Nissan Serena C25 Club

DO you own a C25?

Yes
88%
No
12%
Previously
No votes

Total votes: 25

d34

Nissan Serena C25 Club

Postby d34 » April 25th, 2015, 2:31 pm

:) :D For all those who have these vehicles.. I know there was a previous thread, but now we know more and I am sure can share more with fellow tuners..
Advice comments (good and bad) are welcome.
Visit our Facebook page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/799430220196916/

Someone asked me which is better for taxi?
Noahs going for 170k and up..Serena for 140k or less.. spend a 4000 to take care of the tranny and radiator and you in d game. The travelling public doesn’t care if it’s a bling down serena or you running on steelies. Once you have Air condition you good to go. i would recommend the normal serena, get one with reverse camera though as this helps (a lot) when parking. the highway star is heavier, the body parts cost more and it adds nothing to your ability to make money as a taxi
Last edited by d34 on March 31st, 2017, 11:08 pm, edited 3 times in total.

d34

Re: Nissan Serena C25 Club

Postby d34 » April 26th, 2015, 8:13 pm

for how to do it your self advice on installing the thermostats..pm me .. will post a tutorial soon

trinilife

Postby trinilife » May 9th, 2015, 12:23 pm

having problems when my serena gets warmed up the vehicle gets lazy

d34

Postby d34 » June 15th, 2015, 10:17 am

Transmission... There is a"limp mode " which is activated to protect the transmission from over revving. Questions about last oil change in the transmission, what oil is used in the transmission, is there a tranny cooler being used, etc. need to be answered ..

d34

Postby d34 » June 15th, 2015, 10:22 am

Generally the stock bolted on cooler on the tranny is not adequate for the tropical conditions faced in Trinidad. An external tranny oil cooler is necessary for optimal drive. Bear in mind the Serena was never intended for outside the Japanese/Malaysia market.

d34

Postby d34 » June 25th, 2015, 11:08 am

Just a bit of information on Serena parts.. For the C25 model.. Disc pads- front uses Navarra front disc pads and rear uses X trail rear disc pads.

Postby X_Factor » July 4th, 2015, 9:26 pm

whats the oil filter number?

d34

Postby d34 » July 5th, 2015, 7:34 am

UPDATE 23 FEB 2016 You can ask for the Purolator synthetic extended life oil filter if you are using a fully synthetic oil. It keeps up with the extra miles gained using synthetic oil. The Fram Synthetic oil filter has worked well to .
Purolator-PSL14670-Filter.jpg
Purolator-PSL14670-Filter.jpg (21.52 KiB) Viewed 24002 times
Last edited by d34 on February 23rd, 2016, 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

trinilife

Postby trinilife » July 14th, 2015, 8:41 pm

Hey I now came on tuner for a while, and saw your post on my question. Yes I do have an oil cooler with a built on fan, So great cooling of tranny oil. Engine oil 10 w 30 Shell. Yes changed nissan tranny oil too. Serviced injectors. Changed plugs. Air filter. Changed throttle body . serviced radiator even though I was told noting is wrong with it and it did not need cleaning. Changed coolant ,Nissan coolant. Changed fuel pump original Nissan. Serviced butterfly in the intake manifold. Changed Thermostat both of them. Changed speed unit and speed sensor. Removed both catalyst .Changed air intake hose ,it had a slight leak. Changed air flow sensor. Changed the intelligent box or flat fuse box. Changed tranny brain. Installed two outside fans on condenser. Did nine diaognostic on this vehicle still no one seems to be able to find the problem. Everyone seems to be guessing. so I am paying for people to guess. Went to Nissan in morvant to fix the problem, their answer was we don't fix foreign used . what sheit is that. But say what. So I look forward to your advice.

d34

Postby d34 » July 14th, 2015, 9:32 pm

Call me or what's app..and link up.. I am located in arouca..302-7633. I won't charge you for any trouble shooting or diagnostic.. Let's find out what your problem is and post back for fellow tuners.

trinilife

Postby trinilife » July 14th, 2015, 10:59 pm

thanks for the quick reply will call sometime tomorrow.

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 14th, 2015, 11:20 pm

d34 wrote:You can ask for the Purolator synthetic extended life oil filter if you are using a fully synthetic oil. It keeps up with the extra miles gained using synthetic oil.

