LEAKING XS POWER AGM BATTERY

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 22nd, 2018, 11:09 pm

Anyone has experience with a leaking XS AGM battery....

What's the best way to deal with this issue? I bought the battery because I was looking for a battery to last a while when I purchased it....

Trying to figure out the best way forward.

nick639v2

Re: LEAKING XS POWER AGM BATTERY

Postby nick639v2 » June 22nd, 2018, 11:42 pm

Where is it leaking??? Had a trojan battery leak on me on top join, epoxy mix sealed it.. lasted it's time

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 22nd, 2018, 11:46 pm

At the base

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 22nd, 2018, 11:48 pm

Only realized while changing headlight bulbsImage

Postby gastly369 » June 22nd, 2018, 11:52 pm

Any heat wrap?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 22nd, 2018, 11:54 pm

gastly369 wrote:Any heat wrap?
Yea from day 1

Postby gastly369 » June 22nd, 2018, 11:56 pm

Hummmm ..well hope that don't happen to mines as was recommended that to put the wrap

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 23rd, 2018, 12:00 am

gastly369 wrote:Hummmm ..well hope that don't happen to mines as was recommended that to put the wrap
It's the same with me as recommend by the dealer...and this is my second xs battery...the first can't fit in current vehicle

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 23rd, 2018, 12:18 am

Lightly sand with some fine sand paper to rough up the area then make sure it dry and put the epoxy mamoo or the liquid plastic weld na.. you safe

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 23rd, 2018, 6:26 am

I think am just gonna replace the battery... Done with XS...did some research and others have experienced case splitting etc.ImageImage

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 23rd, 2018, 6:28 am

When I take out the battery I'll post more pics for the benefit of others.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 23rd, 2018, 8:46 am

would recommend NorthStar batteries (grey one).. they're built like tanks

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2018, 9:19 am

I was thinking to relocate mine to the trunk for good measure (if I dont ceramic coat the exhaust first).
This is the second time I have heard of an issue with that particular brand of battery and your model car.
Before dealership changed hands they recommended against putting these in those cars because of the kinda heat generated in those engine bays. Didnt have heat wrap in those days.
Everyday I come home I pop the hood amd leave the engine bay to cool off. Thankfully I dont live far from work so it not that hot. But I cant pop the hood and leave it when I get to work though

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 23rd, 2018, 9:26 am

Had heat wrap on it...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 23rd, 2018, 9:52 am

nervewrecker wrote:I was thinking to relocate mine to the trunk for good measure (if I dont ceramic coat the exhaust first).
This is the second time I have heard of an issue with that particular brand of battery and your model car.
Before dealership changed hands they recommended against putting these in those cars because of the kinda heat generated in those engine bays. Didnt have heat wrap in those days.
Everyday I come home I pop the hood amd leave the engine bay to cool off. Thankfully I dont live far from work so it not that hot. But I cant pop the hood and leave it when I get to work though
Interesting info about dealership recommendation....802 have one without issues tho...

I had low voltage issues and cranking issues with the battery and carried it to the dealer and for routine check...the battery wasn't as healthy as it should be ....

Compared to my first XS this one didn't perform as well imo. Can't say if it's because of the heat or what....but as u are aware heat shield must be used on ALL XS batteries in order for warranty to be honoured together with 6mth check ups.. this is not a criteria on the website tho.

Got frustrated with the check up cuz it didn't serve a purpose... battery dieing if left sitting for more than two days.

So it might be possible that these batteries may have a design flaw. Not being able to withstand heat..which battery needs heat wrap to maintain warranty? Lol

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 23rd, 2018, 4:15 pm

Three options rn

1. Optima red top
2. Eveready
3. Track

What the best option?

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2018, 8:29 pm

Sure is not a charging issue and parasitic drain? Know those famous for that.

Not taking sides eh.

Didnt know about the 6 month checkup either. Will have to get mine done. Long overdue.

I had issues with parasitic drain and mine went dead twice. Went dead once from leaving it parked up too long. All three times dealer said just drop it off. Checked it out, charged it, no headache.
Have a d3400 in the frontier, never had an issue.

Donno if you got a lemon. I had bought a d3400 from shitset trading, aka mobile authority some years back for my almera. Kant bought it in his name and it was defective. Refused to return it to the dealer and get it exchanged. He did all kinda sh1t to it. Dealer was willing to replace it but he refuse to take it back. I end up buying a d1200, real jammed that without issues.

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2018, 8:51 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Three options rn

1. Optima red top
2. Eveready
3. Track

What the best option?
Heard good reviews about optima.
Everready have a two year warranty, sounds like a good ootion to me.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » June 24th, 2018, 6:19 pm

Have a Optima yellow top in a BJ going on 6 years no issues to date
racedriverpro wrote:Three options rn

1. Optima red top
2. Eveready
3. Track

What the best option?
Heard good reviews about optima.
Everready have a two year warranty, sounds like a good ootion to me.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 25th, 2018, 8:35 pm

I have seen first hand where several people get ah set ah run around wrt xs power and the "dealer" living up to the warranty..Same can be said with eveready and pricesmart..

Inside before men start talking about blackout

Postby sMASH » June 25th, 2018, 8:59 pm

First optima i had, I remember seeing the warranty not valid for Temps above 20 degrees C.
So I think the heat wrap is to protect it from engine bay Temps.

Postby nervewrecker » June 25th, 2018, 9:13 pm

The vehicle in question that seems to have issues with these are the legacy turbo. 2006 model..
Seems they suffer from heat as the exhaust is so close to it. I am just speculating because I know those bays get uber hot..
Not sure if it has to do anything with mods or how long and hard the engine runs for.

I have been taking it easy with mine. Bonnet in the air all now.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2018, 7:55 am

I will stick to bosch, powermaster, turbo, ac delco and die hard for engine bay purposes...id use them other brands for the trunk etc etc

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 26th, 2018, 11:25 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I have seen first hand where several people get ah set ah run around wrt xs power and the "dealer" living up to the warranty..Same can be said with eveready and pricesmart..

Inside before men start talking about blackout
Same with me... solution to a Dead battery is "trickle charge" never replacement with the xs dealer...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 26th, 2018, 6:34 pm

Aight so the battery gone Tru by intermittently giving starting issues. What else can I do with it other than taking a $20?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2018, 7:11 pm

What did the stealer have to say?

Postby adnj » June 26th, 2018, 7:23 pm

Assuming that the case is not damaged, batteries will leak if they are overheated or overcharged. Run the vehicle and check both.

If you have a heat problem, you will want to use a heat shield to prevent radiant heat propagation. Heat shields are also cheap. You can use plain sheet metal. Fiberglass cloth sandwiched between heavy gauge aluminum (like a disposable pie pan) works extremely well also. Try to maintain about 25mm of clearance to provide convection cooling and prevent rattle.

Heat wraps are not a long term solution for thermal issues, imho.

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2018, 10:13 pm

Saw 802 today. She smexi for days

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 29th, 2018, 8:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What did the stealer have to say?
"A faulty battery wouldnt last close to three years" and he can't do anything for me but test it...had issues last year and was told to trickle charge it. He loaned me a charger. Basically XS Bullcrap

Postby nervewrecker » June 29th, 2018, 8:35 pm

I am curious as to if you will have issues with a new battery.

Have you checked for any kinda parasitic drain btw?