Best battery to buy.

MadCrix

Re: Best battery to buy.

Postby MadCrix » August 6th, 2014, 7:33 am

well that can be said for any battery as with the evo, one day it works next day hadda kick start... then again the evo used to use real power just sitting there over night.

running car on idle for 20-30 did not charge back up enough to leave it for an hr. the only way to charge back that car was to give it a drive for about 5 mins then it could stay overnight.

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » August 6th, 2014, 9:19 pm

kamakazi wrote:Thing is you are kinda running a risk of that battery going at the most inopportune time

No more so than average, a used battery that has been accurately rerated actually gives you more info than you have on your 6 month old battery that you use every day.

During the R&D I actually designed and published a DIY e-kit that capacity tests lead acid 12V batts as it was a chore to keep doing it manually. Search for 'capacity' in Club Jameco to have a look at it.

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2014, 7:28 am

bella776 wrote:AC DELCO...trust me

Why?

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » August 13th, 2014, 1:13 am

from Consumer Reports november 2013 issue

battery1.jpg

battery2.jpg

Jet

Postby Jet » August 13th, 2014, 8:04 am

Powet master

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 17th, 2014, 12:41 pm

Ive owned 3 BOSCH batteries 2 of which died within 1 year and 6 months.

The third is just sitting there on a battery tender.

Postby BrotherHood » August 17th, 2014, 11:49 pm

Those Bosch batteries not backed by a three year warranty or sonething long so?
In that case you would have gotten replacements right?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 18th, 2014, 4:54 am

You would think so right?
My grandfather has one in his vehicle. It lasted for a year and 5 months. He did all the Checks everytime by the dealer.

Now they saying he can't get a replacement. Even though he still has one month on the replacement warranty.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 18th, 2014, 1:27 pm

BOSCH is not backed by 3 year warranty. Its 18 months full and the other 18 Pro rated. Pro rated in this case doesn't mean anything really.

Any way to make a long story short I had to pay for all my replacement batteries. Only reason I repurchased was because it saved me a couple hundred, but I eventually had no choice but to spend extra and leave BOSCH alone.

Postby BrotherHood » August 18th, 2014, 2:38 pm

Hmm, well I know what to stay away from.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 18th, 2014, 4:45 pm

Yea coming to think of it before BOSCH I had about 3 Turbo 2001 batteries from automotive components, only difference was that BOSCH is more expensive.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 18th, 2014, 4:47 am

Fyi for the south people, there's a place in duncan village called terminal power which carries mac, atlas, ac delco, etc. Really cool people too.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 8th, 2015, 2:12 am

As the battery in my van slowly dies, i have a question and probably a suggestion.

Now people claim that (insert any battery brand here) battery lasts however long but without knowing the application or what kind of demands are placed on the battery one really has no basis for comparison.

So lets say someone buys a Yuasa battery and it lasts 4.5 yrs just starting a diesel van; while that sounds really good, I have come to realize that the Yuasa battery has 4 extra plates and almost 200CCA more than the battery it replaced that lasted a little more than 3 years. (~950 Cold Cranking amps vs 650 CCA). Based on this observation it is natural to expect that a higher rated battery would last longer just because there is more power on reserve (i'm using the word power loosely here). I expect the same battery to last even longer starting a petrol powered vehicle than it would starting a diesel powered vehicle.

Now this observation is just for simple flooded cell lead acid batteries; I have no idea how a AGM battery or deep cycle battery would work simply starting a vehicle for its entire life.

My question is, what battery would you suggest for a D4D Hilux?

My suggestion would be to qualify your battery recommendation by stating some info about the battery (Brand, Model #, CCA, Ah) in addition to how long it lasted under whatever use/abuse it has sustained through its life (e.g 4 years starting a Diesel pickup with occasional music for river lime)

Now some battery specs are easy to search for online, like the XSpower; in those instances just the brand and model # will be sufficient.

Thanks for taking the time.

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » November 8th, 2015, 11:18 pm

There a few options for the Hilux..namely the XS Power D3400 (1000cca) and the D3100 (1300cca). The D3100 is very powerful and posseses enough reserve to power a 4000 watt audio system as well as starting duties in your vehicle..

This customer (pics below) has a d3100 installed in his hilux about 2.5-3 years now.. They carry 3 years full replacement warranty..and lifespan on them is as much as 8-10years in some cases

I can put you on to the customer directly if you want an unbiased review on the performance of it..
1447039035574.jpg

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 13th, 2015, 3:11 pm

I had a Bosch in a NZE. In the last quarter or so of the 3 years warranty it died. Got $100 off on the new battery.
I also had a Bosch in a diesel Tucson. That died in 14 months. They gave me a discount of $183 on the new battery.
I called Team2lo2flo the other day for pricing. Going try my next battery from him. Threes years full replacement ain't bad.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 13th, 2015, 4:56 pm

Still would recommend XS Power.Who else gives 3 years warranty on batteries locally and what brand?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 13th, 2015, 5:52 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Still would recommend XS Power.Who else gives 3 years warranty on batteries locally and what brand?

