Free flow intake on a stock 4G15 - after install pics

venum

Free flow intake on a stock 4G15 - after install pics

Postby venum » August 2nd, 2005, 12:00 pm

Tuners,

I have a 4G15 engine, stock all the way.

I am considering installing a free flow intake with a K&N filter.

how much of an improvement on acceleration will this will give me?

Anybody done the same?

what else in addition can I do.
Last edited by venum on September 5th, 2005, 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 2nd, 2005, 12:16 pm

not too much....sounds nice though on acceleration...but performance very marginally better..

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » August 2nd, 2005, 1:05 pm

and better gas mileage :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » August 2nd, 2005, 3:40 pm

ok

so what is the average price I lookin at?

and what should I know in terms of the Short Ram intake eand the filter itself?

do they come together or do I have to buy separately?

venum

Postby venum » August 4th, 2005, 3:05 pm

anybody?

with advice?

Mitsu men help meh out here

Postby Rainman » August 6th, 2005, 8:41 am

in this post i posted a bunch of stuff you will find the info you need

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=58303

venum

Postby venum » August 6th, 2005, 9:46 pm

Yea Rain,

That post real informative

thanx

venum

Postby venum » August 7th, 2005, 4:54 pm

on the topic of air filters,

how well do cone air filters handle dusty air coming into the engine?

by the nature of free flow air filters, they allow more air to enter the engine,

wouldn't the free flow nature of the filters compromise their ability to filter small dust particles?

aren't their pores somewhat larger than conventional air filters?

wouldn't this cause some problems with dust getting inside the cylinders and piston damage?

a bit confused on this aspect.

also, how does the placement of a shield, over the CAI affect performance of the filter\car?

will it help with the dust problem?

help meh out here

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 9th, 2005, 8:36 am

i think you are mixing up free flow concept with the filter's function.

granted that filters allow a better flow of air...they are not necessarily FREE flow. free flow is more about the removal of restrictions allowing air to PASS FREELY through your intake or exhaust systems. this would mean getting a mandrel bent stainless steel intake pipe instead of the rubber/plastic hoses used...removal of a catylitic converter, removal of resonators....larger piping..etc...
the filter is just a small part of a free flow system...

K&N filters allow better air flow as the use a different material other than PAPER used in conventional filters...the meshing also helps trap dust particles. they also recommend that dust in fact lightly coat the filter (to the exterior) to ensure that larger particles do not enter...it is not that the pores are just bigger...its a completely different type of material used to allow the engine to breathe better.
Ever took out a dirty paper filter and really ask yourself how de a$$ air gets to ur engine???

and unless u driving through ur friendly neighbourhood land development site on a dry day and kicking up one setta dust...it is highly unlikely that dust will enter ur engine and cylinder head and pistons etc etc.

placement of a heat shield will not be necessary on a CAI (Cold air intake) system as you have already placed the filter in a lower area of the car to allow cooler air to pass through. if u puttin the shield to prevent minor water splash..no probs..but just dont block the uncoming air path....

and refer to earlier...with ur dust phobia...a CAI system is closer to the road and therefore will get dustier than if it was above in the engine bay...the shield MIGHT protect it somewhat...but wont totally eliminate the possibility.

8)

venum

Postby venum » August 9th, 2005, 12:54 pm

thanx 4 all the info man

that post really cleared up a few things.

guess the only thing left for me to do now is the buy my CAI

:D

venum

Postby venum » August 23rd, 2005, 3:17 pm

Ok guys,

i went down by Imraj the other day to find out bout fabricating the piping

they tell me $350.00 to run the 3" aluminized piping from the throttle body to the point where the filter would be attached, just behind the battery. they would be using rubber\plastic to make the joints.

I find that price too steep

anybody know where else I can get this done for cheaper?

I also saw an Aerospeed intake system @ Quickbits in Valpark Shopping Complex.

the dude in the store told me that it would work on the my (CK2) Lancer.

it was a long intake, curved with a filter on it - $595.00

he indicated that it would be placed from the throttle body and stop just behind the battery.

he had the adapter plate to be used to mount it on the throttle body too

it had an Aerospeed filter on it - the kind with the hoseclamp fastener

it would need a bracket to be made to support the weight

do you know where I can get this done?

is $595.00 a good price for this setup?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » August 23rd, 2005, 6:07 pm

venum,

About 2 months ago I experimented with a Short Ram Intake that I bought from M Rampersad for the 4G15 Engine. The brand name is Simota and it cost about $450. It consisted of a short peice of aluminum tube with a nipple for hose attachment and 2 rubberised 90 degree elbows.A plastic adapter plate with bolts were also supplied. This setup, when offered up, brought the supplied cone filter right behind the battery.

Right now, I luv a quiet car.... I getting old must be!! I was dissappointed at the amount of noise I got when I mash the X!! :shock: Oh yes the throttle improved but U will get some noise!

