*** Ask All SR gear box questions in here ***

kevin_mender

Postby kevin_mender » May 2nd, 2009, 7:37 pm

JWT wrote:sr20lsd hydraulic is the big spline box
sr20lsd non hydraulic is the small spline

sr18lsd is small spline
s18 non lsd small spline

difference easy the lsd's have the fin vents on the boxes cannot miss it

the lsd boxes also carry the fat axels

also the sr18 boxes have a closer gear ratio ar ratios
meaning that the car will pull of faster than that of an sr20 but because of the ratios the sr20 box will beat the sr18 box on top end longer gear ratios

perfect box is the 1st and 2nd sr18 and 3rd, 4th 5th sr20

:mrgreen:

most important in verifying between lsd and non lsd
non lsd axles are 25 teeth , lsd carry 27 teeth

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » May 3rd, 2009, 12:58 am

QG wrote:Megadoc found a GA16DE lsd gearbox at New Age Bamboo #1...I believe he paid $2500 for it.
Pm him for more details

:D thanks. yeah dred i saw that post when i was searching. too bad it was a year ago. i'll still ask though.

spoogy

Postby spoogy » January 21st, 2010, 5:05 am

Aite people of the peoples... everyone saying they have a big spline or a small spline but how can you tell? Is there any obvious marking or numbers??

Dave-ve, .:PROZAC:.., or anybody with knowledge about the lsd box that came in the usdm b15se, is this a big spline and how does it compare to the usdm P11 lsd box for a turbo application..

yakuza

Postby yakuza » January 21st, 2010, 7:34 am

SMALL SPLINE
[img]:550:413]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/20080317_DSC00128.jpg[/img]

BIG SPLINE (4WD) but you get the idea.

The USDM B15 LSD box will not mate to the SR engine, as that car comes with the QR25 engine, but you can swap the bell housing from the SR20VE/20V gearbox and get it to work.

spoogy

Postby spoogy » January 21st, 2010, 8:44 am

I believe you are referring to the SE-R Spec V that came with the QR25 and 6 spd box.. The SE came with a RR SR20 and had a 5spd lsd box.. I know people are using them for turbo apps and wanted to know how they hold up as compared to the USDM infiniti g20t (P11) lsd box... thanks for clearing up the small vs big spline :wink:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 21st, 2010, 9:34 am

Hey fellas.. I've got a small spline LSD cable box from an Autech Pulsar.. the gear ratio is a bit different from the other SR boxes 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear is like the small spline lsd cable box ( wicked launch ratio ) and 4th and 5th gear is like what you find in the non lsd hydraulic gearbox. This is almost the unltimate box for a turbo application or a high powered N/A build ( 300whp+) If anyone is intersted I am willing to trade it for an LSD hydraulic big spline box. You will get also a barely used ACT Extreme Pressure plate. PM me for more info. Trust me I don't want to get rid of this box because of the ratio. :|

Also within 3 months I will have for sale 1 6fwd lsd gearbox frm the SE-R Spec V mated to an SR20VE 20V bell housing with the Spec-V shifter and axels to work with your JDM vehicle... this conversion is not cheap and will cost app 18k tt landed. ( this setup can handle 500whp with no trouble some people use it on 600whp projects.) This is Paladium for the Nissan SR guys. Again PM me for more info :wink:

noynek

Postby noynek » April 22nd, 2010, 9:53 am

Guys

Neem some clarification for Top Mount and Soide mount Trannys/Gearboxes. Plan on doing a Manual Conversion into a 626mx and wondering which will work best.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 22nd, 2010, 11:40 am

Both will work, one can acommodate a top and side mount, the other can only use side mount, side mount is the more common box, and since you're doing a conversion, might as well go with the easier one to find.

noynek

Postby noynek » April 22nd, 2010, 12:13 pm

thanks. I know someone who has a usdm sr20 b13 box. With cable clutch. That would be side mount right?

