OIL BASED COOLANT?! Where we get that from?

Krystal Car Part Imports

OIL BASED COOLANT?! Where we get that from?

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » August 10th, 2018, 11:35 am

Im hearing people and mechanics talking bout 'oil based' coolant. Oh! Oil based coolant is better!!!

How could that be? Ethylene Glycol is the main ingredients in most coolants. Glycol is a type of alcohol .

So where are people getting this 'oil based' nonsense we from?

red bwoy

Re: OIL BASED COOLANT?! Where we get that from?

Postby red bwoy » August 10th, 2018, 11:56 am

Just my $0.02 I would like to believe that they recommend it because of its lubricating properties

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2018, 12:12 pm

inside before men start talking about Zerex

Postby nervewrecker » August 10th, 2018, 3:15 pm

Krystal Car Part Imports wrote:Im hearing people and mechanics talking bout 'oil based' coolant. Oh! Oil based coolant is better!!!

How could that be? Ethylene Glycol is the main ingredients in most coolants. Glycol is a type of alcohol .

Glycol is a type of alcohol
Ethylene glycol is something else

Sodium explodes when you throw it in water
Sodium chloride can be mixed safely with water and not blow up. Has the word sodium in it but does not behave anything like sodium

Completely different stuff.

Like Jack and Jackass
Jack is a guy name
Jackass is the type of posts you keep making.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 11th, 2018, 4:02 pm

Stick with the specifications that the manufacturers recommend.

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » August 12th, 2018, 1:43 am

Krystal Car Part Imports wrote:Im hearing people and mechanics talking bout 'oil based' coolant. Oh! Oil based coolant is better!!!

Sodium chloride can be mixed safely with water and not blow up. Has the word sodium in it but does not behave anything like sodium

Like Jack and Jackass
Jack is a guy name
You're response just shows you're certifiably uninformed about chemistry

Postby *KRONIK* » August 12th, 2018, 8:35 am

I think thats has to do with the consistency of some of the OEM coolants.
Eg. The suzuki coolant does feel oily to the touch.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » August 12th, 2018, 8:53 am

Like Jack and Jackass
Jack is a guy name
Lol win

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 13th, 2018, 1:28 am

Like Jack and Jackass
Jack is a guy name

^best answer, but also
glycol.png
glycol.png (10.35 KiB) Viewed 7088 times

oily consistency!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2018, 5:18 am

allyuh chemistry people could talk some english oarrrr

Postby adnj » August 13th, 2018, 5:38 am

You really don't want an oil based cooling system (it's already done for transmissions) for an engine.

Water absorbs more heat energy than oil for the same temperature change. Mixing water with EG actually decreases the absorption for the benefit of a wider operation range.

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 7:15 am

adnj wrote:You really don't want an oil based cooling system (it's already done for transmissions) for an engine.

Water absorbs more heat energy than oil for the same temperature change. Mixing water with EG actually decreases the absorption for the benefit of a wider operation range.
So you saying water and oil mixes then?

Water is a huge no no for modern aluminum blocks. Just a few weeks back a tuner had an engine scrapped out to clean the half clogged insides from water cooling. Seems it reacts with the block in a bad way and forms a kind of solid limescale build-up in a massive way. Not at liberty to post the man engine and not sure what causes the reaction, all I know is thats a no no for them.

The oil based coolant also lubricants the coolant pump, prevents rusting and premature failure.
Zerex and honda coolant feel very oily to touch. Those are the two I have dealt with. The valvoline is mixed with water and water can be added if you run short. So its just oily, not necessarily oil because oil and water dont mix.

Postby adnj » August 14th, 2018, 5:32 pm

adnj wrote:You really don't want an oil based cooling system (it's already done for transmissions) for an engine.

So you saying water and oil mixes then?

Water is a huge no no for modern aluminum blocks. Just a few weeks back a tuner had an engine scrapped out to clean the half clogged insides from water cooling. Seems it reacts with the block in a bad way and forms a kind of solid limescale build-up in a massive way. Not at liberty to post the man engine and not sure what causes the reaction, all I know is thats a no no for them.

The oil based coolant also lubricants the coolant pump, prevents rusting and premature failure.
Zerex and honda coolant feel very oily to touch. Those are the two I have dealt with. The valvoline is mixed with water and water can be added if you run short. So its just oily, not necessarily oil because oil and water dont mix.

I don't suppose that they do. Zerex is ethylene glycol (EG) mixed with a corrosion inhibitor. All antifreeze/coolants are EG or propylene glycol in my experience. All EG feels oily and tastes sweet. It is also poisonous.

Coolant mixes for engines are typically 50% water plus 50% EG. Water alone causes corrosion but provides better cooling. EG alone does not cool as well. Transmissions and some engines use an oil cooler AND rely on direct convective cooling.

A properly maintained engine requires a periodic flush and fill of the cooling system and/or testing of the specific gravity of the engine coolant.

If you ever see an engine with internal corrosion or discolored coolant, it's the operator's own fault.