Re: Offical Auto Technican & Mechanics Forum

Postby Morpheus » January 4th, 2017, 2:16 pm

^^That's D'Abadie

Re: RE: Re: Offical Auto Technican & Mechanics Forum

Postby Ted_v2 » January 6th, 2017, 10:10 pm

Sundar wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:Nesc has a basic auto electrical program, good starting point imo. But unless you are highly skilled in diagnostic work auto electrical eh making sense.

Take a look at South Main Auto channel on YouTube. They do some in depth diagnostic work. Not just change sensors and clear check engine lights

You went there?

Yeah, i did the auto electrical program and the automotive service tech , the electrical is NESC based, but the AST program is based from Red Deer Collage In Alberta, Red Seal given upon completion.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 6th, 2017, 10:43 pm

I was in cycle 9 ast I just did til level two

whizzard

Postby whizzard » January 27th, 2017, 12:32 pm

Any recommended ones in the East/West, preferably with a lift and press.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 27th, 2017, 1:01 pm

Auto eight. Aranguez main road..what u want done?

whizzard

Postby whizzard » January 27th, 2017, 2:25 pm

I think wheel bearings need to change, have the suspension and AC checked, change mounts on another vehicle.

Patelle

Postby Patelle » January 30th, 2017, 6:34 pm

Need a competent mechanic for my Suzuki Swift...preferably in the Port-of-Spain Area...Any suggestions.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 30th, 2017, 11:27 pm

Patelle wrote:Need a competent mechanic for my Suzuki Swift...preferably in the Port-of-Spain Area...Any suggestions.

I know you said PoS but Auto Technica Workshop in Princes Town is definitely worth the drive. These guys are Suzuki specialists. PM Big Z on the forum, he's the man in charge there. https://www.facebook.com/AutoTechnicaWorkshop/
Paging Big Z.
Big Z wrote:

platinumworm2

Postby platinumworm2 » February 6th, 2017, 8:31 pm

Any problems with your mitsubishi GDI fuel pump call this fella he will sort u out try it before spending all tha money buyin a new pump. 7468222

aesstt

Postby aesstt » March 31st, 2017, 1:33 am

Guys just some quick advice.

When going to your auto technician, when they plug in their scan tool, its not just about reading a DTC - Diagnostic Trouble Code. There is more to it, so when you see shops advertising $50 - $200 for a diagnostic service be weary of these shops.

Firstly - Diagnostics means troubleshooting
Comparison, with the human body, when you have health issues, the doctor generally takes your temperature, heart beat readings etc.
Then he goes on to tell you, you have to get a blood test, ECG test, Xray etc. :shock:

Cars are similar, so when a diagnostic is done a DTC may be present or in the history, but that doesn't mean, its your problem. :shock:

Secondly - These professional tools, consist of live data readings for what sensors your cars are equipped with.
"Oil pressure sensor, fuel pressure sensors, Mass absolute Pressure, oxygen sensor ..... and the list goes on based on the manufacturer, model and year of vehicle.
Key note, if your tech, doesn't know what value the electronic components should be reading at different operations of the vehicle chances are he would not look in that section of the tool. :x

Thirdly - Depending on what electronic components are in your vehicle the professional tools will be able to carry out certain test on your vehicle. (Cylinder Cut out test, Solenoid actuator test... etc)

Fourthly - If your tech, doesn't have the service manuals for the vehicle he is working on, chances are they are going to be going through a trial and error process on your vehicle where you will have to fit the bill.

Last but not least, if your techs don't know how the system operates, how the hell are they going to fix it.

We don't know everything in this world, but the smart people work smart, and upgrade their skills, tools and knowledge, via creditable sources. Service Manuals, Training Programs, Seminars etc, just like your doctor didn't know about EBOLA, SARS but they were all educated via knowledgeable materials and workshops.

Key Note chances are your vehicle will have an electronic problem before you have a mechanical problem, as these sensors are their to alert you when a system is not functioning properly "LOW OIL PRESSURE / LOW COOLANT LEVEL" the engine would not start, as it doesn't want you to start the engine to destroy it

Food for thought cars, trucks, bikes, equipment and marine owners, as we know from year 2000 on wards almost all of these units consist of electronics, and they just keep getting more and more sophisticated

Its your choice who you want to visit to repair your assets! :lol:

Enjoy!

Hybrid89

Postby Hybrid89 » April 7th, 2017, 2:25 pm

This will be some what off topic but I just moved here four months ago from United state. I am a certified Honda technician and was wondering if anyone on this forum knows any shops looking for a good tech. Any feedback will help.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 10th, 2017, 2:28 pm

Shops? Check top gear and most bigger garages. Smaller shops won't value you at all. Check out the dealer. They pay about 4800 more or less

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 11th, 2017, 7:44 am

Hmmm, if I could afford to pay a worker, I'd definitely be interested in hiring. My operation is too small atm.