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 22nd, 2010, 4:50 pm

^correct.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » April 22nd, 2010, 8:22 pm

Q. What about the SR16 VE box, what is the difference between this and all the others mentioned here? From what i heard, it has a quicker gear ratio and allows for higher revving. MAYBE in the future i'd like to do this swap on my 20ve. Let's hear it!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 22nd, 2010, 11:19 pm

^^ correct me if i am wrong

but the higher revving on the sr16ve with gearbox has to do with the fact that the sr16ve ecu has totally different maps and is tuned more vigorously and allows a higher rev limit than the sr20ve's ecu

edit: thanks krazyboy, lol
Last edited by Chiney on April 23rd, 2010, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » April 23rd, 2010, 7:12 am

Chiney wrote:^^ correct me if i am work

but the higher revving on the sr26ve with gearbox has to do with the fact that the sr26ve ecu has totally different maps and is tuned more vigorously and allows a higher rev limit than the sr20ve's ecu

Change that :wink:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 24th, 2010, 9:23 pm

changed
thx! :lol:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 25th, 2010, 1:40 pm

dunno if this is a re-post but i need to kno:

if the sr20det gtir 4wd gearbox...is it possible to convert it to FWD only?

i.e. disconnecting the transfer case...if so how can it be done?

someone904

Postby someone904 » April 25th, 2010, 3:08 pm

hey, anyone know where i can find an sr20 lsd small spline gearbox cable type bell housing?? mines busted up to the seal. plz, i really need it. :cry:

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » April 26th, 2010, 3:19 pm

Q. SR20VE comes with M6 tranny which the TCU controls the VVL, right, SR16VE comes with gearbox, what activates the VVL in the 16 :?:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2010, 8:40 pm

^^^ :shock: :shock: :shock:

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 26th, 2010, 8:48 pm

KrAzYBoY wrote:Q. SR20VE comes with M6 tranny which the TCU controls the VVL, right?

WRONG!

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » April 26th, 2010, 8:55 pm

NXTREME wrote:dunno if this is a re-post but i need to kno:

if the sr20det gtir 4wd gearbox...is it possible to convert it to FWD only?

i.e. disconnecting the transfer case...if so how can it be done?

been wondering about this myself. saw photos of a gtir build where the guy removed the transfer case to change bearings. the box without the transfer case looked like a normal fwd .

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 26th, 2010, 8:59 pm

^ diff and bell housing are different.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2010, 10:37 pm

yakuza wrote:
KrAzYBoY wrote:Q. SR20VE comes with M6 tranny which the TCU controls the VVL, right?

WRONG!

the VVL is a totally a mechanical operation. the only hydraulic part of this set up is the pin which enables the center part of the rocker arm to activate...

google it up dude

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » April 27th, 2010, 7:26 am

*** Ask All SR gear box questions in here ***
I would have you know, but this was the heading of the post :?

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » April 27th, 2010, 9:17 am

Sr16 has different gear ratios than the sr20 box which makes it better for the 1/4 mile.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2010, 10:11 am

KrAzYBoY wrote:*** Ask All SR gear box questions in here ***
I would have you know, but this was the heading of the post :?

iight nah...no need to get emo man

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » April 27th, 2010, 10:13 am

doh study it :mrgreen:
streetsleeper2 wrote:Sr16 has different gear ratios than the sr20 box which makes it better for the 1/4 mile.

So lose my top end speed :cry:
I love my M6 :lol:
Last edited by KrAzYBoY on April 29th, 2010, 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2010, 10:15 am

wurd!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » April 30th, 2010, 1:52 am

hey guys i have a question: well i know u guys prob know all the cons that the sr boxes have over time and they do tend to get damaged depending on yur driving ( gearing down fast etc) but i would like to know if the LSD can be changed out of an LSD box to a stronger one? ive been reading up on this but its not quite clear,... i have a big spline hyd.LSD gear box (FWD) and i would like to know if the LSD can be removed from the gearbox and be replaced with a stronger LSD that can prob. handle more power out of the engine?

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 30th, 2010, 10:04 pm

BlitzMekenzie, everything can be upgraded, once you have the $$$, but I think upgrading gear sets will take priority over the diff, cause we all know what happens to 3rd gear.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 1st, 2010, 7:30 am

^^ wat does?