*** Ask All SR gear box questions in here ***

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 7th, 2007, 10:12 pm

okay thne so well i have the big spline box now and well oh gosh the first gear is ah killer...doh talk bout the 3rd....wah u say dey sir casso...

when u givin me a run jed :lol:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 7th, 2007, 10:27 pm

JWT wrote:sr20lsd hydraulic is the big spline box
sr20lsd non hydraulic is the small spline

sr18lsd is small spline
s18 non lsd small spline

difference easy the lsd's have the fin vents on the boxes cannot miss it

the lsd boxes also carry the fat axels

also the sr18 boxes have a closer gear ratio ar ratios
meaning that the car will pull of faster than that of an sr20 but because of the ratios the sr20 box will beat the sr18 box on top end longer gear ratios

perfect box is the 1st and 2nd sr18 and 3rd, 4th 5th sr20

:mrgreen:

im confused with that part dere...

i have a non lsd big spline box sr20 hydraulic box..and u said sr20 hydraulic LSD box is big spline..

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » June 8th, 2007, 11:03 am

How do you know if your sr tranny is lsd?? is there anyway to tell without having to take it down.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 8th, 2007, 10:48 pm

amm jack u uh car..and start the engine if both wheels spin its LSD if not..well...its non lsd...
also u cud wtach and see also.the box on both sides of the axels & cups u wud see a out part..if its non lsd one side will look thinner than the other.

hope that helps

Zwill

Postby Zwill » June 9th, 2007, 1:11 am

What about us 'old men' who want to install the SR 20 DET and use a tranny with it? I have the U14 bluebird with the stock SR 18. Am I limited to converting to a 'box?

Zwill

Postby Zwill » June 9th, 2007, 1:13 am

What about us 'old men' who want to install the SR 20 DET and use a tranny with it? I have the U14 bluebird with the stock SR 18. Am I limited to converting to a 'box?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 9th, 2007, 1:19 am

well i've heard some talk about the tranny not being able to handle more than 150Hp+ unless it came with a turbo engine or someting like that..not 2 sure about the whole rule of it..but i believe the best thing to do if u wanna install a tranny on a sr20det, is to rebuild the tranny before installing it...

rebuild it to take boost one time..so it wud be strong and would last..also install a tranny/oil cooler...would help make the life of your tranny alot longer.

and what do u mean if u limited to converting to a "box"?? as in if u have to convert 2 a gearbox to run your sr20det..if so i guess u wud get your answer above here.

Zwill

Postby Zwill » June 9th, 2007, 1:31 am

So far am only finding SR20 DETs coming out of the 4wd Avenir wagon. Was told that the 4wd tranny cannot fit in my U14, and still have to find a mech to do the whole install when I get everything together

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 9th, 2007, 1:34 am

hmmm wayz thaz a real sweet engine jed..right now i wish ic ud get one of those...but say wah.my present engine shud be able to keep one of those in my sight with de lil work it has..

and well just buy everything except the tranny/gearbox and then buy a fwd box for it / tranny for it...and i doh think it would be that hard to fit that in a u14....

and how much are you seein the Sr20DEt's for??

Zwill

Postby Zwill » June 9th, 2007, 1:44 am

The seller askin about ten grand for the complete engine, harness and ECU. He seems to be bringing in whole engines every so often, I just need to get the finance together and someone to evaluate the engine for me when its time to buy

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 9th, 2007, 1:47 am

hmm sweet 10k aint so bad for a complete DET, jus mak sure they good cause right now iz real stress with them engines i hear...nuff ppl buying them and half ah dem not gud..

but wat can i say..jus buy the complete engine minus gearbox and u safe..

and well if u up for the chanllenge buy the engine that picasso have..jus 2 locate a ECU and ting..try getting that first and see if u cudlink someting.

go ask uh buyer.and trust me that engine he have selling leaving out dem avenirs like nothing :lol: no disrespect to your avenir e picasso :lol:

Zwill

Postby Zwill » June 9th, 2007, 1:58 am

Sounds like a good plan. You really have to be careful buying used engines out there. Am really trying to move careful with the project. will definetely pm Picasso and check what he has. He seems to know de ting inside out. Hopefully when its all done we'll see how it stacks up on the road :D

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 9th, 2007, 2:00 am

haha yea once u know wah u doing u in the game..and well picasso is ah real gud fella 2 deal with..he real cool and ting..and he does always have gud stuff for sale..

and well is ah gtir 4 throttle pulsar engine..i believe it was the fastest Sr20DET they ever made..as in fastest stock.i tink they doing like 250HP stock

and well ye awhen u buy turbo engines u hadda be careful cause u doh get warrenty on them..the best thing to do when buying one is try and get it in a front half or so..and let them start it..let it idle for ah gud 10mins or so.

also a great person 2 PM about engines wud be Tuner Imports..he shud have a bess link for u when coming to these tingsd.

Zwill

Postby Zwill » June 9th, 2007, 2:08 am

Jason boy, for all this good common sense advice I have to buy you at least two rounds of beers! And that is a promise!

Zwill

Postby Zwill » June 9th, 2007, 2:08 am

Jason boy, for all this good common sense advice I have to buy you at least two rounds of beers! And that is a promise!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 9th, 2007, 2:11 am

:lol: arite boss i eh mind tha..buh no prob..advice is never a problem on 2nr..well for most ppl..lol uh know soe ah dem like 2 imps up ppl for asking thing..but doh worry u must always get ah gud ansa...
i going an sleep dey :lol: laterz!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 13th, 2007, 8:11 am

I have to buy you at least two rounds of beers! And that is a promise!

