Alignment issue U14 Bluebird

THE SYNDICATE

Re: Alignment issue U14 Bluebird

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 12th, 2014, 5:58 am

O Dan. Ah home today. Gonna set up the 12 for scrap out. Check meh.

Postby skylinechild » November 12th, 2014, 5:52 pm

UPDATE 12 November 2014

took the car out to be aligned and speed balanced.
car was aligned by singhs tyre shop in couva - they had the U14 specs !!!!!
warranty was 2 weeks - cost $100

also speed balanced the (front) tyres front left rim is bent a little -
( had an incident with a concrete brick :oops: )

also took the car to pass the inspection - appointment is for next week Monday after lunch.
as far as I can tell -pulling issue has been resolved - when the syndicate drives it he can confirm.
just to change out a busted engine mount (and rear shocks)- and I good to go.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 12th, 2014, 6:11 pm

i aligning that normelll.
2014 machine, parts everything. New wukk lol

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 13th, 2014, 5:35 am

I aligning that with string an level normel normel.

Mango tree much?

Postby skylinechild » November 13th, 2014, 2:23 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:I aligning that with string an level normel normel.

Mango tree much?

nex u might tell me to go put white LED indicators.... :lol:
and install a VTEC / TRD / GTR badge on it after... :lol:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 14th, 2014, 11:15 am

skylinechild wrote:

Mango tree much?

why stop there. put on the clasp hands with praise at the back and gaza youth in front!

Postby skylinechild » November 14th, 2014, 12:23 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Mango tree much?

why stop there. put on the clasp hands with praise at the back and gaza youth in front!

dan them thing i could only pull off if i hav the rasta colors mat drape on the dash..an a hit compilation of movado...u kno where i could get that oar... :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » November 14th, 2014, 5:17 pm

Gullyside on the back

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 17th, 2014, 3:11 pm

And mopar along side the broadside of the doors.

Postby skylinechild » November 17th, 2014, 3:35 pm

two of allyuh is two ass u know.... :lol:

nex thing allyuh go tell me to go buy kandy paint an chrome rims an a cheap pioneer deck an a power akoustik pwm-20 while I at it...

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 22nd, 2014, 2:05 pm

And don't forget yuh tree mango mechanic name across the glass as well in sticker bomb vinyl.

Werd!

Postby skylinechild » November 23rd, 2014, 10:18 pm

UPDATE 23-11-2014

seems the alignment isnt fixed as i initially thought.

car still has a slight pull on it to the left...in addition i now hav to hold the steering a bit to the right to get the car centered....

this is frustrating..... ted_v2....you're up...

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 24th, 2014, 5:16 am

Did u Change all the front suspension parts?

My Mitsubishi does the same. Steering is straight and I saw all 'green' for myself on the machine.

Postby skylinechild » November 24th, 2014, 2:45 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:Did u Change all the front suspension parts?

My Mitsubishi does the same. Steering is straight and I saw all 'green' for myself on the machine.

the only thing i didnt change was the cradle bushings...and ball joint
remember i have upper and lower cradles...right now i just hoping and prayin is not them bushing cause is like 4 bushings per side..
cost for bushing...cost to press out...and then press in. then ball joint...OMFG...

when i have time i'll check you and you'll drive it...and see.... :!:

Postby skylinechild » November 27th, 2014, 5:47 pm

UPDATE 26-November 2014.
took the car back to singhs alignment...explained the issue WRT it still pulling left

he swapped tyres and asked i try it out and see if it solves it.
NOTE : tyres ARE rotational

so swapped them anyways...and yes SAME issue car pulls on the left...and still hav to hold steering a slight to the right...to go straight.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 27th, 2014, 8:42 pm

As u ready

Postby skylinechild » November 27th, 2014, 10:33 pm

UPDATE 27th November 2014

took the car to 2d max auto, one thing i must say very helpful gentleman. knows what hes talking about. took the time to go under the car - and it wasnt on the ramp or jacked up.. :!:

ive noticed the LEFT side shock was bottoming out..(ie full stem travel)which its NOT supposed to do cause its NEW.

also noticed something strange. the RIGHT side of the vehicle is higher than the left.
ive never noticed it before due to the amount of bad parts it had on it before -