Ramai

Postby Ramai » December 15th, 2017, 10:04 pm

Good day R.Ramai Servicing Centre
https://www.facebook.com/rramaiservicingcentre/
490-3899
ASE certified

Postby Ted_v2 » December 16th, 2017, 1:06 pm

Got a job at a dealership. Didn't take it however. 3500 they starting with. Need to walk with your own hand tools.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 16th, 2017, 1:12 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Got a job at a dealership. Didn't take it however. 3500 they starting with. Need to walk with your own hand tools.
They still on 2001 salaries?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 16th, 2017, 1:13 pm

Have to be, I was supposed to go pos for a couple weeks of training too. Half of my pay woulda be for transport

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby black start » December 16th, 2017, 1:57 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Got a job at a dealership. Didn't take it however. 3500 they starting with. Need to walk with your own hand tools.

3500? Damn....might as well be picking cotton in the fields...

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 18th, 2017, 9:02 pm

So serious question, what is an acceptable salary for someone doing basic/mid level work ie. servicing, suspension, minor engine work (mounts, starter, alternator etc)

Not a 30 year veteran who can rebuild engines with they eyes closed and two foot tied, level salary.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 19th, 2017, 12:52 pm

I would say 25$ to 30$ a hour..

Postby Ted_v2 » December 23rd, 2017, 2:19 pm

I work for basically that pay grade, I do everything from tires to suspension, service ect small electrical. Diagnostic work minor fab stuff.

I'm at the start of my career, slowly gaining skills.

Postby skylinechild » December 26th, 2017, 8:48 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:I work for basically that pay grade, I do everything from tires to suspension, service ect small electrical. Diagnostic work minor fab stuff.

I'm at the start of my career, slowly gaining skills.

so i coulda check u to hook up a booster static onto my car then.??? no i not buyin a f used starter... :lol:

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » January 4th, 2018, 9:02 am

Ted that's why we only fix performance cars and make sure that the owners know exactly how much they will be spending up front.

Postby skylinechild » January 11th, 2018, 11:55 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:Ted that's why we only fix performance cars and make sure that the owners know exactly how much they will be spending up front.

therein lies the issue ...are you sayin you only rather work on "fass up "car cause only dem does have the money to pump out ???

what do you consider performance ??
something with a SR or RB in it ???
something that does go rel rel quick on the highway...?
something the sales brochure say 0-60 in XXX so it muss be fass up.??
somethin that built by garage X..so it muss be fassup / hi performance cause garage X does only deal up in fass car??
something with 10K and upwards invested in engine parts to make it goo fasss??
something with lenny sumadh plates and drop low ???

is it that your skill set is such that it requires your focus to strictly be on performance oriented cars ??
is it that you only fixin the ppl with deep pockets who hax expensiv / fass up / performance cars?

what about the "techs" it have out there who quick with a scan tool but dunno ass from elbow and claim dey does fix stuff.... me eah calin no names... :lol:

my car isnt "performance" by any standard but i pay to have it properly serviced when needed.

some ppl cud only do the poor man fix ..
example - i saw a b14 with silicone around the distributor - why silicone ??
the owner was too cheap to buy the two O ring seals an replace .......

some ppl could only fix AFTER it becomes an issue.
example - driving with no temp gauge or not watching anything - overheat and blow head gasket- and then wondering why it costing sooo much to repair.

which cheaper...a temp sensor or new head gasket, repair to radiator , shave and pressure test head ?? or u rather the famous mantra buy a head an block....

some ppl cud only afford f used - then vex when it dont work cause they claim mech is a quack....

very few ppl do preventative maintenance and to be honest its alot cheaper in the long run... replace coolant every 2 yrs..replace brake fluid once a yr rotate tyres every 3 mths.... replace transmission oil every 50k kms or such....

real life scenario...the wiper arms in my K12 break off.. the plastic bushing gone tru.....f used is $300 for the arm.
and no warranty cause well....is f used... new is 2k...

got a rod f used from something else -cut and weld it to shorten it...it worked for awhile.....then break again..

what you would have done....go f used again...or bite the bullet and pay 2k...???

i never said i paid 2k eah.....2k is the new price for it complete.
after u reply i go tell u how much i paid.... :lol:

Postby Rovin » January 11th, 2018, 11:59 am

^^^^hmmm all da setta typing , u cuda get ah wuk to write for papers or magazines ...... :lol:

Postby skylinechild » January 11th, 2018, 7:52 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:^^^^hmmm all da setta typing , u cuda get ah wuk to write for papers or magazines ...... :lol:

the only magazine where i would want to work is penthouse...lol...no typing required....

but i understand the point turbosingh tryin to make.. charge premium for performance cars....the premium price keeps the sufferers away.....

