Power Window Issue

jsali

Power Window Issue

Postby jsali » March 24th, 2015, 8:51 am

Hi folks.

My problem is that the driver's side power window keeps failing. Each time I get it repaired (by Guness in the Bamboo), they change the armature and they get it working. However, each time they do this, it would last about 2 weeks and then get stuck again (in the closed position).

Mind you, Guness didn't charge me for each visit, although he kept suggesting he lehgo this wuk cuz he tired see me lol.... He just assumed I got a bad armature and changed it for free. But between last November and February gone, I passed through 4 armatures. On my last visit he re-soldered something (no idea what it was) that he said may be causing the problem. About 2 weeks later, window was stuck again.

Any ideas what you guys think might be the problem? So when I go back I can probably hint to him what might be the issue? My car is an 121 NZE, Singapore model.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Abraham2nd

Re: Power Window Issue

Postby Abraham2nd » March 24th, 2015, 11:00 am

Maybe the tracks dirty???? Buy silicone spray n spray all d rubbers in d door where windows past.....
Then try and see if the gears are well lubricated

jsali

Postby jsali » March 24th, 2015, 1:21 pm

Well each time when i went to get it serviced in the last 3 months, they sprayed it with wd40.

I guess I'll try the silicone spray next time.... And keep spaying it. (how often?)

Thanks

Postby skylinechild » March 25th, 2015, 4:18 am

silicone spray on the tracks - where the glass runs and on the actual sliding metal parts white lithium grease and also on the wire cable....

jsali

Postby jsali » March 25th, 2015, 7:49 am

Thanks man

unikit911

Postby unikit911 » March 25th, 2015, 8:13 am

Try armor all ... it softens the rubber on the tracks...

rocco

Postby rocco » March 25th, 2015, 8:19 am

Remove upholstery and see if there is any adjustments in the rails or loosen the bolts that hold the track and move the window up and down a few times to center everything and tighten it back up it may be on strain

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » March 25th, 2015, 11:04 am

the wd40 is really good but tends to dry pretty quicky...

Postby skylinechild » March 25th, 2015, 11:38 am

Abraham2nd wrote:the wd40 is really good but tends to dry pretty quicky...

really....REALLY..???

as i said....silicone spray on d tracks...and white lithium grease on the metal sliding parts and on the cable

jsali

Postby jsali » March 25th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Thanks for the inputs guys. Very much appreciated.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » March 25th, 2015, 1:28 pm

chikara-pbl9954 wrote:Remove upholstery and see if there is any adjustments in the rails or loosen the bolts that hold the track and move the window up and down a few times to center everything and tighten it back up it may be on strain

:idea:

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » March 25th, 2015, 4:41 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Abraham2nd wrote:the wd40 is really good but tends to dry pretty quicky...

really....REALLY..???

as i said....silicone spray on d tracks...and white lithium grease on the metal sliding parts and on the cable

Yuh tink yuh know everything eh.. wd40 dries up man... its a FACT

onyx

Postby onyx » August 31st, 2016, 7:56 am

Did you ever through with the problem? I have a Toyota altis and the driver side sticks at times going up.. Then after a few minutes it works again... I don't know what can cause this

onyx

Postby onyx » September 1st, 2016, 9:25 pm

Bump..

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » September 13th, 2016, 11:23 am

onyx wrote:Did you ever through with the problem? I have a Toyota altis and the driver side sticks at times going up.. Then after a few minutes it works again... I don't know what can cause this

My prado driver door does this all the time. I think its a motor overload shut off, because it starts back work in a minute or two.