Project GTiR 14: The Brakes (sneak peak)

GTiR 14
Location: If I'm in your rearview mirror........ DON'T BLINK!!!

Project GTiR 14: The Brakes (sneak peak)

Postby GTiR 14 » July 6th, 2009, 3:17 pm

After almost two years of collecting parts, my project car finally gets the green light.

THE PLATFORM:
Basically stock B14 EX Saloon. The car came originally 4WD with a GA15DE engine and automatic transmission.

THE PLAN:
To transplant the engine and drive trane from the GTiR Pulsar into the b14 frame. Plans for the suspension and brakes have not yet been finalised but at a bare minimum the GTiR set would be installed.

THE GOAL:
'Wolf in sheep's clothing' comes to mind but it's realy to build a fun project that's both safe and reliable.

More updates soon.

UPDATE: 8th July 2009
The original engine has been removed and the engine bay cleaned to prepare for painting.

Because of the automatic to manual conversion, we had to cut a hole in the firewall for the clutch cylinder. The test fit up was perfect.

UPDATE: 30th September 2009
In order to transform the 'soft natured' B14 into the Monster we're tring to create, we'll start with a heart transplant. See pics of the donor :twisted: . Pics of the install to follow

UPDATE: 7th October 2009
The Installation was a straight foward transplant. The engine bolts into the 4WD B14 in exactly the same way it came out of the Pulsar. We basically transferred the engine, mounts, brackets & harness into the B14. Even the cradles & shocks fit.
One problem we had was to connect the drive shaft. The front end of the pulsar driveshaft was too short and the B14 front piece (from the GA15 transmission) had a different bolt pattern. We eventually found the correct replacement piece from the N15 4WD driveshaft.
Electricals are basically complete and the engine was started and seems to run perfect (won't know until the car actually moves).
Next up 'brakes & suspension'.
The inside was scrapped out to replace the harness. It still looks like it was attacked by Gremlins.

UPDATE: 12th October 2009
Only got the test fit up of the front done this weekend. Just to give you guys an idea of what's on the drawing board.
Last edited by GTiR 14 on October 12th, 2009, 3:42 pm, edited 7 times in total.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 6th, 2009, 3:51 pm

we have almost everything for Gtir

sss

Postby sss » July 7th, 2009, 5:59 am

nice good luck with the project

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 7th, 2009, 7:26 am

nice......

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » July 7th, 2009, 10:05 am

would be interesting :roll:

legoRB

Postby legoRB » July 7th, 2009, 11:34 am

gud luck partna

Postby 7143 » July 7th, 2009, 7:42 pm

lard.....another 4wd beast.....horse yuh better doh stick with dem brakes an suspension eh....wen yuh engine start to pull so yuh guh wish u had it....anyways dis soundin real bess....gud luck wid d project man...

GTiR 14

Postby GTiR 14 » July 8th, 2009, 8:12 am

7143 wrote:lard.....another 4wd beast.....horse yuh better doh stick with dem brakes an suspension eh....wen yuh engine start to pull so yuh guh wish u had it....anyways dis soundin real bess....gud luck wid d project man...

True words. The orginal GTiR set up is my back up plan only if all else fails. I intend to have way more stopping power than that. I will post updates on the brakes and suspension when its being installed.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » July 8th, 2009, 8:14 am

GTiR 14, was now goin an tell him doh worry bout your brakes, BTW u get thru wit the rear set up?

GTiR 14

Postby GTiR 14 » July 8th, 2009, 8:28 am

^^^Not yet, still fiddling with some ideas. Hopefully that should be finalised over the weekend.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » July 9th, 2009, 7:16 am

Post some pics of your rear spindle nah, and I'll see wat we could substitute.

GTiR 14

Postby GTiR 14 » July 10th, 2009, 10:52 am

^^^Check PM

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 10th, 2009, 12:08 pm

keep us updated

legoRB

Postby legoRB » July 10th, 2009, 11:35 pm

keep us updated......
:mrgreen:

GTiR 14

Postby GTiR 14 » September 30th, 2009, 3:12 pm

The install is almost complete, pics next week. Still ironing out the kinks in the braking system. Updates made in the original post.

Postby 7143 » September 30th, 2009, 3:52 pm

waiting on the pics?what braking system you decided on?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 30th, 2009, 9:36 pm

:pics:

:P

sss

Postby sss » October 1st, 2009, 6:38 am

niceeee

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 1st, 2009, 8:44 am

PICS MAN!!!

demented

Re: Project GTiR 14: The Donor

Postby demented » October 1st, 2009, 12:48 pm

GTiR 14 wrote:Image

How much this donor cost? Where can I get one?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 1st, 2009, 12:56 pm

Waits patiently for next update................................

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 1st, 2009, 3:17 pm

bump

GTiR 14

Postby GTiR 14 » October 2nd, 2009, 11:48 am

demented, A front cut ususally goes for about 20-25k. I've seen more expensive ones but they were modified. I saw one a couple weeks ago in the bamboo, place next to Seenath on the main road.

7143, Lets just say that I borrowed 'big brothers' shoes :twisted:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 2nd, 2009, 12:01 pm

GTiR 14 wrote:demented, A front cut ususally goes for about 20-25k. I've seen more expensive ones but they were modified. I saw one a couple weeks ago in the bamboo, place next to Seenath on the main road.

Mahadeos?

GTiR 14

Postby GTiR 14 » October 2nd, 2009, 1:16 pm

Conrad wrote:
GTiR 14 wrote:demented, A front cut ususally goes for about 20-25k. I've seen more expensive ones but they were modified. I saw one a couple weeks ago in the bamboo, place next to Seenath on the main road.

Mahadeos?

I don't know the name of the place but they sell subaru parts also. The front cut had some HKS upgrades but the guy said that someone stole with the guages.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 5th, 2009, 7:24 am

GTiR 14,do u have the diagnostic port from the front u bought or a spare one?

i'm looking for one....

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 5th, 2009, 10:13 am

sweet project awaiting updates

Postby Monk BANzai » October 5th, 2009, 10:15 am

looks solid. Keep the masses updated with pics, but pics of the process. Sounds like a cracking project!!

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 6th, 2009, 1:53 pm

Nice cant wait to see the finished beast! Any problems with the drive train?

GTiR 14

Postby GTiR 14 » October 7th, 2009, 11:18 am

Updated