engine oil additives/treatments

Postby equipped2ripp » April 7th, 2006, 12:36 am

any tuners use any of these engine treatments such as the QMI, slick 50, duralube, engine restorer & lubricant or STP?

if u do, which one u use and do u feel or see the difference?

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 7th, 2006, 5:51 am

Don't use them, they'd do more harm than good.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 7th, 2006, 7:26 am

Anyone herd reviews about the Z-Max with Linkite? Linkite is the stuff that they say WWII Mechanics were using in the Turboprops on fighterplanes to enhance performance.

This stuff goes anywhere, from oil crankcase to your fuel tank and transmission (I talking one bottle eh).

Another load of Boshiet?

Postby Dave » April 7th, 2006, 7:48 am

^^^yup there were ordered to stop selling z-max
generally modern engine oil, even NP, has all your engine needs and additives will only help the engines that generally have some problems like excessive ring wear, they only prolong the evenutally fix/change of engine

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 7th, 2006, 8:27 am

prolong

ent that is one too ?

Rx

Postby Rx » April 7th, 2006, 6:58 pm

waste of hard earned dollars :!:

avoid using these "snake oil" at all costs :!:

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2006, 7:17 pm

man I have seen pump attendants tell ppl to put kerosene in their gas tanks 'cuz fuel treatment is mostly kerosene anyway, an dis cheaper....."

StangSai

Postby StangSai » April 8th, 2006, 1:35 am

^^^ what a shame! :roll:

Rx

Postby Rx » April 8th, 2006, 9:54 pm

it's a waste of $$$$$$$$ :!:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 9th, 2006, 1:35 am

don't do it!!! if the facking manufacturers say no that means NO!!!!!

using oil addiditives, can cause "blow-by" by glazing the cylinder walls, this is a big ass rape to your engine.

LR

Postby LR » April 9th, 2006, 11:46 am

is kerosene a good fuel treatment?

anyone have any experience using it?

larafan

Postby larafan » April 9th, 2006, 1:05 pm

is kerosene a good fuel treatment?

anyone have any experience using it?

LOL....u do it and let we know nah...

Postby equipped2ripp » April 9th, 2006, 2:20 pm

i tried it already, waste of time.
fuel burns quicker, loss of acceleration, vehicle feels lazy.
and larafan, don't be laughing about this. plenty ppl use kerosene in their tank, not only taxi drivers.

Rx

Postby Rx » April 9th, 2006, 3:50 pm

^^^^^^^^ really?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby equipped2ripp » April 9th, 2006, 4:50 pm

yeppp, that's why i stopped it.

i used it a couple of times.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » April 9th, 2006, 7:16 pm

kerosene you say ?
thats like the one i heard about using canfer balls(moth balls) in your tank to increase the octane level....any truth to this ? or has anyone ever tried it ?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » April 9th, 2006, 7:24 pm

^^ heard 'bout that one...but never tried it.

I do not use oil additives or engine treatments.
I do use fuel treatments/cleaners and octane boosters!!

LR

Postby LR » April 9th, 2006, 11:29 pm

larafan: if you have an intelligent suggetion, good, post it by all means.
but please keep the attitude for your friends. have you ever realised that the attitude of, laughing at everything, is usually reserved for idiots on television (actors, singers, etc) and like most things on tv some of us pick these silly mannerisms, without a clue as to how foolish we sound.

Continuing on this topic:

I have seen on some foreign forums that toluene is supposed to be a good additive to boost octane levels.

Anyone knows where this can be purchased (in small quantities)?
Just to test it out :)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 10th, 2006, 11:45 am

look one of the snake oil links........it's a long but informative read!

http://www.math.uwaterloo.ca/~rblander/snake_oil.txt

Rx

Postby Rx » April 10th, 2006, 12:49 pm

No matter what the additive makers would like you to believe,
nothing has been proven to stop normal engine wear.

:) nice :)

TRINI 2

Postby TRINI 2 » April 15th, 2006, 8:01 pm

The best oil and fuel treatment is the Lucas Heavy Duty Oil Stablizer and Fuel System Treatment. If your engine making ticking noises and does make a little blue smoke on yuh first start in the morning this will take care of that for sure. No oil treatment will bring yuh engine to brand new condition, but it helps to make it work better.

Rx

Postby Rx » April 15th, 2006, 8:05 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:don't do it!!! if the facking manufacturers say no that means NO!!!!!

using oil addiditives, can cause "blow-by" by glazing the cylinder walls, this is a big arse rape to your engine.

preach bredda . ...... PREACH !!! :)

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » April 16th, 2006, 12:32 pm

I saw an episode with Mythbusters on discovery where they tried the moth balls In an Engine. It did sound and accelerate better. And they said the performance looked like it increased(N.B. This was after a NUMBER of other crap they threw in tha gas tank). Anyway the end result is they said they don't think you should try it because they just did once. They have no idea what long term effects of this is....

I heard about putting some tranny oil in your gas tank every fill up. They say it makes your car burn gas less. anyone know about this?

LR

Postby LR » April 17th, 2006, 5:28 am

about the tansmission oil.

this is sometimes used as a lubricant in octane boosters.
it also adds a slight colour to the other chemicals in the octane booster.

the addition on transmission oil ,kind of, replaces the lead in the gasoline.

I am not aware of the actual percentages in gasoline. but in octane boosters the normal addition is 3 oz in 1 gallon.

Rx

Postby Rx » April 17th, 2006, 7:33 am

I put in some tranny oil in my Datsun B210 ............ don't know of any benefits except that the carb seemed to work better ....I guess ...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 17th, 2006, 9:32 am

^^^the tranny oil appears to exhibit some cleaning properties.

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » April 17th, 2006, 10:08 am

^^ Really So this is a good thing.. And how much tranny oil are we talkin about?

Rx

Postby Rx » April 17th, 2006, 4:02 pm

I uesd to pour in approx. 1/8 litre :)

but remember , I did that on my first car .... a B210 ...120 Y eh :twisted:

I'm not sure if you should try this on your new vehicles with EFI .... engine management ....sensors etc :wink:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » April 17th, 2006, 7:58 pm

^^ That's a big no-no in the new engines!! Even decarbonising can be fatal!!

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » April 17th, 2006, 9:55 pm

Computerman wrote: Even decarbonising can be fatal!!

Why Computerman?