Overheating N16 Series Almera (local)

kamikazi

Overheating N16 Series Almera (local)

Postby kamikazi » January 6th, 2017, 10:35 am

Hey guys morning, I've got an issue thats really has me baffled at this point.....i own a N16 almera and last august on my way up from mayaro the engine check light came on and the temp gauge went up, i allowed it to cool and gradually drove eventually made it to trincity and parked.......didnt bother to get a mechanic to come check it just told one what had happened an he said that is probably cylinder head gasket. didn't drive the car from last august to this day so its just parked there eventually i would start it and the check light is still on.....this morning i did the usual starting up and there was no check light......temp went up to just under midway as it would do when the car worked fine so i decided to switch off for a bit an restart still no check light did this a few times to the same result......took it on the road for a run 100....120kph plus AC and still no check light and no rise in temp so I'm now wondering wtf could this be.....any ideas please?

Don't wanna go spend unnecessary money so i also wondering if its probably just a thermostat issue

nilgoat

Re: Overheating N16 Series Almera (local)

Postby nilgoat » January 6th, 2017, 10:47 am

This is the kind of spooky things that happen when you beat out ting in your car...

How much you want for it?

kamikazi

Postby kamikazi » January 6th, 2017, 10:53 am

Lol aye no boy i don't do that........doh wanna sell man looking to get it up and running again properly.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » January 7th, 2017, 10:47 pm

Carry it for a diagnostic. By chance when it overheat you had your ac on?

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2017, 10:49 pm

He said no, the ac was off.
Coolant temp sensor maybe. If they even have that.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 7th, 2017, 11:34 pm

Have a coolant temp sensor if u interested. Bought new and hardly used

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » January 9th, 2017, 7:50 am

Well one would have checked it when it overheated did it have water ,was the fans working, a thermostat could stick if there is one in d engine causing the water to stop circulate , it could be the sensor, it could be the sensor for the fans , it could be a clog radiator

kamikazi

Postby kamikazi » January 10th, 2017, 7:35 am

Thnx for the advice guys so happen it was the thermostat that had been stuck causing water/coolant to stop circulate.

jose123

Postby jose123 » January 24th, 2017, 8:23 pm

The thermostat in these get blocked. It is advisable to change on 100,000km.
Simple fix to save $$$