T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 8th, 2020, 12:26 pm

Kronik wrote:Nothing with the new Corolla yet? Heard about it, didn't see it yet

The base spec is 199k

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » January 8th, 2020, 5:20 pm

Sweet

Postby Dizzy28 » January 9th, 2020, 10:14 am

Rented one of those shaped Corollas in Orlando last year. TBH I was really impressed with it but I'm sure the one here would be nothing like it engine and otherwise. I am seeing a traditional hand brake in the pics above whilst the one I had was an e brake even though it was the 2nd lowest trim model (LE)
Was doing 1000 miles when I got it so was fairly new.

Wouldn't see myself paying 245k for one as well.

123.jpg

telfer

Postby telfer » January 10th, 2020, 6:46 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Rented one of those shaped Corollas in Orlando last year. TBH I was really impressed with it but I'm sure the one here would be nothing like it engine and otherwise. I am seeing a traditional hand brake in the pics above whilst the one I had was an e brake even though it was the 2nd lowest trim model (LE)
Was doing 1000 miles when I got it so was fairly new.

Wouldn't see myself paying 245k for one as well.

123.jpg

Got the same color when I rented in Florida too.....

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 11th, 2020, 9:27 am

Nissan appears to be the most popular vehicle brand on the road. It sells in good numbers both new and roro. So for all you Nissan lovers out there, here is a car that is seldom talked about in this thread. The B17 Sentra equipped with the HR16DE engine. Launched back in 2012 and being a world vehicle, I would say parts would be easy to find both locally and abroad. This model below is the leather seat version that comes with fog lights for $199k
The attachment IMG_1660.JPG is no longer available
IMG_1660.JPG

If you’re both a Nissan and Mitsubishi fan, then you would love the new Livina. It’s the most spacious 7 seater between the Suzuki Ertiga and Toyota Rush. As was mentioned previously, it uses the older Lancer EX (CY) 4A91 engine and transmission before DM started importing Lancers with the more powerful 4A92.
This one below is $249k
IMG_1658.JPG
IMG_1656.JPG
IMG_1646.JPG

IMG_1650.JPG

Lastly, we have an attractive little crossover. Don’t mind the JATCO supplied CVT and the fake panoramic sunroof (it doesn’t open), or its 5” non-touch screen that reminds you of the days of Blackberry Curves in size and graphics or its part fake leather and suede seats. No, consider this crossover because it has awd, 19” rims (make sure you have a tyre shop number on speed dial) and front parking sensors. The cost of this one is $329k
IMG_1661.JPG
IMG_1651.JPG
IMG_1652.JPG

boxy

Postby boxy » January 11th, 2020, 3:31 pm

Lol thanks for the reviews Agent u make the job of the undecided so easy. I didn't even realize the QuashQui had a panoramic sunroof that was sealed. :(

nitestalkerman

Postby nitestalkerman » January 17th, 2020, 8:10 am

Anyone have any info on the Mercedes A Class Sedan and the GLB Suv they just introduced?

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 18th, 2020, 1:07 am

All I know is that the price starts early in the $300k range and it’s a 1.3T now. Thing is, due to reduced engine size, the dealer is paying less MVT on the car but I am not seeing that cost savings past onto the customer. The entry versions are really basic but I expect to see a lot on the road because private sector and public sector persons who qualify for a car as part of their renumeration package may swing towards a premium German marque than buying some Asian or American vehicle as it will fit within or close to their spending cap.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 18th, 2020, 1:18 am

Speaking of price increases, the CRV which was introduced at $359k went up to $369k, then to $379k and now to $389k. ANSA is selling the fully loaded 1.5T 2WD with similar pricing to the former 2.0L version despite the reduction in Customs Duty and MVT.
IMG_1669.JPG
IMG_1677.JPG
IMG_1678.JPG

Then we have the Chevrolet Equinox 1.5T available in all black known as the “Midnight Edition” for $325k
IMG_1710.JPG

IMG_1714.JPG
IMG_1712.JPG
IMG_1705.JPG
IMG_1711.JPG

A gap of $64k, between these 2 crossovers. You decide if it’s worth it.

matix

Postby matix » January 18th, 2020, 6:57 am

Equinox looks really good

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 22nd, 2020, 2:04 pm

Equinox is pretty good value.
Had one for a couple days last year and surprisingly pleased with it.
Good enough tech and infotainment.
Although I used Apple CarPlay for most part.
The 1.5T felt adequate enough.. very similar the 2.4 NA in a 2012 Camry/Rav4

Also had a 2019 Rav4 2.5l for a couple days as well.
Quality of the materials in the new equinox was better than the Rav4 imo.

