QG18 primera engine rpm problem

Supra GT-FOUR

QG18 primera engine rpm problem

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » April 8th, 2009, 5:09 pm

a friend of mine has a primera whose idle is fluctuating around 750 + or - 200 when idling. also when accelerating the needle is fluctuating.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 8th, 2009, 5:32 pm

does the car lose any power or is the check light on?

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » April 8th, 2009, 5:50 pm

no the car is not losing any power nor is the check light on

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » April 8th, 2009, 7:28 pm

misfiring ?

praise

Postby praise » April 8th, 2009, 8:11 pm

Do a diagnostic scan and idle air relearn. Hopefully, the scan will let you know what is causing the problem and also correct it. Do not go about spending money and change any sensor without first doing the scan.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 8th, 2009, 10:59 pm

if you want it sorted out i can scan it for you

QG

Postby QG » April 16th, 2009, 11:22 am

One flaw I have observed for 6 years experience with these QGs is the check light does not turn on when them sensors start to act up.
Maybe it turns on when the sensor has gone through...but from my experience, any SLIGHT flaw in sensor trouble...check light does not turn on.

And that problem sounds like a CAM & CRANK sensor problem...let anil handle you and please post the results :wink:

BSA

Postby BSA » April 19th, 2009, 8:17 pm

ey I havin d same prob recently wit my QG15 bt I no it hav sumtin 2 do wit d ting dat "praise" tlkin bout(air relearn) Hw much does it cost 4 a scan an to correct d prob??

Emil

Postby Emil » April 22nd, 2009, 12:17 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:does the car lose any power or is the check light on?

Hey, I having that problem with my QG18. I have no kickdown and the car real struggling to accelerate. Any particular sensor? or the scan is the better option? I am not getting any checklights coming on either.

I cleaned the fuel injectors so far and changed the air and fuel filters but still not working.

QG

Postby QG » April 22nd, 2009, 12:31 pm

No kick down?

When last you changed spark plug? A bad MAF (mass air flow) sensor can cause you to get no kick down...but it's good to do a scan to be certain.

A really bad MAF sensor will not allow the rpm to reach at rev limit and lost of power would be in effect....together with terrible fluctuating rpm as well.

A bad Cam/Crank sensor would NOT result in lost of power or struggling of car to move, but the car will be stuttering alot and even cut off on you while driving.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 22nd, 2009, 12:33 pm

How come all these guys getting so may issues with the QG ? :(

QG

Postby QG » April 22nd, 2009, 12:36 pm

And mines doing 144***km with not much problems encountered....i never even changed Timing chain yet and I does drive hard most of the times. :|

Emil

Postby Emil » April 22nd, 2009, 1:10 pm

QG wrote:No kick down?

When last you changed spark plug? A bad MAF (mass air flow) sensor can cause you to get no kick down...but it's good to do a scan to be certain.

A really bad MAF sensor will not allow the rpm to reach at rev limit and lost of power would be in effect....together with terrible fluctuating rpm as well.

A bad Cam/Crank sensor would NOT result in lost of power or struggling of car to move, but the car will be stuttering alot and even cut off on you while driving.

I changed the spark plugs in Jan. I put in some platinums I have been using a while now without the loss of power plroblems.

The MAF sensor making sense because...doh laugh, but whenever a truck or a bus pass me on the highway, the car real vibrating and slwoing down even more....was thinking something with airflow.

Emil

Postby Emil » April 22nd, 2009, 1:11 pm

I gonna do the diagnostic now. Will update with results. Thanks for the advice so far fellas.

QG

Postby QG » April 22nd, 2009, 1:13 pm

lol...get a scan first though.

Or get CRC cleaner and try cleaning the sensor...see if that helps.

Emil

Postby Emil » April 23rd, 2009, 7:44 am

Yeah QG, I took your advice, I did a diagnostic and the technician said the sensors were good, he cleaned the sensors and then serviced the throttle body....it working normal and sweet as ever.

I also serviced the injectors one time.

Thanks for all the advice I back in order now.

QG

Postby QG » April 23rd, 2009, 11:46 am

Welcome...good to hear things went well. :D

G20

Postby G20 » April 23rd, 2009, 12:12 pm

These QGs are pretty good runners & easy to maintain.

Deane

Re: QG18 primera engine rpm problem

Postby Deane » November 21st, 2017, 8:01 am

Recently serviced my qg18 engine and throttle and now I'm having idle issues. I changed the throttle and the problem still there. Any suggestions?

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » November 21st, 2017, 1:12 pm

Deane wrote:Recently serviced my qg18 engine and throttle and now I'm having idle issues. I changed the throttle and the problem still there. Any suggestions?

Get a diagnostic done. Could be a million things that could cause idle issues.

Postby skylinechild » November 21st, 2017, 7:44 pm

Deane wrote:Recently serviced my qg18 engine and throttle and now I'm having idle issues. I changed the throttle and the problem still there. Any suggestions?

if its e throttle you may need to do the relarn proceedure.

it cud also be a bad air intake / throttle body gasket somewhere or a simple air flow sensor issue...