Ministry holds Public Consultation for Motor Sport

Somewhere where to run?

Ministry holds Public Consultation for Motor Sport

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2009, 3:51 pm

The Ministry of Sport & Youth Affairs has sent out official invitations to all local motorsport clubs around T&T to attend a public consultation on the status and future of MotorSport here.

The consultation will be held on Saturday February 7th 2009, from 9am to 12 noon at the Jean Pierre Complex, Hasley Crawford Stadium.

This event is open to the public and ALL persons with interest in Motorsport are welcome to attend.

There will also be an extensive question/answer session at the meeting so your concerns will be attended to.

If you have an interest in motorsport or are a stakeholder, competitor, spectator or official etc. in the sport, it would be in your best interest to attend.

Here are copies of the letter sent out by the Ministry to the various clubs:

8-) 8-) 8-)
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on March 5th, 2009, 1:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Razkal » February 3rd, 2009, 4:09 pm

Nice 8-)

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » February 3rd, 2009, 4:17 pm

Not gonna hold my breath for this one.....

but.....................

a very good step none the less.......

W2J

Postby W2J » February 3rd, 2009, 4:21 pm

very very good direction..... I will be there to support

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2009, 4:42 pm

I hope ppl ask sensible questions and not get emotional / carried away
Things like "if we eh have no track, we go take it to de streets" do not help our cause.

nyo

Postby nyo » February 3rd, 2009, 4:52 pm

i like that one mg man>>but this is nice

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 3rd, 2009, 5:24 pm

lordy, class from 8-4pm for me :(, would have loved to come

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 3rd, 2009, 6:21 pm

^^^ One class would kill yuh ?.

I will be there.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 3rd, 2009, 6:36 pm

I will certainly try and be there.....not sure why.....but i will.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » February 3rd, 2009, 6:46 pm

will try my best to be there

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2009, 6:50 pm

make sure the chairs are bolted down and hide the stag

lets hope some good come out of this and that certain individuals dont try to dominate or bully people

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » February 3rd, 2009, 7:12 pm

wha SR, said!!!!!

ah sure it done have men sayin "boy ah nex set ah promises" but leh we see wha is d outcome who knows sometin good might actually come out of this....

although in my opinion as a spectator is like certain men jus out tuh line dey pockets an eh do nuttin fuh d sport!!! :? :? :?

W2J

Postby W2J » February 3rd, 2009, 7:48 pm

SR wrote:make sure the chairs are bolted down and hide the stag

lets hope some good come out of this and that certain individuals dont try to dominate or bully people

wtf you trying to imply SR? why you don't LINK me up..

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2009, 8:09 pm

so how do they moderate questions from the floor ?
can somebody bring a crew who take over the show with a bunch of stupid questions ?

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » February 3rd, 2009, 9:16 pm

I am sure that all questions will have to be asked through the Chairperson.

Postby SUPAstarr » February 3rd, 2009, 9:26 pm

i will b there, jus to observe because i wanna kno if to put up my "investment" for sale when its done or if it may have a use

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 4th, 2009, 8:49 am

Good start !!!!

Postby wagon r » February 4th, 2009, 8:53 am

great......can't make it but i will ask meh neighbour about the proceedings.....prob. give him a question or two to ask.....

professor

Postby professor » February 4th, 2009, 3:02 pm

As the Hon' Minister would say; "Democracy at work" if all the groupings (lets say six) brought 20 persons each you would have 120 for, 20 against, the ayes have it, it happens in Parliment everyday. Sounds like a lovely exercise in PR to justify a done deal. But, I would be there, I would not miss it for the world.
Oops, Do you all remember the Consultations on Crime, High Food Prices, and the Commision of Inquiry into the Health Sector? Major inprovements since then. We almost back in to 4th world Status.

W2J

Postby W2J » February 4th, 2009, 3:33 pm

professor wrote:As the Hon' Minister would say; "Democracy at work" if all the groupings (lets say six) brought 20 persons each you would have 120 for, 20 against, the ayes have it, it happens in Parliment everyday. Sounds like a lovely exercise in PR to justify a done deal. But, I would be there, I would not miss it for the world.
Oops, Do you all remember the Consultations on Crime, High Food Prices, and the Commision of Inquiry into the Health Sector? Major inprovements since then. We almost back in to 4th world Status.

with all due respect to you Clive I am told that when a petition was handed over to the Minister, Doc say he could get 10,000 names, so let democracy prevail.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 5th, 2009, 7:21 am

ill try to be there.... :)

Postby honda hoe » February 5th, 2009, 10:51 am

hmmmm

Postby Dave » February 5th, 2009, 12:21 pm

^^^them eh wha know u have no track to race so u go be flipping cars around eh

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 5th, 2009, 3:38 pm

Progress..................nice

TRD...all the way

Re: Ministry holds Public Consultation for Motor Sport

Postby TRD...all the way » February 6th, 2009, 10:01 am

I'll try to be there

adrenaline

Postby adrenaline » February 6th, 2009, 1:47 pm

at least its a start...i wud b there in spirit, i encourage all u lovers of motorsports to make an honest effort...Hopefully this is a step in a positive direction

Postby wagonrunner » February 7th, 2009, 1:46 pm

any more details for those who couldn't make it?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2009, 5:46 pm

Just came back from it myself - I will type up some more details later.

it was apparent that many ppl went thinking there would be an announcement of a new race facility. However, there was absolutely no mention from the Ministry about a facility at this mornings consultation. This was not the real topic at hand either.

Instead the consultation was really to hear the public's view on the current NSO (TTASA) and to hear views on MATT who have submitted their association as they hope to become the new NSO.

Both sides were heard and some, if not most of the TTASA members felt that the ministry had already decided that MATT would be the NSO even before the consultation started. Claims of MATT being the new NSO as a "done deal" came from TTASA as they met with arguments against them even from the SPORTT directors.

It is important though for everyone to understand that even now, according to the plan of the Ministry, it is too early in the process to be talking about a track and a facility when there is no supported NSO for MotorSport in T&T. So it is imperative for motorsport to have a unified NSO before the govt can say "here is a piece of land" or "we will build you a track". Therefore this process that many see as rhetoric, red tape and bureaucracy, is necessary before moving forward. All the other sporting disciplines in T&T have gotten over this hurdle before they got funding, as pointed out by one of the SPORTT directors.

There will be one more closed door session, mediated by the ministry, between TTASA and MATT soon to come to a final agreement - after this an NSO will be appointed and things will move forward.

Postby SR » February 7th, 2009, 5:49 pm

apparantly shots were fired from TTASA and they were effectiviely blocked and rebutted by the "opposition"

as well as the ministry confirmed that "things not right" for the last 13 years regarding TTASA's books

most spoke eloquently while on the floor
while one continued to make a fool of himself on TTASA's side

dunno if he retreated back to a bar amongst co drinkers

details to follow soon from those that were there :wink:

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » February 7th, 2009, 7:21 pm

ok so it was more about getting stuff in order before making any half cocked attempt tuh move forward!?!

i could live wit that...........

Return to “The "NEW Race Track" Issue”