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 11th, 2018, 8:29 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:^^^^hmmm all da setta typing , u cuda get ah wuk to write for papers or magazines ......

the only magazine where i would want to work is penthouse...lol...no typing required....

but i understand the point turbosingh tryin to make.. charge premium for performance cars....the premium price keeps the sufferers away.....
Doh get tie up...some men with performance cars does coast to pay price too....ever wonder why most of them "specialist" performance/luxury car mechanics does have cars parked up in the garage for months and sometimes years? Either they sourcing the parts outside the company or on back order.

My point basically is that vehicle owner sufferership is not related to wealth.

Postby skylinechild » January 11th, 2018, 11:01 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Doh get tie up...some men with performance cars does coast to pay price too....

ever wonder why most of them "specialist" performance/luxury car mechanics does have cars parked up in the garage for months and sometimes years?

Either they sourcing the parts outside the company or on back order. OR THEY TOO CHEAP TO PAY

know what you mean..... it could go either way....

the high price does keep the sufferer away and sometimes the sufferer is the performance car owner

but at what point does the mechanic say " i only wukkin on performance cars cause dem does pay???"

yes is the mech private garage and he has the right not to repair random cars.... but ....

is it a case where the mech have clientele who not trust worthy with payments OR

is it that mechanic feels he could make more from servicing those types ( case the car is performance oriented they will spend more ) as opposed to regular econo boxes ???

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 11th, 2018, 11:28 pm

skylinechild wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:Doh get tie up...some men with performance cars does coast to pay price too....

ever wonder why most of them "specialist" performance/luxury car mechanics does have cars parked up in the garage for months and sometimes years?

Either they sourcing the parts outside the company or on back order. OR THEY TOO CHEAP TO PAY

know what you mean..... it could go either way....

the high price does keep the sufferer away and sometimes the sufferer is the performance car owner

but at what point does the mechanic say " i only wukkin on performance cars cause dem does pay???"

yes is the mech private garage and he has the right not to repair random cars.... but ....

is it a case where the mech have clientele who not trust worthy with payments OR

is it that mechanic feels he could make more from servicing those types ( case the car is performance oriented they will spend more ) as opposed to regular econo boxes ???
If you put the mechanic/customer relationship under a microscope you would realize that most times, one is looking to outfox the other.

Mechanics are mostly smartmen out there, meaning that the out to make a quick dollar and some even aim to get rich and would take every opportunity to do so.

Most male customers know this and deals with it accordingly...meaning that they are quite aware that the mechanic will try to exploit them so most times they would try to counteract this with their own smartmanism...

I think their might be some good genuine mechanics out there but unfortunately everybody "loves" money. Simple thing like tuning cars..98% of the tuners out there am sure is doing crap....the tune might work...but the quality is poor..and sometimes it's not even their intellectual property but instead maps that they got online...but leave that for a next time.

How many small garages including the popular ones have fixed prices on the range of services offered?

Went to a garage recently...they also sell new and used parts...took a minute to ask the mechanic for his opinion on something...

Mech....so you doing your own work?

Me ...yea. but would like to have an idea as to what could cause the problem to have an idea as to how to tackle the job...

Mech...well you will have to fight up and see..

Its clear as day. Everyman for themselves.

I prefer to be empowered and to empower others rather than be dependent..

Postby skylinechild » January 12th, 2018, 12:45 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:So serious question, what is an acceptable salary for someone doing basic/mid level work ie. servicing, suspension, minor engine work (mounts, starter, alternator etc)

Not a 30 year veteran who can rebuild engines with they eyes closed and two foot tied, level salary.

thats the thing... everyone is different some mechs out there are more competent than others. some abit more knowledgeable and also some may have the right tool for the job as opposed to using another method which may take longer.

theres the flat rate system ( not to be confused with hourly rate) which as the name implies is a fixed amt per job.

theres this book called the mitchel book - essentially put - someone actually sat down and gave an estimate on how much time it would take to do a particular job.

so for example -so lets say if a cradle replacement usually takes you 1/2 hr. if the book estimates it would normally take one hr and you complete it in less.... you move onto another repair job....you get paid for the hr work - though u completed it in less time - and you also get paid for the 2nd job you're doing

downside - if your second job is lets say...valve stem replacement job....and the book estimates it should take you 2 hrs... but it takes you 5 hrs.... you essentially only get paid for 2hrs of work... although u put in 5 hrs.

places that use the flat rate system would be dealerships as they would want to maximize their repair time and amt of jobs they can do per day.....