Needless to say, I returned to stock (doh laugh!) but if U like an aggressive sounding intake...go for it. If U in south check out M Rampersad for it. I was in the Auto village weekend and I think I saw the same setup to.

venum

Postby venum » August 23rd, 2005, 11:35 pm

Rudi,

did u have to make a bracket to support that intake?

the one I saw in Quickbits was indeed long and heavy, prob cuz it was all aluminium pipe - no rubber, it was curved so no 90 degree bends, just two 45 degrees

I interpret that the one you bought from M. Rampersad came with a filter

how did your acceleration improve?

If you not gonna be using the one you bought and you willing I might tkae it off your hands

PM me we go arrange if so

blazing

Postby blazing » August 24th, 2005, 12:22 am

just done expect any magical acceleration gains. its only a CAI,.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 24th, 2005, 8:01 am

Yea, the intake kit came with its own filter and mounting bracket. The bracket was kinda flimsy, I find. It was an L shaped piece of flat iron about 8 inches long with many holes. U might have to get creative on how to use this bracket depending on where the filter falls and what avaliable holes are nearby.

From your description of the aerospeed kit, this Simota kit was definitely lighter, but it does not position the air filter into any incoming airstreams under the hood. Hence I would not call it a true "ram intake" if U buy into the ram effect hype, but it does look better than stock.

I had the kit for only one day so I was able to return it to M Rampersad, with no problems, in exchange for something else. As blazing said, accleration did not improve. Throttle, with no flat spots, did improve. This mod by itself, to me, did not give any impressive gains.

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 8:10 am

no acceleration improvements?

that kinda killing my interest in these intake systems

I might not bother to spend ~$700.00 if I not getting no improvement

Thanx for the info fellas

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 24th, 2005, 8:18 am

it's going to be a good mod once u combine it with other aspects of a free flowing system.

get larger exhaust piping, extractors and the CAI setup, combined with some good plugs, oil, fresh filters (fuel and oil) and injector clean out and im sure the OVERALL effect will be felt...not a throw yuh back in yuh seat kinda effect...but u'll appreciate a 'healthy' sounding and working engine!

CAI by itself will just make the car 'sound' more aggressive and probably give u a lil something up top extra..

on the dyno for me, the K&N (with some heat shield) put on about 10hp extra than when enclosed in the air can (stock). pretty hefty improvement there for just a filter.

8)

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 9:33 am

Mitsu

really?

I not going to re-do the exhaust piping,

I was advised by my mechanic, whose advice I will strictly follw, being the Mitsubishi expert that he is, not to slap in the extractors and piping. he indicated that the Lancer came with good headders

he advised that I would gain top end power from this mod(exhaust) - I am interested in low end power, i.e. is acceleration

I am interested in acceleration cuz I can use it anywhere at any speed as opposed to top end power where I can basically use on the hiway at high speed.

he did advise the free flow intake though

now I know that you are a pretty knowledgeable Mitsubishi man, this said from gr8 advice that you have given me thus far.

the injectors get cleaned when they need it, right now I consider that they are clean, from the way that the car has been performing and gas consumption.

Plugs > V-power racing next change, bkr5e currently

oil > Helix synthetic next change

u said that the CAI gave a 10hp addition on the dyno, how does that 10hp feel when the car is being daily driven on the road? and acceleration ?

Rudman indicated that he did not feel any improvement on the 4G15 engine, which I find kinda strange. I will leave it to the quality of the intke that he bought.

I want to go K&N filter, what about the ram

please advise

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 24th, 2005, 11:51 am

10HP doesnt 'feel' any different to the average user.

if u do a lot of sprint racing (either street or wallerz) u'll notice a slight difference in ur engine's 'strength'. It will generally feel a little more alive.

a point to note is that the CAI will NOT increase ur acceleration and neither will any of the mods listed before. to affect the acceleration directly, u have to interfere with the whole combustion process and the rate at which it occurs.
methods of increasing this include:

1. forced induction (turbo)
2. N2O systems (nitrous oxide)

both these methods will cause the engine process to rapidly increase and will be very noticeable.
additionally, it should be noted that in turbo charged application, the acceleration may not come in before a certain rpm depending on the turbo size.

similarly..in the air filter scenario i gave u...the extra torque and power actually came in at 3500 rpm. (and it wasnt a CAI system. JUST a cone filter)

now granted that ur mechanic is a mitsu specialist etc., it all boils down to what YOU want ur engine to do.
i dont agree fully with ur plans for a low end torque monster and being able to use the power/acceleration any time u want...etc. A low end torque monster requires a much larger engine application and some turbo/nos assistance and can only really be practical for short sprints..

i think what u lookin for is an overall wake up of ur torque curve with a nice mix of low end, progressing into a strong middle and top end output.
i personally find the average n/a mitsus to have strong pull offs, weak mid ranges and sometimes fair/moderate top ends..that is..they pull off nice and strong...get sloppy in the mid range and sometimes (after some minutes on the pedal) inch up on top...

we not talkin here about MIVEC or turbo applications...just ur avg. non-turbo production engine.

another thing u have to consider (i dont kno if u mentioned it)...is if u have an automatic tranny...u are already at a disadvantage (right Dave?? :lol: ).
with a gearbox, u can hold the gear according to ur driving speed/rpm and on demand, jolt the engine into power at any speed (once u in the power band range)

so all in all...without those two previously mentioned methods, ur engine can only go so far..each hp ur add on from filters, mods etc..will only be felt SLIGHTLY and if u are accostomed runnin the engine hard..

