weird A/C question

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 30th, 2017, 8:05 pm

A tiida AC was set at 29 degrees for a few minutes.

Will that cause it to fail later on in the day?
(It was at 24degrees when it failed)

(dumb question but I have to ask it because I'm getting blamed, all because I changed the thermostat. Just want to know if the accusation is justified)

My understanding is having an AC colder might make it fail sooner because it has to exchange more heat
i.e. do more work, which means more stress on components. Correct me if I'm wrong, explain the science for me.

Sundar

Re: weird A/C question

Postby Sundar » October 30th, 2017, 8:29 pm

Explain what you mean by fail?

Postby skylinechild » October 30th, 2017, 8:30 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:A tiida AC was set at 29 degrees for a few minutes.

Will that cause it to fail later on in the day?
(It was at 24degrees when it failed)

(dumb question but I have to ask it because I'm getting blamed, all because I changed the thermostat. Just want to know if the accusation is justified)

My understanding is having an AC colder might make it fail sooner because it has to exchange more heat
i.e. do more work, which means more stress on components. Correct me if I'm wrong, explain the science for me.

what craziness you taking..? what thermostat you change ??
thermostat as in for the engine coolant ??

how does changing it from 29 degrees to 24 degrees make it "fail"...??

Postby nervewrecker » October 30th, 2017, 9:16 pm

Probably means the txv

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 30th, 2017, 11:50 pm

I think the main problem is that it's a tiida.....lol.....
Just get a new a/c ....it's a tiida

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 3rd, 2017, 1:09 pm

changing the temperature you mean not the thermostat. your ac wont fail by changing it because that is a feature in the car so you can set it to a temperature suited to you. who ever accusing you of this is an idiot. :| if its not working something is obviously wrong with some part of the system e.g. compressor/ evaporator/blower motor/ refrigerant leak etc

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 3rd, 2017, 7:22 pm

Allyuh realize the AC has a thermostat right? And it's connected to the doodad that you press/turn to change the temperature?

Men goin on like the only thermostat they ever hear bout is in the coolant.

shameemh

Postby shameemh » November 3rd, 2017, 8:30 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Allyuh realize the AC has a thermostat right? And it's connected to the doodad that you press/turn to change the temperature?

Men goin on like the only thermostat they ever hear bout is in the coolant.

So true. An kill dem ded they know everything bout car eh. They probably doh even kno that their fridge in dey house carries a thermostaat aswell.

shameemh

Postby shameemh » November 3rd, 2017, 8:34 pm

Btw, i adjust the temperature often in my car, depending on the time of day/ night i adust it to suit my comfort, my ac havent failed yet. So op, probably it was just the time for a part to fail, u jus happened to be using the vehicle at the time, so ul get the blame. These things happen.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 5th, 2017, 7:54 am

shameemh wrote:Btw, i adjust the temperature often in my car, depending on the time of day/ night i adust it to suit my comfort, my ac havent failed yet. So op, probably it was just the time for a part to fail, u jus happened to be using the vehicle at the time, so ul get the blame. These things happen.

Try an ac tech..just check the pressure or also check the condenser if it's dirty..

Henfracar

Postby Henfracar » November 15th, 2017, 12:53 am

Either the thermostat stop working or the ac compressor's clutch has failed. Condensers don't suddenly get dirty, there will be a slow deterioration of the 'cooling' over time, like weeks, not hours. Same for leaks unless a hose ruptured and all the refrigerant was lost over a short period.
Also there's a probability of the cooling system thermostat failing causing the heating coil in the heater/evaporator assembly to overheat. The ac won't be able to handle the additional heat so close to the evaporator coils.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 15th, 2017, 9:24 am

thanks for the responses fellas

Thought I was going mad yes, I was questioning my existence an ting