Power of the two SUVs felt similar.

Somehow the Rav4 felt more spacious though.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 23rd, 2020, 12:03 am

The Equinox actually starts at $290k but you will not get the leather seats and power tailgate at that cost. Weirdly enough, everything else is the same including that giant size panoramic sunroof. Something has to be good about it to be the 3rd best selling compact crossover in the entire North America (US and Canada) sales combined. Or it could be fleet sales too lol

The Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross GLS 2wd 1.5T now comes with 7 airbags. In fully loaded trim, the cash price is $309k but if you opt to finance through ANSA Merchant Bank, the price would increase to $319k and you will get free insurance and service. Now that is value!

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 24th, 2020, 8:35 am

The Honda CRV 1.5L Turbo HORSEPOWER @ RPM 188 @ 5600
Standard Model CR-V at $315,000 4x2
Standard Model CR-V at $389,000 AWD Fully loaded

Good family vehicles and seeing how popular they on the roads today

Rav4 basic starts a 345k up to 419 K is expensive

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 24th, 2020, 1:50 pm

Thanks for the info Mitch. Are you sure the $389k is not for the RVSi 2WD as opposed to RVSi AWD? The last price I got for the latter is $410k. If it’s true then for the lurkers in this thread, all I can say is, doh stick!

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » January 25th, 2020, 5:45 am

agent007 wrote:Thanks for the info Mitch. Are you sure the $389k is not for the RVSi 2WD as opposed to RVSi AWD? The last price I got for the latter is $410k. If it’s true then for the lurkers in this thread, all I can say is, doh stick!

You are correct. 410k is for the awd.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » January 26th, 2020, 3:23 pm

Does anyone know the starting price on the subaru impreza

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 26th, 2020, 4:40 pm

Was told the Accord starting at $429,000. -_-
agent007 wrote:Got these photos which was circulating on a car group:

IMG-20191121-WA0004.jpeg
IMG-20191121-WA0005.jpeg
IMG-20191121-WA0001.jpeg
IMG-20191121-WA0002.jpeg
IMG-20191121-WA0003.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 26th, 2020, 8:45 pm

Thanks sharad.

Calor, the 5th gen Subaru Impreza is not imported by Massy Motors because of the failure of the 4th, 3rd and 2nd generations to gather sales momentum locally. The challenge was, those vehicles were overpriced and in a tropical country, we don’t really see the value of awd. If you want something that is “Imprezaish” consider the XV Crosstrek available from as low as $229k. In a strange and very unexpected twist, for the first time in T&T’s history, Subaru’s are being sold out before arriving in showrooms. Why? Cause the XV 1.6 for $225k is significantly more value than what Massy was selling the 4th gen Impreza sedan for which was $265k at the time.

Slacker, you real burst my Accord bubble with that $429k boi. But I’ll take it over any A4, C180, 318i and Passat any day of the week and twice on weekends. Why even bother with the accord when you can get better practicality plus AWD in the top trimmed CRV @ $410k? I can take that $19k savings and go frolic in Miami for the Carnival weekend.

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 26th, 2020, 9:20 pm

My sentiments exactly, with the reference to the CR-V. The agent tried to insist it coming with he full Honda Sensing package, but as was said earlier in this thread, it doesn't seem that the savings from the 1.5L being passed on. Interested to know what's the price of the Mazda 6.
agent007 wrote:Thanks sharad.