1. rotten lower support apron (FIXED)
2. two busted transmission mounts (FIXED)
3. missing cross member bushings (FIXED - bought new and installed)
4. bad RHS lower & upper cradle (FIXED)
5. bad crankshaft oil seal (FIXED)
6. bad p.s hose and old fluid (FIXED)
7. old Brake fluid and brake shoes (FIXED)
8. bad rack ends - BOTH inner and outer (FIXED)
9. bad shocks- front (FIXED)
10. bad shocks - rear ( rear to be replaced soon)
11. ac system to be redone with new parts (pending-NEW filter and resistor card already bought -OEM)

pics for everyone to see- notice the measurement
vehicle is on a LEVEL surface and measurement was taken from ground through the centre of the rim to the top of the fender on BOTH sides

RIGHT SIDE

LEFT SIDE

how is this possible. that's a whole inch difference.

point 1.
now i agree some will say the right side is higher to compensate for the additional weight of the driver...no problem there.. BUT you cant say that the driver weighing soo much to cause an inch of spring deflection...so as to make the right side level with the left side...i smell b.s.

the weight of a car is 2500KGs or thereabouts... no way a small 110kg mass added to it will cause an inch of deflection on the spring..(also see point 3)

point 2
some might say the left side is hanging lower due to the transmission- no problem there - but wouldnt the manufacturer know this and account for it when designing and manufacturing the spring for the left side - if you say no to this statement- then we supposed to have alot of cars with the left side lower than the right side.- again i smell b.s

point 3
in addition the car has 4 springs. any additional weight is divided among all 4 springs- the additional weight will not be divided equally of course it will depend on where the additional weight (or load) is positioned.

the LEFT side inner and outer rack was recently replaced - see previous posts - it was found to be a b15 or almera rack end - wrong thing.
i have a funny feeling the spring is also the wrong spring - on the LHS

consulting with the syndicate he also came to the same conclusion.

i also have a very very funny feeling with all the ratch the previous mango tree mechanic do he also fack up the clock spring / air bag assembly in an attempt to straighten the steering when they couldnt do a proper alignment - which is why the air bag light is constantly on... :!:

Ted_v2..whats your take on this :?:

Postby BrotherHood » November 28th, 2014, 12:13 am

Check meh for d Movado tunes and a "Gully God" graphics on front windscreen. Graphics in bold, capitals and white.

Fantastic job on this car. It will be interesting to see what the response is like when time to sell.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 28th, 2014, 5:19 am

My take is the steering rack was changed.
Wasn't properly setup so that caused the clock spring to burst because it makes excessive movement.

Also yes. Maybe you have a pair of mixed matched springs. Which would let the car be off balance and have a pull

It can also be camber.which can cause the car to pull.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 28th, 2014, 6:05 am

Get the spring changed. And work from there. Process of elimination will be ur friend.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 28th, 2014, 5:59 pm

Best bet would be a set of aftermarket springs. Since u have new shocks. Double check ur shock heads one time.

M2 or tien springs.

Postby skylinechild » November 28th, 2014, 6:52 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Best bet would be a set of aftermarket springs. Since u have new shocks. Double check ur shock heads one time.

M2 or tien springs.

problem is not sourcin the aftermarket... problem is PAYIN for the aftermarket springs... :lol:
dude...i so broke i cant pay attention or spend a weekend... :oops:

i already sourced my *edited for a surprise* package
is about 6K total for it. TT $

so i think is best i get a good F used front spring an install it...for the timing...
and correct what other faults show up after ...

i hav a feeling the LHS upper cradle also will need changing - when i change out the spring.
will cross that bridge when i come to it.

WRT to your theory the rack was changed - i will get the part number for the rack...and compare it to what my car has installed. once the part numbers is the same then the rack was not replaced.

if you are right. i will buy a F used rack an install it.

maybe i have a pair of mis-matched springs...possibly - fact is the LHS a whole inch lower..than the right.

i more leaning towards my theory why the air bag light is on WRT the clock spring....after all the crap work shown on the rack ends..how far fetched is the possibility of they screwing up the air bag system :?:

Postby Ted_v2 » November 28th, 2014, 7:15 pm

Swear we need to drink some beers and discuss that problems

Postby skylinechild » November 28th, 2014, 7:31 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Swear we need to drink some beers and discuss that problems

if u hav what i hav u wont be drinking...what do i hav....no money :oops: :lol:

an we need the syndicate too u kno...he is d designated driver... :lol:
he doh drink but he does buy... :lol:
Last edited by skylinechild on November 28th, 2014, 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby black start » November 28th, 2014, 7:33 pm

