How to make Y11 ride smooth

triniman6969

How to make Y11 ride smooth

Postby triniman6969 » August 2nd, 2010, 7:24 pm

Can anyone tell me what can I do to get a smooth ride on my Y11? It did not come with a sway bar. It rides rough especially when going over potholes and feels like entire front suspension loose. Cradle bushings, shocks, ends good, tires 195-70-14.. Mechanic check and say everything in good order, he says that nissan suspension doh ride smooth.

dragsta34

Re: How to make Y11 ride smooth

Postby dragsta34 » August 2nd, 2010, 8:22 pm

smoothen the tires...it go ride smooth...

Postby wagonrunner » August 2nd, 2010, 8:28 pm

triniman6969 wrote:Can anyone tell me what can I do to get a smooth ride on my Y11? It did not come with a sway bar. It rides rough especially when going over potholes and feels like entire front suspension loose. Cradle bushings, shocks, ends good, tires 195-70-14.. Mechanic check and say everything in good order, he says that nissan suspension doh ride smooth.

start with a new mechanic.

triniman6969

Postby triniman6969 » August 2nd, 2010, 9:48 pm

Seriously, anyone?

Postby wagonrunner » August 2nd, 2010, 9:53 pm

sigh.
you've been given advice. :| :|

what advice would you like to hear?

oxidation

Postby oxidation » August 2nd, 2010, 11:02 pm

wha tyre pressure you running.......

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 3rd, 2010, 12:57 am

by chance you running 18's?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 3rd, 2010, 8:53 am

tires 195-70-14

triniman6969

Postby triniman6969 » August 3rd, 2010, 11:48 am

Tire pressure 28 front, 26 back. Would a stabilizer bar get rid of the loose feeling? Changed shocks and springs, new cradle bushings, ends good.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 3rd, 2010, 2:53 pm

were the shocks new? I recently changed all four of mine and noticed a horrible ride......after a bit of time the ride improved. HOWEVER I was getting a bit of strange bumping from the front when going over slight bumps that weren't even noticable with my old shocks....went by mechanic and discovered that one of the front shocks was sticking, in that when the front of the car was pressed down and released it would come come up and stop momentarily before continuing it's travel....company changed it without any problem and car feels much much better..........

oxidation

Postby oxidation » August 3rd, 2010, 6:09 pm

triniman6969 wrote:Tire pressure 28 front, 26 back. Would a stabilizer bar get rid of the loose feeling? Changed shocks and springs, new cradle bushings, ends good.

loose feeling ...... wha loose feeling....

yakuza

Postby yakuza » August 5th, 2010, 6:41 am

Sell it and buy a Fielder.

Postby rollingstock » August 5th, 2010, 5:33 pm

Tech forum getting worst than the ole talk forum.

triniman6969 as wagonrunner said look for a different mech, cause he talking crap, stabilizer bar will help, check the weight rating of your tyre, too high a rating means a stiffer sidewall and rougher ride.
Check your shocks, the y11 rides a lot smoother with the oil shocks

kimolal

Postby kimolal » August 5th, 2010, 9:23 pm

i was having that same problem with my almera. first i was told that my sterring rack clamp rubber was bad, when i changed that the ride quality improved. but i think ur problem is ur bump stops. when u changed the shocks did the mechanic check the bump stops? i get real fed up of ppl saying that all nissan does ride rough, that is a truck load of BS. u need new bump stops let ur machanic check them for u. check this link for more info http://www.hrsprings.com/technical/micr ... nce_bumper
this is a pic of it it is the (54052m)
http://www.courtesyparts.com/sentra-par ... _2926.html
apparently mine disappeared from my suspension all that remained was the dust boot.
now my car rides alot better, it no longer feels rough and unstable. a strut bar helps alot with "stableness".

QG

Postby QG » August 6th, 2010, 10:49 am

Also try upgrading to 15" or 16" rims with a series of 195/50/15 or 16....205/50/15 or 16 will be good as well.

I never seen a 195/70/14 on a y11 before lmao, but that's cool.

Also I drive on 30psi of air pressure on all 4 tyres (15"), it rides better than those stock 13" wheels that the waagon came with lol.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2010, 9:33 pm

ok ok
i have a wingroad
and went through all this

let me start from the top

nissan made the n16, b15, y11, ad van wagon chassis with defects.. ( yes... defects )

the cradles go very fast along with the link rubbers, the inner and outer steering ends go fast, stock shocks from RORO cars ( foreign used ) loose bounce FAST and, the steering rack needs adjusting sooner or later...

so heres wat i had done by Anil...

Energy suspension bushings on the cradles,
the ball joints changed one time,
the inner and out steering ends changed,
along with adjusting the steering rack ( adding tension, as play develops on the rack ),
then i changed shocks to kyb
ANDDDDDDDDDDDDD
make sure u change the shock mounts..and not use the lame cheap substitues..the real one cost 500 for one at motorist,
the kyb is the same nissan uses, but its new and held the car very good along with all the changes..

that run car GREAT now..

and since i placed the SR20VE in there..it took the new weight and speed very good..
now i`m goin to get upper and lower struts..

car rides nice..and feels like i am in control..total control

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 10th, 2010, 5:08 pm

^nice info - i feel when i get back my wagon from d painter i will let anil check over everything just as a preventative maintenance

anybody have anil number ? & cud post it here please ... 8-)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 10th, 2010, 8:21 pm

^^ PM sent

casper

Postby casper » August 11th, 2010, 7:51 pm

pm me anil number too nah plz

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » August 11th, 2010, 8:08 pm

i had 16" on a cefe and went 18" and yes it feels like the underneath front is bad i went by my mech and he said nuthin was wrong nissan just gives you that more rugged ride

Postby rollingstock » August 12th, 2010, 9:33 am

GHOSTRYDER wrote:i had 16" on a cefe and went 18" and yes it feels like the underneath front is bad i went by my mech and he said nuthin was wrong nissan just gives you that more rugged ride

That's not Nissan's fault, car was never intended or designed to accommodate that size rims, ever thought that maybe with the increased diameter of the rim there is an increased pressure on the suspension parts and a misalignment of the camber arms, ball joint and such?

Postby wagonrunner » August 12th, 2010, 9:58 am

eggfuckingzactly.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 12th, 2010, 10:18 am

GHOSTRYDER wrote:i had 16" on a cefe and went 18" and yes it feels like the underneath front is bad i went by my mech and he said nuthin was wrong nissan just gives you that more rugged ride

That's not Nissan's fault, car was never intended or designed to accommodate that size rims, ever thought that maybe with the increased diameter of the rim there is an increased pressure on the suspension parts and a misalignment of the camber arms, ball joint and such?

ditto

had staggered advan 17s on my a32 cefiro ..hard ride...

went back 16" light weight Tsuchiya rims... staggered to..but ised 60 series and the ride is GREAT!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 13th, 2010, 9:00 am

forgot to mention it is also lighter on the steering wheel.

Rampaul

Postby Rampaul » July 28th, 2012, 11:43 am

Well I was getting a knocking and rough ride from the suspension. I changed the stabaliser clamp bushing rubber and stabalizer link rubber, the car started to ride real sturdy BUT a squeak and knock appeared in jagged rough road... Im thinknig when i changed ther stabalizer link rubbers the stress went on the ball link itself... what do you think?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2012, 12:30 am

^^ squeaking sometimes come from your cradle bushings..

as well as you might want to check ur shocks themselves.