A31 led headlight bulb replacement.

rango tango

A31 led headlight bulb replacement.

Postby rango tango » November 19th, 2018, 7:58 am

Hey guys, need some help here, I want to replace my normal headlight bulb to led.
But my headlight don't have the wire clip to hold down the bulb, the housing of the original bulb is kind of spring loaded which holds it in place.
What can I do?
Any recommendation?
IMG-20181104-WA0054.jpeg
IMG-20181104-WA0053.jpeg
IMG-20181104-WA0055.jpeg

Sundar

Re: A31 led headlight bulb replacement.

Postby Sundar » November 19th, 2018, 12:24 pm

can the metal part be removed?

rango tango

Postby rango tango » November 19th, 2018, 2:09 pm

No that is part of the bulb holder
When yuh squeeze the end of the clamp it pulls in and when released it locks the holder in place

Postby skylinechild » November 19th, 2018, 6:27 pm

you may have to modify the housing to accept the LED bulb.

in addition the OEM bulb holder - the black thing with the 3 prongs sticking out of it - seems to show heat fatigue and melting.....seems that may need to be replaced,

OP get yourself some nice OSRAM bulbs and be happy.

sticking a huge LED that generates alot of heat - hence the massive heat sink mounted behind it - doesnt make much sense as you mounting it in a location that is already the hottest part of the car.

how long you expect the LED to last in a hot location and how much energy you expect to save by going LED?
or is it youre aiming for brightness???

OSRAM nightbreakers and be happy.