Had a track battery die on me recently. I had an XS power on my previous vehicle. It worked well but was too big for current vehicle. I was really stubborn abt taking advice to just buy a cheap battery instead of an XS cuz $2200 was too much to pay for a battery since I cud buy two cheap batteries and get 4yrs out of them. This was compared to XS warranty for only 3yrs.

But something I think ppl fail to realize is the performance and dependability aspect of a higher quality battery. And according to Fawwaz, XS offers a 3yr full replacement. Not a 100 or 183 off a new bat.

At the end of the day.. U get what u pay for.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Lance

Postby Lance » November 13th, 2015, 5:56 pm

I run an xs power battery as well.

Well worth the price given the performance/size + support

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 16th, 2015, 10:29 pm

Optima red top n yellow top r nice too..runnin 3 yellow (1 main, 2 aux) in my vehicle n doin well 2 yrs now!

haydn0

Postby haydn0 » November 16th, 2015, 11:35 pm

I have a Rocket 13 plate MFree that I purchased from L&D going on 3 years and still going strong.. I paid $896.31 + VAT $134.45 = $1,030.76. I'm thinking it should fail anytime now but its not. I would def recommend this brand

Postby black start » November 16th, 2015, 11:50 pm

haydn0 wrote:I have a Rocket 13 plate MFree that I purchased from L&D going on 3 years and still going strong.. I paid $896.31 + VAT $134.45 = $1,030.76. I'm thinking it should fail anytime now but its not. I would def recommend this brand

Yup had one of these for about 3 years and I had gotten it used from a padna...good stuff!

Postby BrotherHood » November 17th, 2015, 12:24 pm

I had that same Rocket from from Laughlin & De Gannes prior to my current XS Power.
The Rocket had 18 months warranty. It died at 19 months. There was another thread around somewhere where other users had similar experiences to me with the Rocket battery.

Seems it has has improved, if some of you getting in excess of two years.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 17th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Yup my rocket died exactly 18 months after purchase not a day more. ..go figure

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » November 17th, 2015, 2:38 pm

BrotherHood wrote:I had that same Rocket from from Laughlin & De Gannes prior to my current XS Power.
The Rocket had 18 months warranty. It died at 19 months. There was another thread around somewhere where other users had similar experiences to me with the Rocket battery.

Hows your XS Power Holding up? I think you have yours now for like 18 months or thereabouts?

Postby BrotherHood » November 18th, 2015, 10:06 am

Team2lo2flo wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:I had that same Rocket from from Laughlin & De Gannes prior to my current XS Power.

Hows your XS Power Holding up? I think you have yours now for like 18 months or thereabouts?

Yes correct. Holding up superbly. Cranks and starts like a brand new battery every time and meets all my power demands without any significant dip in voltage. I have a volt gauge installed in my car so I am always seeing where it is at. I can even switch off and play a one amp 4 channel system for about half hour at moderate volume without having to be worried if I will be able to start.

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » November 19th, 2015, 12:27 am

BrotherHood wrote:
Team2lo2flo wrote:

Yes correct. Holding up superbly. Cranks and starts like a brand new battery every time and meets all my power demands without any significant dip in voltage. I have a volt gauge installed in my car so I am always seeing where it is at. I can even switch off and play a one amp 4 channel system for about half hour at moderate volume without having to be worried if I will be able to start.

I'm glad that you are happy with the product..

blaine

Postby blaine » November 19th, 2015, 1:35 am

Had an Odyssey installed in a nze with an audio system since 2010 and still going strong.... 5 years+!!! This is my recommendation!!

Had an AC Delco before lasted about 2.5 years and died suddenly. Also running an XS power in my other vehicle over a year now with absolutely no problems.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 19th, 2015, 1:37 am

Northstar n odyssey for the win

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 19th, 2015, 6:57 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Optima red top n yellow top r nice too..runnin 3 yellow (1 main, 2 aux) in my vehicle n doin well 2 yrs now!

Ensure they are USA manufactured and not Mexico if going with Optima.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » November 19th, 2015, 11:16 pm

All Optima Batteries are Made in Mexico now ( Since 2010 or so)

The older USA Made optimas were built like tanks..

The newer Mexico made optimas use recycled lead and usually last 18mths- 2 years

You can see the links below for confimation

http://ls1tech.com/forums/racer-s-loung ... exico.html

http://www.thedieselstop.com/forums/f10 ... co-215667/

http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/archive/i ... 41279.html