subzeroracing

Postby subzeroracing » September 1st, 2005, 11:50 am

the number is not for me, its for a pardner

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » September 1st, 2005, 11:57 am

why not Picasso...

did mine bout 3 years ago and it worked well over that time. i think he's good at what he does because he LISTENS to what u want and caters to ur specs. doesnt just drop ur chassis to the pavement without thinkin like other drop shop men!

8)

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » September 1st, 2005, 1:59 pm

i agree. don does good work. what i like is after the first drop, u cud go back how many times u want to lower the car more and more and more all u want for free :D he gives good advice too

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 1st, 2005, 2:10 pm

^^^if allyuh think cutting spring and bad ride and uneven car height good yeh !

but othewise dundee is a kool fella...he is a good sale's man :lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 1st, 2005, 2:28 pm

I did not make the statement to pong the man... I will advised that you buy drop springs and or invest in good shorter shocks if you decide to chop the spring... that heating spring thing is waitsting paper and good manufactured springs

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 1st, 2005, 4:01 pm

Nah I would disagree. I've driven in Exec's car meny times and a couple otherd from drop shop and I find the ride to be quite good. no bouncing, nothing. I believe it's all in how much as well as how you cut the spring and what extra dampers you put in place.

plex

Postby plex » September 1st, 2005, 6:15 pm

i agree with Picasso, buy the right set up...but if the guys at drop shop know what they doing well all is good and fine..

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » September 1st, 2005, 9:13 pm

Nah I would disagree. I've driven in Exec's car meny times and a couple otherd from drop shop and I find the ride to be quite good. no bouncing, nothing. I believe it's all in how much as well as how you cut the spring and what extra dampers you put in place.

they cut my springs too... and my ride is just as lame as it was stock
but now i get less body roll though, cant explain why or how or whatever.. but i just do
my car was lowered by around 2-3 inches, one coil and a little in the front, about 2 coils in the back

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 1st, 2005, 9:29 pm

they did my frien's a32 cefiro by cutting the spring to drop the car about 2 inches and they ended having the back lower than the front and rell bad ride. he had to buy back original springs and re install

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 2nd, 2005, 8:20 am

This choping spring thing doesnt work for all car.. remember the spring rate and the overal shock design may work better with my another man vehicle compared to yours.... I will admit one thing, I chopped my springs under wildness on a friday for my self untill the car was scraping it looked dam good and rode like sheit...but I young and I am stupid, but I learned from it. But if you dont have enough money to buy the performance shocks and springs cut the spring and shorten the shock. It is the safest way you can go if you dont have money to throw away.. Just dont drop it too low cause you need atleast some spring tension for it to work well. Now go DROP IT LIKE ITS HOT :elephant:

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » September 2nd, 2005, 8:58 am

did close to what redsupra did...so its not about just droppin it low.

one coil or two won't REALLY affect ur ride. and the reason for less body roll is the lowered centre of gravity on a whole. u'll be able to take corners harder and faster without worring about too much under/over steer.
and i found the best part about it was i still have a nice even ride..not ROCK HARD sport springs..do u guys have any idea what that can do to ur spine????

additionally, i dont kno of any manufacturer who made coilovers or sport springs for liberos or some CB models like mine.
GSR yes..but whole different suspension.

just have to work with what is available.

8)

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 2nd, 2005, 9:13 am

^^ that is so true, if you cant find lowering springs for your car search in the bamboo and walk with your spring and match it to other springs, just look for something a lil stiffer and cut it to fit your ride hight, now remeber the spring rate with the stiffer spring will be different with your original spring, so you when you put it on the car may not drop to the hight you want it one time. So what you will have to do is cut bolt it up take a spin around the block and if yuh dont like it, pull it back down and cut and try it again... till you are satisfied with the ride hight and the feel of the suspension... it is trial and error but you will get through, I did it when I couldnt get springs for my car. My suspesion came down like 13 times trying different springs untill meh padnah found some tein from japan that work dam well for the wingroad. If anyone wants I will help them locate springs for their suspension project...

Evoloutionized

Postby Evoloutionized » September 3rd, 2005, 6:40 am

HOW MUCH DOES DROP SHOP CHARGE 2 PUT ON DROP SPRINGS

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 3rd, 2005, 8:57 am

^^ Boss that is something you can do your self, it will save you money and you will gane experience by just doing it your self.. Just get the right tools and yuh good to go :|

Xman

Postby Xman » September 3rd, 2005, 2:45 pm

I heard good and bad things bout drop shop....just make sure you around (if yuh could) to see whats going on. Cause I have seen short cuts he has done that don't work out. And I have seen good work.