Where do you get the Purolator extended life filter to buy?

d34

Postby d34 » July 14th, 2015, 11:34 pm

There is an auto shop in tacarigua, eastern main road. Called "the oil place"

d34

Postby d34 » July 14th, 2015, 11:39 pm

It's just before five rivers junction on the right side heading east. Or just ask around for it. I will post a pic of it when I do another oil change.

Dcomma

Postby Dcomma » October 3rd, 2015, 10:59 am

Great day everyone I called D34 to ask where i could get back shocks to buy, not only did I get the parts place Guyah's in Sando but I also got a lot of advice regarding my Serena. From what engine oil is best to use & how to deal with a sluggish transmission issue. Thanks again for the assistance D34.

d34

Postby d34 » October 16th, 2015, 8:53 pm

Thanks for the bigup, Dcomma,

birdman323

Postby birdman323 » November 13th, 2015, 12:24 pm

This tuner knows his stuff and from its from experience so its A+ inf.
THANKS DAVID!!!!!

d34

Postby d34 » November 30th, 2015, 4:18 pm

ok Tuners, I just had to diagnose a knocking sound from the front of my engine. Apparently the belt has stretched so much that whenever the load from the A/C is turned on it causes the tensioner pulley to rattle badly. At First I thought it was the A/C compressor bearing which i changed myself. It was not. :oops: I will post pics of the changeout later. Oh and Thanks "birdman323" for the big up!!

d34

Postby d34 » December 5th, 2015, 8:00 am

Check this link for tensioner issues. Affects t31 xtrails, sylphys, serena and qashqui.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFN3pr-OHSQ

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » December 5th, 2015, 11:41 pm

Hi everyone soon ill b a owner of a c25 and i just wanted to say that i had concerns about the overheating problem
But i spoke to d35 and i got all the information i need to put my worries to rest
Thanks d35 you are the man , ill post a how to when i begin to upgrade my serena tranny and engine cooling.
Its good to know these kind of people still exist in this selfish and uncaring world.

halal.mafia

Postby halal.mafia » December 10th, 2015, 6:12 pm

Good day if Any of you interested I have these original Serena rims for sale with 90%tyres make an offer

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1449787427.736868.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1449787427.736868.jpg (19.23 KiB) Viewed 24883 times

obstinate24

Postby obstinate24 » December 11th, 2015, 1:49 pm

hi fellaz i have a 1998 c23 serena rwd sr20de and was looking for a solution to a problem where my vehicle gets lazy on hills when fully heated also i get a back fire sound and loss of power a little over 110mph .....and trini life when i bought my serena (3rd owner) i also had your problem of tranny in limp mode it was caused by excess heat and caused one of the shift solenoid to fail it was tested on the vehicle using a car electronic circuit voltage probe

obstinate24

Postby obstinate24 » December 11th, 2015, 2:01 pm

hi fellaz i have a 1998 c23 serena rwd sr20de and was looking for a solution to a problem where my vehicle gets lazy on hills when fully heated also i get a back fire sound and loss of power a little over 110mph .....and trini life when i bought my serena (3rd owner) i also had your problem of tranny in limp mode it was caused by excess heat and caused one of the shift solenoid to fail it was tested on the vehicle using a car electronic circuit voltage probe i hope i was of good help......also if anyone knows where i can get parts for the c23 serena plz post me
c23 serena.jpg
c23 serena.jpg (16.23 KiB) Viewed 24871 times

halal.mafia

Postby halal.mafia » December 22nd, 2015, 10:27 am

Anyone knows the hole spacing or the Serena rims ???
5x114? Or not

d34

Postby d34 » December 29th, 2015, 11:30 pm

Hey Guys, you can also like our page at https://www.facebook.com/C25SerenaTrinidadandTobago

d34

Postby d34 » December 29th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Bolt pattern 5x114.3
Diameter: 15.0'' - 16.0''
Width (inches): 5.5 - 6
Offset (mm): 45.

d34

Postby d34 » December 29th, 2015, 11:38 pm

Wheel General Info
The ranges of possible values for tires and rims of Nissan Serena
Tires for Nissan Serena

Diameters: 14.0'' - 16.0''
Width (mm): 185 - 205
Tire aspect ratio (%): 60 - 70
Smallest tire size: 185/70R14
Largest tire size: 195/60R16
Rims for Nissan Serena

Bolt pattern 5x114.3
Diameter: 14.0'' - 16.0'';
Width (inches): 5 - 6;
Offset (mm): 30 - 45.
Bolt pattern 4x114.3
Diameter: 14.0'';
Width (inches): 5.5 - 6;
Offset (mm): 30 - 45.