But Shall Marshal doh even Drink :(

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 13th, 2007, 9:59 am

ey...granny...You know i dont drink..like u want me to come up the road for u now or what??

:lol: u does drink..i hear bout allyuh mr 7 cases ah beer..lol and it still haev left overs.

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » October 8th, 2007, 3:40 pm

Quote:
sr20lsd hydraulic is the big spline box
sr20lsd non hydraulic is the small spline

sr18lsd is small spline
s18 non lsd small spline

Dose this mean that Sr 18 gearboxes dont' come hydraulic ? reason i ask is because i just accquired a hydralic box and it came off a Sr18 engine (from a bluebird, sss model i think)

2nd question would the cross member from the Bluebird work on my B13 ?
Do i also have to take the starter or i could use back my original starter ?

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » October 10th, 2007, 7:02 am

Hey Im going to convert from auto to manual what exactly would i need to get besides the gearbox pedals and shifter?

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » October 10th, 2007, 11:01 am

clutch cylinder, lines if it's hydraulic I guess......don't know what else.... :(

Take ah BUMP for ah bess thread though !

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » October 10th, 2007, 11:09 am

Well frst off is it Sr cause thats what i am converting.
These are what i have

(1) Pedal only the clutch pedal i think is really nessary
if the box is Cable, cable pedal and clutch cable
if the box is hydralic clutch pedal with master clyinder,lines and slave cylinder which is on the gear box i think all these hydralic parts need to come from the same Vehicle
(2)Clutch
(3) Pressureplate
(4) Gear box with bolts
(5) shifter
(6)Cross member with both mounts, front and back
(7) gear box mount (i think) i dont have this as yet but i feel i will have to get it
(8)driver side axcle (i think)
did some research on Sr20 froum and found out the last two can someone else comfirm this
i still need to know if the bluebird crossmember will fit on my B13

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » October 20th, 2007, 3:32 pm

does the USDM box from a b15(se-r) has different gear ratios? the sr20ve guys in the US prefer to use this one. It might be easier to source a box from the US than Japan.

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » October 26th, 2007, 12:33 pm

Yea guys its me again i started my swap from auto to manual and i am now stuck, here is my problem. The cup with the long shaft(from gear box) on the right side of the car is too short, when i bolt it to the back of the engine the shaft dose not reach all the way to the gear box. Y is this so ? i though both the Sr18 and 20 were identical on the outside.
this shaft and gearbox came off a blue bird with an Sr18.

My question now is what shoul i do ?

Can the guy in Constant Velocity lengthen the shaft or use my auto shaft build it up then respline it ?

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » April 29th, 2009, 12:41 pm

yea people its me again cant believe not touched this ched since 2007

well i am back with some gear box woes don't know why i dose see so much trouble
but here goes

i sold my other project (sr20de+gearbox)
got a new project this year sr20det+gearbox but the gearbox i got is hydraulic i think plus my tranie mount not bolting its a bit too small
here are some pics

Shot with Canon PowerShot S3 IS at 2009-04-29

if you look up to the corner you can see where the slave cylinder goes my question is has anyone converted this to cable in their b13 or should i try to keep it hydraulic ?
here is a link of the conversion http://www.sr20forum.com/driveline-tran ... 4-p10.html

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » April 29th, 2009, 9:17 pm

Good day peeples,

I have asked many about this one, and got varying responses. They said that a SR20 LSD gearbox:
1) can bolt onto a GA16 engine
2) it is not a direct bolt on but it can be done with modifications
3) it can't be done

Have anyone done this before or can someone confirm or refute these statements?

Why I ask is beacuse I am looking far and wide for a GA16 LSD gearbox (something small to start off with), and so far I have had no luck. Therefore I am contemplating other LSD choices for the GA16 engine.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 30th, 2009, 10:07 am

Boneyard wrote:
if you look up to the corner you can see where the slave cylinder goes my question is has anyone converted this to cable in their b13 or should i try to keep it hydraulic ?
here is a link of the conversion http://www.sr20forum.com/driveline-tran ... 4-p10.html

Yes it can be done, I did a couple of times already.

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » April 30th, 2009, 2:04 pm

ok so all i have to get is the clutch arm from a ga16box or sr20box(that came cable)
and why dosent my left side mount fit on to the box (car came originaly with sr18 auto) to me all the left side trannie and gear box mounts look the same in the b13

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 30th, 2009, 8:55 pm

^ looks can be deceiving, the auto and manual mounts are different.

QG

Postby QG » May 2nd, 2009, 6:42 pm

zedsqd wrote:Good day peeples,

I have asked many about this one, and got varying responses. They said that a SR20 LSD gearbox:
1) can bolt onto a GA16 engine
2) it is not a direct bolt on but it can be done with modifications
3) it can't be done

Have anyone done this before or can someone confirm or refute these statements?

Why I ask is beacuse I am looking far and wide for a GA16 LSD gearbox (something small to start off with), and so far I have had no luck. Therefore I am contemplating other LSD choices for the GA16 engine.

Megadoc found a GA16DE lsd gearbox at New Age Bamboo #1...I believe he paid $2500 for it.
Pm him for more details