8-)

THE SYNDICATE

Re: HID/LED , illegal?

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 28th, 2015, 5:40 pm

Werd 8-)

Postby BrotherHood » November 2nd, 2015, 10:01 am

slick21ryan wrote:Unauthorized lights
"there shall not be affixed to the front of a motor
vehicle any lighted lamp other than the headlights
and side lights except with the approval in writing
of the Licensing Authority, nor to the rear of a motor vehicle or trailer any lighted lamp other
than the red light prescribed by these Regulations
except as permitted by paragraph (m)(iii) of
this regulation"

Headlights
"When a motor vehicle is in motion on a road at night, the
lamps at the front of the vehicle shall be
lighted, and the rays from the lamps shall
be of a type approved by the Licensing
Authority and, if the vehicle is capable of
proceeding at a speed greater than thirty
kilometres per hour, of such intensity as to
illuminate the road ahead for a distance of
at least ninety-five metres or such greater
distance as is sufficient to ensure the safety
of the vehicle and the persons carried on
the vehicle, and to indicate clearly the
presence of the vehicle to approaching
traffic"

Id lights
There shall also be
fitted lamps of such construction showing an
uncoloured light of such intensity as to clearly
illuminate the figures and numbers on the rear
identification plate.

So after alot of researching and asking relevant personnel(not trinituners) :

-unauthorized lights would be fog lights, bonnet lights etc... and HIDS are NOT considered unauthorized lights! HIDS blinding oncoming traffic is a reality but it does not make it illegal! So all this BS about retrofitting for legality is a myth! Alexander rightfully said it, the type of light/bulb is absolutely irrelevant, its the color that determines its legality!

-Based on the written law(not police opinion) u can actually be charged if your lights arent bright enough!

-LEDs are NOT illegal once its white/uncolored! again its the color of the bulb that makes the difference.

-And yes fogs are illegal unless you have the infamous letter and NO you cannot be charged for it if they are off!

So basically the law is not the problem but rather the uneducated officers that choose to be difficult and arrogant in their ignorance! MVRT Act is available to all FREE so do like me and have your copy in your vehicle to use when necessary! Knowing your rights doesnt make you a criminal!

P.S. dude with the ticket print out the LAW and take it to court and embarrass the sheit out of that officer! Hopefully the judge is more educated than him LOL

I have been saying this for three pages.

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » November 2nd, 2015, 2:36 pm

Ok folks. I paid a lot of attention to this thread when I saw it and I even saved the law 48:50 on my phone fot reference. Last night however, I was stopped by a police officer. My vehicle is a e46 which I tinted the headlights yellow. It carries a stock reflector housing and I have normal osram bulbs. No hids or leds. Mr. Officer however decided that my headlights looked 'too yellow' and insisted that the tint be removed immediately. I was very polite and made reference to said law stating that there is nothing stated against the colour of the light. He said it must be 'normal and uncolored' and that 'yellow is illegal'. As I began to read the law, he threatened to ticket me unless I remove the tint immediately. He said that the law he taking about is subsection 27 so can anyone link that for me? I had a long day so I complied and let him be. It doesnt make sense to fight those who feel they large and in charge.

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » November 2nd, 2015, 2:52 pm

nick639 wrote:^ pic of headlight before? Would really like to see what it look like

10891890_10204095811350500_2157208089496775440_n.jpg

when its on... its just a yellow tinge u can see... i saw cars that same evening with headlights looking as yellow as my tinted ones.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 2nd, 2015, 2:57 pm

Na sum ah dem fellaz dus over dhal it...just like them men who dus over rice it

Parvin

HID/LED , illegal?

Postby Parvin » November 2nd, 2015, 3:21 pm

brandonology1 wrote:He said that the law he taking about is subsection 27 so can anyone link that for me?

I lol'd ..... And then I lol'd some more

Like he bluff yuh

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » November 2nd, 2015, 3:27 pm

Wta... I jus rel crack up here! Uk.. the first thing he ask was if I read subsection 27... n I said no. N den he proceeded to tell me that I in violation of that. This man isa bake yes! He himself aint know wta he tlkin abt

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » November 3rd, 2015, 4:00 pm

brandonology1 wrote:Wta... I jus rel crack up here! Uk.. the first thing he ask was if I read subsection 27... n I said no. N den he proceeded to tell me that I in violation of that. This man isa bake yes! He himself aint know wta he tlkin abt

u is the bake

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » November 4th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Buh if I didnt read that part of the act, how I suppose to know. He became slightly arrogant afterwards so I just complied

Postby BrotherHood » November 4th, 2015, 3:30 pm

He played a psychological game with you and won. But for what though??
Shame on him. Steups.

eXamin

Postby eXamin » November 12th, 2015, 12:02 pm

Some officers are really uneducated about the law and think they big and bad.

konartis

Postby konartis » November 17th, 2015, 4:55 pm

INHUMAN wrote:
THE SYNDICATE wrote:Image

rottedv wrote:Image

8-)

This is actually unauthorised fittings....not lights.

