TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

engine idle VERY high

Tuning advice, problems and troubleshooting

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

User avatar
TheBoostLord
3NE2NR is my LIFE
Posts: 887
Joined: January 16th, 2006, 1:51 pm
Location: 4th Ave & 5th St. Barataria

engine idle VERY high

Postby TheBoostLord » May 20th, 2006, 9:10 pm

I have a 2002 lancer with no problems before. today i was driving and park up wit no problems. When i ready to go back out, i start the car and the engine idle like between 4000-5000 rpm!! i dunno what goin ong. if i put it in any gear like reverse or drive it will go down to normal rpm but it will idle very rough, the engine will still be revving but because my foot on the brakes it counteract it. any idea on what goin on ??

Advertisement
User avatar
venum
3NE2NR Diesel Boyz
Posts: 5964
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 3:19 pm
Location: San Fernando

Postby venum » May 20th, 2006, 9:21 pm

firstly you need to specify which engine that Lancer has

1.5L = 4G15 GDI

1.6L = 4G18

1.8L = 4G93 GDI

my initial thoughts are that the idle speed needs adjusting

happens without warning on my 4G15 non-GDI Lancer (1999 JDM)

just goes low\high sometimes

the idle control screw is located on the throttle body, usually covered with a little black cap

put the car in Park and adjust the screw until idle is back to normal ~ 700 - 800 rpm

I had this same prob, xcept in my case the idel went too low

User avatar
TheBoostLord
3NE2NR is my LIFE
Posts: 887
Joined: January 16th, 2006, 1:51 pm
Location: 4th Ave & 5th St. Barataria

Postby TheBoostLord » May 20th, 2006, 9:27 pm

i have 1.5l gdi engine.

User avatar
venum
3NE2NR Diesel Boyz
Posts: 5964
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 3:19 pm
Location: San Fernando

Postby venum » May 20th, 2006, 10:15 pm

well then in that case check out the idle control screw

User avatar
TheBoostLord
3NE2NR is my LIFE
Posts: 887
Joined: January 16th, 2006, 1:51 pm
Location: 4th Ave & 5th St. Barataria

Postby TheBoostLord » May 20th, 2006, 10:20 pm

thanks ill check it out

blazing
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 636
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 3:54 pm

Postby blazing » May 21st, 2006, 3:58 am

sounds like either a vacuum leak or bad tps/aic.

User avatar
TheBoostLord
3NE2NR is my LIFE
Posts: 887
Joined: January 16th, 2006, 1:51 pm
Location: 4th Ave & 5th St. Barataria

Postby TheBoostLord » May 22nd, 2006, 8:10 am

ok well i looked all over but i cant find the screw anywhere!

User avatar
Hook
3NE 2NR Moderator
Posts: 13227
Joined: January 18th, 2004, 9:55 am
Location: The 6%.

Postby Hook » May 22nd, 2006, 7:41 pm

even so...an idle adjust screw is only good for up to maybe 2000rpm if so much...

an engine idling at 4k-5k like u said likely isn't in need of an idle adjustment and prolly doesn't have a vacuum leak...there's got to be something you're not telling us
is ur check engine light on the dash lighting?
if so, u can have the diagnostic codes pulled

User avatar
TheBoostLord
3NE2NR is my LIFE
Posts: 887
Joined: January 16th, 2006, 1:51 pm
Location: 4th Ave & 5th St. Barataria

Postby TheBoostLord » May 22nd, 2006, 8:43 pm

ok wel i took out the maf and decided to clean it with some electric cleaner spray. the engine now idles about 2500. then i decided to start the engine with the maf not connected. it idles at normal range but it very rough and backfires. it even cuts off a couple times. my guess is a misfiring cylinder.

User avatar
saltydog
CARS Member
Posts: 768
Joined: November 1st, 2005, 9:36 pm

Postby saltydog » May 22nd, 2006, 9:04 pm

have you tried an new MAF? and an Ecu reset

User avatar
venum
3NE2NR Diesel Boyz
Posts: 5964
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 3:19 pm
Location: San Fernando

Postby venum » May 22nd, 2006, 9:16 pm

good to know that you are m,aking some progress

I was going to suggest that u check the throttle rest position screw

but that would not cause such a high rpm

as saltydog indicated

check teh MAF

the engine would rely on teh TPS, MAF and O2 readings to calculate the mixture

the signals that the ECU are receiving are messed up

User avatar
TheBoostLord
3NE2NR is my LIFE
Posts: 887
Joined: January 16th, 2006, 1:51 pm
Location: 4th Ave & 5th St. Barataria

Postby TheBoostLord » May 23rd, 2006, 8:19 pm

ok well seeing as the warranty on the car not up as yet i decided to take it back to the deal and they checked it. 1 of the senors bad but i dont know which 1. they gonna change it tomorrow so ill see what happens. thanks 2 every1 4 tha help

blazing
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 636
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 3:54 pm

Postby blazing » June 1st, 2006, 10:55 pm

that will most likely be the IAC sensor

User avatar
Rudman
Shifting into 6th
Posts: 2074
Joined: August 17th, 2005, 10:35 am
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 2nd, 2006, 7:36 am

Some good stuff here. I hope if and when my sensors go bad, I could find them!!.

User avatar
venum
3NE2NR Diesel Boyz
Posts: 5964
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 3:19 pm
Location: San Fernando

Postby venum » June 2nd, 2006, 8:18 am

^^^ thaz a 4G15 GDI eh pallie

the 4G15 non-gdi sensors are easy to find, well most of them

User avatar
TheBoostLord
3NE2NR is my LIFE
Posts: 887
Joined: January 16th, 2006, 1:51 pm
Location: 4th Ave & 5th St. Barataria

Postby TheBoostLord » June 6th, 2006, 6:12 pm

apparently it was the throttle body givin trouble. got it fixed though and everything works fine

User avatar
Hook
3NE 2NR Moderator
Posts: 13227
Joined: January 18th, 2004, 9:55 am
Location: The 6%.

Postby Hook » June 6th, 2006, 7:38 pm

come come...expand more on yuh solution jed...might help some ppl with similar problems or who may soon get similar problems

Advertisement

Return to “AUTOMOTIVE TECH”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests