CK4 lancer - Auto to Manual Conversion

Corollaman

CK4 lancer - Auto to Manual Conversion

Postby Corollaman » February 20th, 2006, 1:01 pm

Good day tuners,

I was toying with the idea of converting the lancer to manual (CK4, 1.6 4G92)

But I want to keep it stock as a rock - down to the instrument panel and shifter.

What kinda parts am I looking at, and what are the prices??
Does it make sense?? Also, what will this do to my resale value?

Opinions appreciated,
Avin

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 20th, 2006, 3:51 pm

Well I can only Advise you for the parts. I am not sure of the prices and of the resale value effect.

Parts you will need.

Gearbox (ovbiously)

New Clutch, P. Plate and Rel. Bearing

Flywheel (MUST be CK manual. No other will work.)

Hydraulic Clutch master Cylinder with bottle

Hydraulic clutch lines

Hydraulic Clutch Pedal

Brakes pedal (narrower)

Manual 5 on the floor shifter with base plate and pedals (CK shifter base is plastic)

Axle inner cups (ones locking into the gearbox. You will be able to use back the stock axles that way.)

Gearbox Mount and bracket

Gearbox Starter (IMPORTANT)

Well and an electrician to wire the car to connect the wiring for reverse lights and also to start the car. (you can try it yourself but if you ain't sure, don't do it.)

Probably the most you will have to do is cut the firewall for the area for the clutch pedal. Not sure for the CK but on the floormat itself in the general area there is a cutout in the carpet for the exact dimensions.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » February 20th, 2006, 7:41 pm

^^Thanks a lot bro.

It seems like I have some research to do

venum

Postby venum » February 20th, 2006, 9:28 pm

wow

Mishi yuh never stop to impress meh how much yuh know bout mitsu's

i knew that the auto to manual was not a bolt-on transplant

but i did not know that it involved so much work

i learnt something here

thanx man

I expect that the process and parts that you mentioned were CK specific and not CK4 specific

just in case i think bout the same thing for the CK2 :mrgreen:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 21st, 2006, 12:09 am

yeah you're fine. Actually this is from experience. And with alle parts together, you can have everything done within a day if not two. As I said, the hardest thing is to cut the firewall in the clutch cylinder pattern and install the pedals.

The hydraulic gearbox will fit on the CK 2 just you may find the gear slightly taller than the usual (cable box).

In addidion to myself with the CB conversion, we had some others that had done the CK version and they couldn't get a flywheel. (7 bolt mind you) I loaned them an extra flywheel and unfortunately it was smaller. So that's how we learn't the CK setup. but the basic gearbox to engine mate is pretty much bolt to bolt.

Wiring can be done by yourself if you're good with a test light. Make sure that you in Neutral before you try it though.

joshtack

Re: CK4 lancer - Auto to Manual Conversion

Postby joshtack » August 22nd, 2017, 2:50 pm

um guys, i need help, i have ck4 97' with an automatic transmission, i think im gonna convert it to an evo, but i dont have enough knowledge to do that, so
what if i want to swap the engine with the 4c93t that i found on this link https://fjb.kaskus.co.id/product/568acc ... ft-6a13tt/

is that possible to do that? and what else do i need to complete the build?