue marine)- a friend gave me an old one, I recharged it and it is going on two years in a fielder, in addition to the two years it ran in a ranger.----impressive

XS power- bought one three years ago, installed in my last car, sold it and it is going strong. I interact with the owner often, no issues whatsoever.

powermaster/rocket/turbo- last 18-19mths in customers cars.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » February 26th, 2017, 10:14 am

As we sharing, here's mine:

Optima Red top - 5 yrs and going in the Corolla
Optima yellow top - 4 yrs and going in the Swift. Relocated to trunk though.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » February 26th, 2017, 12:44 pm

XS good have my second after selling the first cuz it couldn't fit in other car. On check up I was told that I need to bring it in for charging as the sitting voltage was a little low. Problem is that I would have to get another battery as I would have to leave the xs for abt three hours. Soooo if anyone have a battery to rent or sell cheap link meh

Postby X_Factor » February 27th, 2017, 6:46 am

older optima batteries were the bomb...i had one that last me almost 8yrs
my thing is now to get the cheapest battery that is availavble
if i get 18mths @ 700.00 and its changed and another 18mths @ 700.00 = 3yrs for 1400.00

Big Z

Postby Big Z » February 27th, 2017, 8:19 am

I just prefer the reliability of not having to worry about if the car will start.
Plus your math is a lil shaky with some batteries lasting in excess of 4 years.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 27th, 2017, 8:48 am

X_Factor wrote:older optima batteries were the bomb...i had one that last me almost 8yrs
my thing is now to get the cheapest battery that is availavble
if i get 18mths @ 700.00 and its changed and another 18mths @ 700.00 = 3yrs for 1400.00

Buy an ACL battery, also cheap. Dies on month 17, get warranty replacement and go another 17+ months.

Maybe 3 years for the same 700. Have jumpstarter in car.

Alternative maths.