Plea not guilty and wait for trial, hire a lawyer and fight it, most they would take is a 1000. Or fight it urself.

konartis

Postby konartis » November 17th, 2015, 5:00 pm

slick21ryan wrote:Unauthorized lights
"there shall not be affixed to the front of a motor
vehicle any lighted lamp other than the headlights
and side lights except with the approval in writing
of the Licensing Authority, nor to the rear of a motor vehicle or trailer any lighted lamp other
than the red light prescribed by these Regulations
except as permitted by paragraph (m)(iii) of
this regulation"

Headlights
"When a motor vehicle is in motion on a road at night, the
lamps at the front of the vehicle shall be
lighted, and the rays from the lamps shall
be of a type approved by the Licensing
Authority and, if the vehicle is capable of
proceeding at a speed greater than thirty
kilometres per hour, of such intensity as to
illuminate the road ahead for a distance of
at least ninety-five metres or such greater
distance as is sufficient to ensure the safety
of the vehicle and the persons carried on
the vehicle, and to indicate clearly the
presence of the vehicle to approaching
traffic"

Id lights
There shall also be
fitted lamps of such construction showing an
uncoloured light of such intensity as to clearly
illuminate the figures and numbers on the rear
identification plate.

So after alot of researching and asking relevant personnel(not trinituners) :

-unauthorized lights would be fog lights, bonnet lights etc... and HIDS are NOT considered unauthorized lights! HIDS blinding oncoming traffic is a reality but it does not make it illegal! So all this BS about retrofitting for legality is a myth! Alexander rightfully said it, the type of light/bulb is absolutely irrelevant, its the color that determines its legality!

-Based on the written law(not police opinion) u can actually be charged if your lights arent bright enough!

-LEDs are NOT illegal once its white/uncolored! again its the color of the bulb that makes the difference.

-And yes fogs are illegal unless you have the infamous letter and NO you cannot be charged for it if they are off!

So basically the law is not the problem but rather the uneducated officers that choose to be difficult and arrogant in their ignorance! MVRT Act is available to all FREE so do like me and have your copy in your vehicle to use when necessary! Knowing your rights doesnt make you a criminal!

P.S. dude with the ticket print out the LAW and take it to court and embarrass the sheit out of that officer! Hopefully the judge is more educated than him LOL

I wudnt say uneducated officers, and a magistrate may not be smarter, its really the interpretation of the law...and u cud be charged for unauthorised fittings either way in the court. Because if during a trial evidence of another offence arises the magistrate can convict in that offence instead of the laid charge. So u have to completely disprove the police.

jdm_krish

Postby jdm_krish » November 17th, 2015, 6:09 pm

I dont know, but what they should look into is their police vehicle flashing lights. Driving behind that at night with it on and blinking really blinds the sht out of me. Remedy for instant headache!

eXamin

Postby eXamin » November 18th, 2015, 8:33 am

jdm_krish wrote:I dont know, but what they should look into is their police vehicle flashing lights. Driving behind that at night with it on and blinking really blinds the sht out of me. Remedy for instant headache!

very true, those lights should be put on only in cases of emergencies.

konartis

Postby konartis » November 18th, 2015, 8:14 pm

jdm_krish wrote:I dont know, but what they should look into is their police vehicle flashing lights. Driving behind that at night with it on and blinking really blinds the sht out of me. Remedy for instant headache!

Especially on the high ways, is the worst...

jfn

Postby jfn » November 19th, 2015, 7:31 pm

same place they pulled me over fyzabad round-about

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » November 24th, 2015, 11:25 pm

DannyBoi20 wrote:If I have a Navara and I buy the pathfinder headlights and install them onto my navara would it pass or no (pathfinder original projector headlight )? Just a thought that came to mind

Assuming you have a uk-spec D40 Navara with the facelift, those OEM Pathfinder bixenon projector headlamps should not be a problem. If you ever get harassed about them in a roadblock, most oem headlamps should have 'NISSAN' etched/moulded on the housing, so the officer would know its not aftermarket.
Good luck in trying to get the auto-levelling function to work though.

On a side note, anybody every get stopped for LEDs?
I have 4000k Osram LEDs in park lights, and licence plate lamps. I should not have a problem with the 4000k, however my reverse lights are 6000k Philips LEDs, so I hope no officer asks me to put on my reverse lights in a roadblock. :?

DannyBoi20

Postby DannyBoi20 » December 4th, 2015, 9:10 pm

VK-Sportsman wrote:
DannyBoi20 wrote:If I have a Navara and I buy the pathfinder headlights and install them onto my navara would it pass or no (pathfinder original projector headlight )? Just a thought that came to mind

Assuming you have a uk-spec D40 Navara with the facelift, those OEM Pathfinder bixenon projector headlamps should not be a problem. If you ever get harassed about them in a roadblock, most oem headlamps should have 'NISSAN' etched/moulded on the housing, so the officer would know its not aftermarket.
Good luck in trying to get the auto-levelling function to work though.

On a side note, anybody every get stopped for LEDs?
I have 4000k Osram LEDs in park lights, and licence plate lamps. I should not have a problem with the 4000k, however my reverse lights are 6000k Philips LEDs, so I hope no officer asks me to put on my reverse lights in a roadblock. :?

Where did you get the 6k Philips LEDs for your reverse?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 5th, 2015, 10:23 am

^From Amazon, its called the 'Philips 921 X-treme Vision LED' (921 bulb type)