the hourly rate system is where the person (mech ) gets paid a fixed amt by the hour..
example - say a brake pad / shoe and fluid replacement this would usually take a mech 30-40 mins max to complete....

and ur mech is slow... if his hourly rate is 150/hr....and he takes two hrs to do the job... you see how this doesnt work out in the customers favor.

the correct tool may also play in integral part in finishing a job quickly and properly.
for example a cradle replacement - if a mech has a lift and air tools
...he simply drives car onto lift removes tyres.. removes cotter pin from nut from and nut from ball joint... unbolts cradle and hes done.... installation is the reverse of removal.

if a mech doesnt have a lift or air tools
..drag jack - jack up car..go for jack stands put jack stands up under car....remove jack....crack wheel nuts ...remove wheels..... THEN moves onto actually removing the cradle....

skill and knowledge also play a part....
most mechs i see out there when they change a cradle dont install it correctly
common faults include but not limited to
1 . no grease on bushings
2 .not cleaning out bolts and relevant hardware
3 not setting proper cradle geometry - ie bolting everything down while the car is in the air.
4. incorrect reassembly -fastening end links to hold cradle in place for them to tighten the cradle ....
5 incorrect torque specs...

simply put - each system flat rate or hourly rate has disadvantages / disadvantages and is up to the garage to determine which practice is best in their situation... tools and knowlege plays important part as well

racedriverpro wrote:If you put the mechanic/customer relationship under a microscope you would realize that most times, one is looking to outfox the other.

Mechanics are mostly smartmen out there, meaning that the out to make a quick dollar and some even aim to get rich and would take every opportunity to do so.

Most male customers know this and deals with it accordingly...meaning that they are quite aware that the mechanic will try to exploit them so most times they would try to counteract this with their own smartmanism...

I think their might be some good genuine mechanics out there but unfortunately everybody "loves" money. Simple thing like tuning cars..98% of the tuners out there am sure is doing crap....the tune might work...but the quality is poor..and sometimes it's not even their intellectual property but instead maps that they got online...but leave that for a next time.

How many small garages including the popular ones have fixed prices on the range of services offered?

Went to a garage recently...they also sell new and used parts...took a minute to ask the mechanic for his opinion on something...

Mech....so you doing your own work?

Me ...yea. but would like to have an idea as to what could cause the problem to have an idea as to how to tackle the job...

Mech...well you will have to fight up and see..
Its clear as day. Everyman for themselves.
I prefer to be empowered and to empower others rather than be dependent..

if you have to evaluate the customer mechanic relationship as one outfoxing the other,
then you cant even trust your mech to do a competent repair - some repairs take a day or two - so you REALLY cant trust ur mech to keep ur car safely over night - or for that matter taking ur good parts and using sub standard parts..... and in that case....find another mech.

had a sob story abt a tuner who took his car to paint.. painter man use the tuner expensive material paint primer crystals etc an paint a nex man car...an use crap for his car - man wondering why the car lookin so...an only when he confront the painter...the painter confess.....
who wrong there...tuner or painter ??

everyone has to live but the eat ah food mentality has to stop.. if someone just out there to get rich at the cost of his customer - sooner or later word will get around...regardless of how much sr20 powered b12/13/14/15/wingroad / almera/ primera / r32/r33/r34 skyline / does park up by him..... me eah callin no name

male customers who try to outsmart the mech..well me eah goin there....if yuh too cheap to find a proper mech and pay for a proper repair.. bess u dont drive.... -see my example on the silicone on the distributor -

the smaller garages have their set price scheme.
they also have their own tools and clientele and work without issues - they also schedule work accordingly - they dont take work they cant complete - they dont fill the garage with cars awaiting to be repaired - instead they schedule.
my mech is only him alone.. no helper

there are good mechs out there but the issue is most ppl not ready for that level of work or ready to pay that price range....

one of my mechs he's a bit old school - not saying he cant fix tiidas an such but i'd rather he do what he does best replace / repair worn out components and such as opposed to tryin to hunt down and replace a defective sensor that gives intermittent issues....

my mech charge me $800 to replace 4 shocks and 4 springs install 2 strut bars and one sway bar with end links...as well as replace two brake hose with steel braided ones and also replace two exhaust hanger rubbers....
all that took him a day and a 1/2.... and only 800.....

how much wud the avg private garage mech charge for all that and how long would it take ?
how much would the big name garage like auto 8 and such charge...and how long would it take ???

to be honest if your mech - or any mech giv you advice like - you go hadda fight up and see..he essentially tellin u..i not goin to tell u how to fix it...cause if u do you cant come by me and i cant get paid.
that type of mentality is to be avoided.

in a digital age we live in it soo easy to find useful information and to empower yourself ( and others) and not be dependent on one single mech and takin his word as gospel according to the bamboo....