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 28th, 2014, 8:50 pm

Lol

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » December 4th, 2014, 2:32 pm

I have the same off balance.....I originally bought 4 FU shocks and I noticed the whole back was lower (dead shocks) so I bought 2 new brand shocks...the back lift but it was off balance...after a while it looked more off balance difference in height is like 1.25 inches...after some enquires it sounds like the back right spring lost its tension, because of this u notice this to the front as well where the front right is lower than the front left but the difference is not as much as the back...Saturday I plan on getting FU shocks, not to sure where I can have faith in the bamboo to atleast get the right thing.......my car pulls to the right and I have to hold the steering to the left slightly to keep the car straight btw I have a primera sedan P11

Postby skylinechild » December 14th, 2014, 12:43 pm

UPDATE 13th December 2014. (happy birthday amy lee)

this is more of a cosmetic upgrade rather than "performance"

my cluster has normal filament bulbs which don't light very bright - so i decided to swap them out with LEDS.

LEDS sourced from trinituners most trusted LED power seller - Brotherhood

here's how its done.

Things you will need-
1. Phillips head screwdriver (magnetic tip)
2. assortment color LED bulbs - you will need red, blue green and yellow.
3. flashlight (optional)
4. multimeter (optional)
5. camera.( optional)
6. spudger (flat plastic pry tool)

ease of job:DIY
time:30 mins to 1 hr

1. place key in ignition ensure all instrument lights illuminate and take a pic.

2 . remove key from ignition- now remove all 4 screws on the top inside of the bezel -holding it in place.

3. drop steering wheel also pull the wiper stalk down (fastest speed) and light switch stalk down (as if youre turning right) this makes it easier to remove the bezel. you will return them to normal position after the bezel is out.

4.once the 4 screws are removed it should be simple to just pull on it and it should come loose - if not use the spudger and and gently pry the TOP of the dashboard.

the entire assembly comes out as one - center air condition vents etc.
to remove once loose turn it anticlockwise - towards the front passenger seat and it will come free. place on the back seat.

your reward

5. remove the 4 screws holding the cluster in place - denoted by the red markings - you will see some lines drawn in red. we'll get back to those.

6.pull cluster forward a little bit and disconnect the 3 jacks at the rear.
cluster is now free !!

turn the cluster around and you'll see this.

NOTE- FROM THIS POINT YOU HAVE TWO METHODS TO PROCEED

7.A METHOD #1 - SECTION BY SECTION

remember those red lines on the cluster shown above? -use them as a guide to complete section by section.
Removing all the bulbs from ONE section..then replace it using the same color LED.
cant remember what color is supposed to go where.??
using the flashlight - illuminate the cluster from the back and you'll see what color LED is supposed to go there...!!! or Refer back to the pic you took.

LEFT SIDE

CENTER

RIGHT

7.B METHOD #2 - ALL AT ONCE

Removing all the bulbs and replace it using the same color LED.
cant remember what color is supposed to go where.??
using the flashlight - illuminate the cluster from the back and you'll see what color LED is supposed to go there...!!! or Refer back to the pic you took.

8.once complete plug back in all jacks and check lights - turn on high beam, ignition,over drive park lights, hand brake.

remember LEDS are polarized of they dont light up remove and turn it 180 degrees and reinsert it. you can confirm the LEDS are funtional bu using the continuity test of the multi meter - remember its polarized so it it doesnt light up swap the connecting leads to the LED

my setup was as follows

- hand brake, oil light, charge light, door open, seat belt light all remained RED
- indicators L&R as well as ECO remained GREEN
- hi beam remained BLUE
- gas,over drive & CEL remained filament as i did not have yellow
- PRND21 was also green

LED count
5 red
1 blue
15 green
total 21 LEDS cost was $280TT ( $140 for 10LEDS got the last LED for free)

once you get all LEDS to light ensure the 3 plugs are securely connected to the back of the cluster. screw down cluster and reinstall the bezel

finished product !!!

this pic was taken before the LEDS for the gear selection was replaced with leds and the OD, CEL and ABS had white LEDS in them- they were removed as i did not like how it looked.
Last edited by skylinechild on December 18th, 2014, 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » December 14th, 2014, 3:51 pm

Yooooo who has those bulbssss for our instrumental panel where u got them?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 19th, 2014, 7:59 pm

Good work!