Battery being drained form fielder wagon

nickstar

Battery being drained form fielder wagon

Postby nickstar » October 24th, 2016, 12:30 pm

My fielder wagon battery is being drained in a matter of minutes. I have no system in my car that can drain it so fast only thing new is a gps and alarm system. Got my battery, alternator and deck checked out something they are all good. Is there anything else that can drain it. I am waiting for the guy to get chance to check the alarm system.

striver

Re: Battery being drained form fielder wagon

Postby striver » October 24th, 2016, 12:46 pm

do a parasitic drain test

#youtube

make meh care

Postby make meh care » October 24th, 2016, 2:11 pm

sounds like your battery giving up

nickstar

Postby nickstar » October 24th, 2016, 3:11 pm

The battery is good the car also draining a next battery.

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » October 24th, 2016, 6:53 pm

In minutes it's draining? Is it draining while idling or off parked?

nickstar

Postby nickstar » October 25th, 2016, 7:40 am

It is being drained while it is off. I am getting the Parasitic drain test done on Wed but I Just want to have an idea so i can ask questions to the electrician. I had this car over 2 years never had any problems and the only thing new is the alarm and gps system.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » October 25th, 2016, 10:14 am

check your relays. if one of them isnt working it can cause a drain. also make sure to ask the electrician to check for any grounding . hopefully the test gives u some results. usually fielders dont give much eletrical problems. first time i really hearing this. so more than likely i think is a relay of some sort

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » October 25th, 2016, 12:22 pm

nickstar wrote:It is being drained while it is off. I am getting the Parasitic drain test done on Wed but I Just want to have an idea so i can ask questions to the electrician. I had this car over 2 years never had any problems and the only thing new is the alarm and gps system.

You are already on a logical route to solving the issue. The best thing to do is let the electrician do his/her job.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:30 pm

Any update on the issue ?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2016, 12:38 pm

if a battery draining in minutes something is terribly wrong because the fuse should blow.
this should rule out your original wiring the car came with .
the the man who installed the gps system, did he run any wires direct from the battery ?
be careful before you explode your battery. sounding like a wire is shorted to ground and it has to be a pretty thick wire to handle that level of current without catching fire/melting

make meh care

Postby make meh care » November 23rd, 2016, 1:34 pm

Was this issue ever resolved ?

nickstar

Postby nickstar » June 28th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Sorry have not been online it was the battery went by next electrician he test the cells themselves . thanks for the info.