COST OF MECH SERVICES

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 18th, 2018, 5:06 pm

Guys not sure id a repost but i did a search and came up with nothing
Woukd like a thread to give an idea of cost of mechanic services...
All contributions would be appreciated....

So oil change...$60....

Please add to the thread other services and cost...

Re: COST OF MECH SERVICES

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 18th, 2018, 5:41 pm

Wanna know the cost to replace front shocks in a sedan

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 28th, 2018, 10:50 pm

Well it cost$150 per side....for future reference if anyone has to change theirs

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2018, 7:30 am

front brakes 60$
Oil change 60$-80$
shocks usually 100-150.
belts are sometimes 60$ per, sometimes more based on difficulty.
machine rotors, $200 sedan $300 pickup.
plug punctured tire 20$

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 31st, 2018, 7:45 am

Good update

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » May 31st, 2018, 8:21 am

In for the info btw its $500 to unbolt transmission and $500 to put back on (cars)

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » June 1st, 2018, 1:46 pm

I thought most of the places don't charge to change oil and filter if you buying it there... Maybe I could get into that and charge $50 lol. I am mostly a diy person... but paid $300 to clean injectors last time

daron

Postby daron » June 1st, 2018, 5:06 pm

Musical Doc wrote:I thought most of the places don't charge to change oil and filter if you buying it there... Maybe I could get into that and charge $50 lol. I am mostly a diy person... but paid $300 to clean injectors last time
Some shops charge because there is Cost to them for companies to collect the old oil + they have to make up salary for staff.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 5th, 2018, 7:35 pm

Need to change an engine mount top right....how much should i expect to pay in labour?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » June 7th, 2018, 1:39 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Need to change an engine mount top right....how much should i expect to pay in labour?

What type of vehicle?I would say $80 up

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 7th, 2018, 7:46 pm

Suzuki...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 7th, 2018, 3:16 pm

Paid $150 in labour to replace the mount

Postby skylinechild » August 7th, 2018, 3:29 pm

recently paid $50 to change my alternator belt. it required removal of the fender shield & other belts.
removed old one installed new belt reinstalled other belts - retensioned.

everything took less than 20 mins.

oil change $60. but i get it done for free....

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » August 7th, 2018, 4:12 pm

Change 2 engine mounts ins Tiida cost $220

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 7th, 2018, 7:09 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Change 2 engine mounts ins Tiida cost $220
Thars real good

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 5th, 2018, 8:13 am

Hopefully my mech doh see this ched nah...his prices and something he works and lives by: eat little live long:

Oil change :$30
Shocks : $70-80 per shock
Change head and block :$700

I once changed all my ends, axles, cradles and the man charged $350..been going by this guy for years and I cant complain..

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 5th, 2018, 12:04 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Hopefully my mech doh see this ched nah...his prices and something he works and lives by: eat little live long:

I once changed all my ends, axles, cradles and the man charged $350..been going by this guy for years and I cant complain..

i hope you give the man a lil extra once in a way for that good pricing you get.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 5th, 2018, 1:06 pm

Wherw is his location?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 5th, 2018, 7:36 pm

Sundar wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Hopefully my mech doh see this ched nah...his prices and something he works and lives by: eat little live long:

i hope you give the man a lil extra once in a way for that good pricing you get.

Always...and he does give you back same speed...even if you insist and he accepts...the next time you go back the price would drop...shrugs shoulders

Located gajadhar road, sangre grande

Note: exceptional change mechanic....not so much a fixer....but to help the customer save...he would do that...I remembered when I was green in the car fixing scene...had an ae110 for 12 years engine going strong while tranny started showing signs of failing...homeboy say no worries...2 caps brake fluid...problem done...car sold and still going strong

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2018, 6:56 am

Alignment 150
Camber 100 per side

Postby skylinechild » November 8th, 2018, 11:39 am

recently did some work on my car

replaced broken bilstein with new bilstein- shock was new in box and needed to be mounted on spring- along with new shock mounts.

work done
Assembly of new shock onto spring with new mounts on the Rear RHS
disassembly of good shock from spring - removal of old mounts - install of new mounts - reassembly of shock on spring on Rear LHS

removal of f used units on car and install of pair sport spring / shock on the car

install of rear upper strut tower bar.

cleaning of rear calipers and lubing up of rear sliding pins & lubrication of disc pads.
ie- general service to rear calipers along wit bleeding of said calipers.

cost of all that - $300
time took -4 hrs.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 8th, 2018, 3:23 pm

Where u get that for that price?

Postby skylinechild » November 8th, 2018, 6:30 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Where u get that for that price?

my dads mech. :lol:

we essentially swapped out the rear f used shock n spring for aftermarket stuff ( bilstein & H&R ) along with new KYB mounts for said shock.

next we goin to rebuild the rear calipers and install new disc pads

mech wanted oem nissan pads
oem seal kit already bought.

will update his cost for rebuilding the calipers once complete 8-)

Postby Ted_v2 » November 9th, 2018, 7:47 pm

Friend price is a scn

Postby skylinechild » November 9th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Friend price is a scn

how so ?

the relationship between mech and customer needs to be such that quality work needs quality pay- and the price must not be too high to prevent customers from returning.

i would gladly recommend my dads mech to ppl but the way how ppl want their thing fixed... they want pro level work - at the $10 repair shop price.

a simple thing say replacing and rewiring a instrument cluster
every body know to to just use a pliers and chop off the end connector and then match back up wire to wire on the new connector.

very few ppl will actually have a multi meter and actually disassemble the connector - repin it and reassemble and recheck.

lets not even go there...say doing an aftermarket stereo replacement - many so called pro shops - me eah callin no name - butcher off the connector and wire in the deck harness onto the vehicle harness.

when you can simply purchase a stereo connector....for $20

simple thing my mech services calipers with copper paste anti sieze and silicone paste....
which mech here in trinidad does use dem thing. -??

all dem does use is the red grease on the slider pin and the lil packet of moly lookin grease that does come wit the new brake pad...

i just rewired a golf cart for someone.
took me 4 hours - 2 hrs yesterday and 2 hrs today
charged him $600.

thats not fair ??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 13th, 2018, 6:27 am

skylinechild wrote:recently did some work on my car

replaced broken bilstein with new bilstein- shock was new in box and needed to be mounted on spring- along with new shock mounts.

work done
disassembly of good shock from spring - removal of old mounts - install of new mounts - reassembly of shock on spring on Rear LHS

removal of f used units on car and install of pair sport spring / shock on the car

cleaning of rear calipers and lubing up of rear sliding pins & lubrication of disc pads.

cost of all that - $300
time took -4 hrs.

yuh get tru deh

Postby skylinechild » November 13th, 2018, 7:31 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
skylinechild wrote:recently did some work on my car

work done

cost of all that - $300
time took -4 hrs.

yuh get tru deh

is meh dads mech..... he and my dad is friends so he gets all my work.... on both cars.

Ryan aka ryotech performance handles all EFI & ECU & sensor related stuff and my dads mech handles everything else.

i bought down copper anti sieze to use on my car - a 1 pound jar - mech asked me for one - so i'll get one for him cause he always will have use for it - brake jobs etc etc... and is only 18 usd so i not going to bother to bill him for it......he already fixes me up when i need to.....