Rx

Postby Rx » September 3rd, 2005, 6:47 pm

Why would someone CUT their springs?

That was done about 10 years ago...........so much lowering springs, shorter dampers etc. are available now ...

my 2 cents :deadhorse:

assassin

Postby assassin » September 3rd, 2005, 7:47 pm

^^^ about 2 1/2 yrs ago i put 16's on the cressida with 50 series tyres
if u see wheel well on that b!tch :|
what a man supposed to do? i done spend out mih life savings to buy rimz :lol:
i gone and check mih breathren... we cut off like 2 full coils off the springs
(drop shop charging like $500 to do that :lol: )
she sit down real nice... okay ride... a lil stiff, not too bouncy... i could live with that

my only problem came later on when a full coil broke off from the front spring :shock:
we had to cut the rest to level it off
that was real pressure

plex

Postby plex » September 3rd, 2005, 8:50 pm

i guess it maybe hard to find lowering springs for some cars..but is there any thing like unverisal springs..just asking :?:

Rx

Postby Rx » September 4th, 2005, 7:09 am

assassin wrote:^^^ about 2 1/2 yrs ago i put 16's on the cressida with 50 series tyres
if u see wheel well on that b!tch :|
what a man supposed to do? i done spend out mih life savings to buy rimz :lol:
i gone and check mih breathren... we cut off like 2 full coils off the springs
(drop shop charging like $500 to do that :lol: )
she sit down real nice... okay ride... a lil stiff, not too bouncy... i could live with that

my only problem came later on when a full coil broke off from the front spring :shock:
we had to cut the rest to level it off
that was real pressure

talking about wheel arch spaces............ none is more ridiculous than the B14 :evil: straight from N&M .....is wheel well space for days !!!

:arrow: there are shops out there that can lower a vehicle SAFELY without cutting springs......

:arrow: re threading the top of shocks/ dampers will work
:arrow: lowering the "cup" where the springs seat -perfect ride !
:arrow: adjusting the bracket where the shocks are bolted on to the vehicle works like a charm!

again.my 2 cents 8)

Evoloutionized

Postby Evoloutionized » September 4th, 2005, 2:29 pm

if you want the front of the car lower then the back of the car but the springs only allow it 2 be on hight st8 through how can this be don?

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » September 4th, 2005, 6:13 pm

Evoloutionized wrote:if you want the front of the car lower then the back of the car but the springs only allow it 2 be on hight st8 through how can this be don?

lowering the "cup" where the springs seat -perfect ride !
as RX said...safest one i think...onc eu have a good man to weld it back on...

Rx

Postby Rx » September 4th, 2005, 6:34 pm

^^^ yup had it done in my B210 .....worked great !!!!

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » September 4th, 2005, 8:52 pm

^ i was considering that, but my back springs dont work like that..

the shock doesnt hole the spring in place, the spring rests on the back 'axle?' and the shock is some distance away from it

i say 'rests' because if u jack up the car with lowered springs in the back and stock shocks u can just lift out the spring!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 5th, 2005, 9:50 am

^^ you should have take a ride in my car dude.. I dropped it and it stays firm on the road.. all I did was put lower springs..ask Kaycee151 how I hug them corners :twisted: going going gone :scatter:

Rx

Postby Rx » September 5th, 2005, 5:15 pm

redsupra101 wrote:^ i was considering that, but my back springs dont work like that..

the shock doesnt hole the spring in place, the spring rests on the back 'axle?' and the shock is some distance away from it

i say 'rests' because if u jack up the car with lowered springs in the back and stock shocks u can just lift out the spring!

hell .......the Diahatsu Charmant comes like that !!! :?

assassin

Postby assassin » September 5th, 2005, 10:09 pm

if u lower the cup, wouldn't it prevent u from running plus-size rims and tyres?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 6th, 2005, 8:58 am

lowering the "cup" where the springs seat -perfect ride !
as RX said...safest one i think...onc eu have a good man to weld it back on...

Dat is maddness and I eh doing that one..I dont trust any welding other than factory welding dude :|