8)

oh..and would u rather be able to buss up a guy 3 gears in a race and then he just walks away from u on top end with a slightly 'slower' less modded production car? or let him think he blew u away from get go and just wave to his girlfriend while u cruise/power on by?

u dont have enuff traffic lights and straight stretches in trinidad to prove ur low end power..but u got plenty highway :lol:

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 12:50 pm

Mitsu man

thank you for the advice

I think that I am beginning to get your drift, not sprint :lol:

I understand what u are saying bout the low end speed vs the top end speed.

I have no intentions to use this mod for any sort of street racing, but an occasional hiway sprint, whether it be solo or with company is in my books.

so all those high end mods (turbo, NOS) that u described are completely out of the scope of the Lancer

I think I really did not explain what I want, I want some more zest in my engine

I agree with you about the good low end power, weak mid band power and good top end power that is characteristic of the Mitsu applications

the Lancer does rip tyre when it accelerating from dead stop sometimes - so it has some good acceleration

I just want a lil more

i think what u lookin for is an overall wake up of ur torque curve with a nice mix of low end, progressing into a strong middle and top end output.

^^^that's about right

so in the long run I am thinking that the filter would make a difference cuz I do drive a lil harder than the average driver when I am by myself > when the gf in the car I does take our precious time.

also the car is a daily driver so fuel consumption would be a factor to consider, which is why I would not mess with the combustion ratios\mix

what about the placement of the filter just behind the battery, how would this affect the performance, since as Rudman said, it is not in any high air flow area?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 24th, 2005, 1:01 pm

^ not necessarily...

behind the battery is fine cuz it acts as a make shift heat shielf. if u notice next to the battery, there is a lil spacing area where u can see the inside of the fender and maybe down to the top the tyre. if u sort of put ducting there u can sort of channel cooler air up to the filter directly.

as for the turbo and nos applications..they are very possible for the lancer engine. i think rory or j-mishi-r can give u the required parts/specs for a converted turbo application. i believe they have some good info as the tolerance levels that engine can take

NOS is also very possible for most EFI engines today with the wet-shot system which automatically mixes the right combination of fuel and NOS into ur engine system and allows it to safely gain great hp levels. based on what u want, it will be perfect for that occasional run on the highway..u just punch it...feel the rush and then return to stock :D

$3500 and up for a complete system and $200-$300 for a bottle refill.

not a bad option to explore..

8)

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 1:34 pm

^^ not a bad option at all

but I will channel that $3.5k into an investment fund

I really not going down that route with the Lancer > simply do not need that much fire on it

so where do you recommend that I check for the intake system and where do you know does do installs, bracket and everything?

Robert does be kinda busy on the days that I am free (sat)

I have meh eye on the Aerospeed from Quickbits, what do you think?

is $595 a deal?

or I might buy it and then let him hook it up for me.

what do you think?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 24th, 2005, 1:42 pm

$3.5k investment fund?? @ what rate? u buying DOW shares or wha...

anyways..i checked imraaj when i wanted to do my FIRST CAI on a 4g13 carb engine. i find the price he's charging u is pretty good.
again...i am not familiar with the 4g15 or 4g9X series engines like urs...but maybe the other guys like Jus4Sho, mitsu crazy and j-mishi-r can let u kno bout the pricing from their experience and so on...

$595 doesnt seem a bad setup even with a filter (i dont think it will be K&N) for that price. i paid about that alone for just the K&N filter for my application. (one big @ss filter dread).

shop around, check the net, check sports comp mags and wait for some more replies here..then make ur decision.

8)

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 1:51 pm

nah hoss the $3.5k going to an existing fund - my evo X purchase fund :wink:

I will vibes these fellas, Mishi, Jus4Sho, Redsleeper, Mitsu Crazy, Vega and the likes

aye hoss thanx 4 all the advice eh

u coming Dex on Sun? ah will vibes yuh man

yuh is a cool scene

ask 4 venum

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 24th, 2005, 2:20 pm

might come out u kno..wha time?

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 2:26 pm

I ent see no time posted just yet

I going 4 the first time, planning on making a fun run

me and the gf will be there

u ever run in Dex? any advice if so?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 24th, 2005, 2:30 pm

there is a lil spacing area where u can see the inside of the fender and maybe down to the top the tyre. if u sort of put ducting there u can sort of channel cooler air up to the filter directly.

I learn something new there, wondered what that cutout was good for.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 24th, 2005, 3:37 pm

its even a better path for a CAI.

my first CAI setup allowed the pipin to pass right thru there and the filter was placed on the bottom fins area of the bumper...it was SWEET..u cud actually see the filter to the front of the bumper and what air flow!!!!

but then i realized trinidad is flood prone.. :lol:

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2005, 3:45 pm

^^^ smart move

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 24th, 2005, 8:30 pm

but then i realized trinidad is flood prone

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! (falls to floor) HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

could always put some pontoons