Calor, the 5th gen Subaru Impreza is not imported by Massy Motors because of the failure of the 4th, 3rd and 2nd generations to gather sales momentum locally. The challenge was, those vehicles were overpriced and in a tropical country, we don’t really see the value of awd. If you want something that is “Imprezaish” consider the XV Crosstrek available from as low as $229k. In a strange and very unexpected twist, for the first time in T&T’s history, Subaru’s are being sold out before arriving in showrooms. Why? Cause the XV 1.6 for $225k is significantly more value than what Massy was selling the 4th gen Impreza sedan for which was $265k at the time.

Slacker, you real burst my Accord bubble with that $429k boi. But I’ll take it over any A4, C180, 318i and Passat any day of the week and twice on weekends. Why even bother with the accord when you can get better practicality plus AWD in the top trimmed CRV @ $410k? I can take that $19k savings and go frolic in Miami for the Carnival weekend.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 27th, 2020, 8:56 pm

The Mazda 6 2.0 is around $336k
IMG_1860.JPG
IMG_1861.JPG
IMG_1862.JPG
IMG_1863.JPG
IMG_1859.JPG

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 27th, 2020, 9:41 pm

My information telling me the Accord base unit price lower than that of the RVSI 2WD CR-V (CRV~23-24000USD exclusive of any FOB, INS, MVT, VAT AND CD). I could add it up, but that's a topic for another day. So if that agent was accurate with the Accord pricing, it seems ANSA trying to outprice the regular Joe and keep the Accord as their premium offering. SSL is the Mazda 6 biggest con.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 28th, 2020, 8:13 am

slacker_83 wrote:My information telling me the Accord base unit price lower than that of the RVSI 2WD CR-V (CRV~23-24000USD exclusive of any FOB, INS, MVT, VAT AND CD). I could add it up, but that's a topic for another day. So if that agent was accurate with the Accord pricing, it seems ANSA trying to outprice the regular Joe and keep the Accord as their premium offering. SSL is the Mazda 6 biggest con.

slacker_83 wrote: SSL is the Mazda 6 biggest con.

Yup fully agree. That car has all the right presence in person and the ride is impeccable

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 28th, 2020, 10:05 am

agent007 wrote:Thanks for the info Mitch. Are you sure the $389k is not for the RVSi 2WD as opposed to RVSi AWD? The last price I got for the latter is $410k. If it’s true then for the lurkers in this thread, all I can say is, doh stick!

Correction that 389K is for the Leather option with additional features see attached

315K vs 389k option.
crv2.png
crv1.png

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 28th, 2020, 7:04 pm

Based on what I’m seeing here, that $315k CRV is not a bad deal, in fact, I think it will give the entry CX5 a good run for the money!

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 4th, 2020, 9:48 am

@ Agent 007 your reviews are informative and relevant to Trinidad. Thanks man

I got the following for the CX5:
Really looking at CX5 vs Honda CRV . I think the Rav4 are very overpriced starting at 345k.
CRV - base 315k vs CX5 Core 316k
CRV fully loaded (4x2) 389k vs CX5 Hi Grade 356k
WhatsApp Image 2020-02-04 at 9.38.19 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2020-02-04 at 9.35.59 AM.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 4th, 2020, 3:48 pm

Thanks bro! The CX5 and CRV to me are the segment leaders especially taking price into consideration.

sharadu2

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby sharadu2 » February 4th, 2020, 7:26 pm

The rav 4 is really a overpriced vehicle. is really the die hard Toyota ppl buying it. Was going to buy a cx5 but ended up buying a CRV reason being SSL didn’t have any premium model cx5 and couldn’t wait for it. Didn’t regret buying the CRV it is more spacious inside and back seats have alot of leg room compared to the cx5.
Downside is no-folding side mirrors,no auto dimming rear view mirror,no lighted vanity mirrors,no memory seats and although the sound system sounds great no subwoofer.in the long run the CRV will have a better resale value than the cx5.
Last edited by sharadu2 on February 4th, 2020, 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » February 4th, 2020, 7:43 pm

ImageImage

Postby K74T » February 4th, 2020, 7:44 pm

I hope these prices are a joke.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 4th, 2020, 8:40 pm

WDA!!! But isn't the Santa Fe a "large" SUV therefore competing against the Fortuner, Trail blazer, X5, Prado? If so, it well priced. If not, well, it well over priced.

Some of those features not even necessary, like paddle shifters.