Rajakiya

Postby Rajakiya » February 20th, 2016, 8:11 pm

I have a C24 works well, privately used (don't mind the username is Taxi). experiencing some problems with the tranny, Tranny was changed Oct. 2014 by last owner.vehicle pulls off very lazy at times and sometimes goes into safe mode. Thing is, I don't get the problem regularly, but when I do, it's frustrating. Oil cooler and fan installed. Diagnostic done three times last one read a problem with TC solenoid valve. Need a mechanic to either repair or change tranny.

trinilife

Postby trinilife » February 22nd, 2016, 10:25 pm

Hey People, I got my problem with the lazy pull off sorted out thanks to David. I nearly gave up on my Serena. I installed the transmission oil cooler as was told to do ,but it was a small one so it seemed that it was not cooling enough. David said that I should put a larger one ,and was going to do that but I decided to install a fan on it just to try and see if that was really the problem. And it stopped giving the trouble. So take this guys advice ,he knows his sheit, Lol. I don't really use the vehicle much so this is partly the reason for me not being on so often. I posted a reply to my problem a while back ,but only today I realized that it did not show up. Anyway guys thanks again to David's advice my stress level went way down.
I am now here again because I am having a problem with my check engine light coming on I was advised to change my oxygen sensor[ not by David] yuh know meh head hard, hehehh. I clean forgot that I should look for advise in the right place, which is here. I did change it and same problem. So again I took advice from some people guessing, and serviced my injectors and throttle body. the computer is saying lean fuel . it is saying 1702 code I believe. not sure about the code number. So I called David today and was advised to check my vacuum hoses found one with a hole in it. I think that is the problem. But will change all the hose clips as was advised. But is it possible that the computer could be saying lean gas if it is getting to little air?. I ask that because what if it is not that the vehicle is sucking air only, by a vacuum hose but its a lack of air.? Because I decided to open my air filter box to see how dirty it was ,only to be shocked to see my air filter that has not done 2000 kilos yet ,collapsed. In all my years of having vehicles its the first time I have seen this. So tomorrow I will be going to get a new air filter. Should I buy any special brand. Think I will go massy and get it. Will keep you guys posted. thanks again David. Hope this works . if not I am calling Ghostbuster's. hahaah. I mean David. Laterzzz.

d34

Postby d34 » February 23rd, 2016, 8:32 am

The Fram air filter is the best suited outside a k&n air filter (which is like ten times as expensive) see pic below. Average price of the fram is between 30 - 40 dollars.

Lean air -
Why lean makes more power but is dangerous
When discussing engine tuning the 'Air/Fuel Ratio' (AFR) is one of the main topics. Proper AFR calibration is critical to performance and durability of the engine and it's components. The AFR defines the ratio of the amount of air consumed by the engine compared to the amount of fuel.

A 'Stoichiometric' AFR has the correct amount of air and fuel to produce a chemically complete combustion event. For gasoline engines, the stoichiometric, A/F ratio is 14.7:1, which means 14.7 parts of air to one part of fuel. The stoichiometric AFR depends on fuel type-- for alcohol it is 6.4:1 and 14.5:1 for diesel.

So what is meant by a rich or lean AFR? A lower AFR number contains less air than the 14.7:1 stoichiometric AFR, therefore it is a richer mixture. Conversely, a higher AFR number contains more air and therefore it is a leaner mixture.

For Example:
15.0:1 = Lean
14.7:1 = Stoichiometric
13.0:1 = Rich

Leaner AFR results in higher temperatures as the mixture is combusted. Generally, normally-aspirated spark-ignition (SI) gasoline engines produce maximum power just slightly rich of stoichiometric. However, in practice it is kept between 12:1 and 13:1 in order to keep exhaust gas temperatures in check and to account for variances in fuel quality. This is a realistic full-load AFR on a normally-aspirated engine but can be dangerously lean with a highly-boosted engine.

Let's take a closer look. As the air-fuel mixture is ignited by the spark plug, a flame front propagates from the spark plug. The now-burning mixture raises the cylinder pressure and temperature, peaking at some point in the combustion process.

The turbocharger increases the density of the air resulting in a denser mixture. The denser mixture raises the peak cylinder pressure, therefore increasing the probability of knock. As the AFR is leaned out, the temperature of the burning gases increases, which also increases the probability of knock. This is why it is imperative to run richer AFR on a boosted engine at full load. Doing so will reduce the likelihood of knock, and will also keep temperatures under control.
product_img_extraguardair.png